Aurelia, part deux

Told you there was more Aurelia in my head!
Aurelia Rosalie Jane & Aurelia Iris Pearl are staying for now as well as what may well be my standard bearer: Aurelia Violet Petronel. Adding to those are these:

Aurelia India Pearl
Aurelia Ivy Katharine
Aurelia Romilly Jane
Aurelia Esme Katharine
Aurelia Zenobia Jane
Aurelia Ottilie Jane
Aurelia Lily Katharine

Anything there strike you as better than Aurelia Rosalie Jane, Aurelia Iris Pearl or Aurelia Violet Petronel? Especially Aurelia Violet Petronel!

 

I’m quite enamoured with Aurelia right now. She’s feminine, uncommon, beautiful and strong. I like that she doesn’t really have an obvious nickname although I have a few odd things in mind;  Goldie in particular.  I’m going to sit on the less obvious, I’m already seeing other people suggest Clementine/Cleo and I’m tired of seeing that already.  So like I said, I’m sitting on the less obvious possible nicknames for Aurelia.  

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kayt
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 11:24:55

    I like the sound of Aurelia Romilly Jane, actually. Aurelia Romilly is especially fun to say, and Jane grounds the name a bit.

    I actually work with a lovely lady named Aurelia. She goes mostly by Aurelia, but also Relly and Aura.

    And I was curious, would you mind sharing your kids’ full names? I’m desperately curious how your style’s changed over the years.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 12:26:45

    Thanks, Kayt. I wonder if she loves her name or finds it a bother? Aurelia, for me is fast becoming a serious contender, I like her that much.

    I’ve mentoned the kids in full a few times, they’re Leo Sebastian Coe, Simon Ambrose Nash & Josephine Rosamel Anne. What do you say about my style? 🙂

    I think my style’s a bit different now, I’m a teensy bit more eccentric than I’ve been but overall, I’m still attracted to the less popular names.

    Aurelia Romilly Jane pleases me, a home for Romilly, the surnamey feel of her matches Coe, Nash & Rosamel on the other kids without being obviously themey, and I have fun saying Aurelia Romilly too. All those lovely R sounds!

    Reply

  3. Kayt
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 15:07:02

    I mentioned to her while I was pregnant that Aurelia had been on my longer list, and she seemed pleased. She likes her name because it works in both English and Spanish (she’s from Mexico, but her parents chose her name because of its flexibility).

    Thanks! I knew their first names, but I couldn’t remember ever hearing their full names, and I’m too lazy to go stalking through your archives. 😉 You know that I’m more conservative with my name tastes, but I do like them all a lot. They flow well, and sound dramatic without being silly.

    I think Aurelia Romilly Jane fits in beautifully with your kids, and sounds great on its own, too. Not only are the Rs fun to say, but the L sounds in both make it even more fun. I say Aurelia as aw-RAIL-ee-ah, like my coworker, so Aurelia and Jane have the hard A sound, which links all three name neatly together to my ear. I think it still sounds nice, even said aw-REL-ee-ah.

    Reply

  4. chaneltara
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 21:17:17

    Aurelia Romilly Jane is really great! I love saying it aloud. I think it’s a clear standout, though I really love Aurelia Violet Petronel too. I think Aurelia is a great match with Josephine!

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 22:24:35

    I absolutely love Aurelia India Peral they are all such pretty names which are all on my favourite list of names! i think you should definately use it!!!

    Reply

  6. Davena
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 06:23:37

    hmmm… I don’t love Aurelia. Someone I know just called their daughter Aurelia, and I just went back to see what m/n they used… Faith. *yawn*

    (opps, that was a bit bitchy, sorry about that.)

    I love so many of your other choices that I’m just having a hard time getting excited about this one.

    Reply

  7. Davena
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 06:24:24

    LOL! I want to be the confused green circle every time I visit, I loves him!

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 08:18:38

    Thanks Chanel, always appreciate the votes, you know. Still talking about Aurelia here, and he brought up Araminta again. So my thoughts are getting gathered and will probably be here later.

    Laura, thanks, Aurelia India Pearl is a richly evocative pairing for me. Thanks for the vote, it pleases me that someone else lieks that one too.

    Aww, Daveena, Faith does seem uninspired, doesn’t it. Maybe it has meaning for them? *shrug* not one you’ll find on my lists, Faith. But Aurelia’s pretty. He made an Auric Goldfinger joke last night when I brought her up but just one. So that bodes well for me.
    As for the confused, green circle; well, those are randomly given, so I’m afraid you’re stuck with the happy red triangle. At least until I get bored of looking at them and change them again. Sorry!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

