The Great Aunts, en masse

I decided to group them all together, the Great Aunts, Grandma’s sisters, Grandpop’s sisters, Babci’s sister & Gagi’s sisters, here they are, the odd bunch of them all. Enjoy!

 

GrandPop’s Sisters:

Elisabeth Lula Alice / Elsie
Laetitia Amabel Violet / Lettie
Elvira Cora May / Vera

Grandma’s sisters & May’s SIL:

Elisabeth Mary Bea / Bessie
May Dorothea
Lesley Edith
Carolyn Augusta

Babci’s sister:

Genevieve Marianne

Gagi’s sisters:

Klara Malina
Eugenia Mary

His mom has no sisters and her mother had all brothers as well. he has two sisters and between the three of them, we have two girls and four boys.

 

What do you think of the few Females in the past Family?  🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin B
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 23:38:37

    I think they’re awesome.

    Wow. What names! All mine are Bridget’s and Mary’s and Margaret’s…it doesn’t seem fair.

    Klara is interesting with the K. My favorite group are GrandPop’s sisters. They’re fabulous and I love the nicknames.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 08:35:38

    Well, my Great Aunts were all born between 1884 (Elsie & Klara) & 1903 (Carolyn) I left out the Grandmothers: Cecylia/Cecilia Anna Dorota & Lilian Elisabeth. The odd naming thing is something the whole family gets into. My newest cousins: Annalee & Emerson, girls and Britton, boy. Suffice to say, the generation younger than I has a fair share of trendies. 🙂 Oh, I’d kill for a full Margaret in the tree! I love Margaret. I’ve got a Margery, though and that’ll have to do.

    Reply

  3. R.L.
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 10:58:40

    Hello, Lola,

    I found your blog through Nameberry. You’ve some lovely names in your family tree and I love how you incorporate them.

    I knew nine of my great aunts: Mary, Etta Mae, Thelma, Billie Jo, Edna Nadine, Homer Darcell, Jarvis Bonita, Roberta Faye and Faye June. Not a lot of names I’d care to use there, but I did have a great aunt Margaret. I never met her, but my aunt says she was a bit of a stinker.

    Nonetheless, I do plan to use Margaret, but I am a big fan of Maud, who is nowhere to be found in my clan.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 11:45:19

    Hi, R.L.! I used to think I had a Roberta in the family but it turns out she’s an Augusta and on;ly related because we love her (she was my Mother’s college roomate). Goes by Ginger, so I’ve been toying with Ginevra, Virginia & Genevieve, nn Ginger, for her. Eh, I’m not entirely thrilled with it.

    From yours, Homer’s awesome (I think Iliad before Simpsons) Edna’s charming and I’d flip Etta Mae and make her Mae Henrietta. Now *that’s* cool! And Maud? Well, look around her and you’ll see how absolutely awesome I think she is. She’s our #1 girl.

    Thanks for stopping by, always lovely to see new faces here!

    Reply

  5. Emmy Jo
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 14:09:34

    Wow, what lovely names!

    Favorite combos are Laeticia Amabel Violet (especially the Amabel Violet part), May Dorothea, Carolyn Augusta, and Genevieve Marianne.

    The great aunts in my family tree that I know of are Jewel, Hazel, Sandy (possibly short for Sandra), and Kathryn. I like Hazel, though I don’t think I’d use it. Katherine or Catherine (with one of these spellings) has long been my favorite girls’ names, but since it’s so popular we’ll probably use it in the middle.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 14:24:34

    Thanks Emmy Jo! I knew most of these ladies and in May, Lesley & Carolyn’s circle, I didn’t realise they were great aunts until I was well into my teens. Mom & Pop always said Aunt May, Aunt Lesley (Buddy) and Aunt Carolyn. Poor Genevieve, we never got a chance to know her at all. I liked that they all got substantial names, maybe something trendy or cute up front but one name is always a solid classic. It’s something we try to do too. I knew all of these ladies when I was small. Carolyn only just died last year, May died when I was 31 (she was 106) and Grandpop’s sisters died when I was between 12 & 16. Klara & Genie went while I was in High school (Gagi died when my Mom was 13) so except for Genevieve, I knew and loved them all. I feel sort of bad for Josie, my Parents are long gone, except for 1 Aunt, they’re all gone and I have a few cousins close enough but mostly they’re far away. She’s going to have to “borrow” a grandparent from a local rest home for Grandparent’s day at school! 😦

    Sandra’s due for a comeback I think, but why not consider Alessandra/Alexandra, nn Sasha in her honor? This is the sort of twisting that’s famous throughout the family, and perfectly acceptable to us. Hazel is gorgeous and Hazel Katherine would be stunning. I would also consider Alessandra Jewel if those names were in my tree somewhere, I think. Really beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

