Maxfield & a Narrowing

I’ve been toying with Maxfield again, for Parrish, and I have a couple that really intrigue me. I’ve also gotten Lettie down to two of each option, would you be so kind as to review them and pick your favorite of each, in that case?

So, here’s Maxfield, in all his glory:

Maxfield Jasper Milo or Maxfield Milo Jasper (can’t decide which way I like him best) I’m still attached to Milo (as that would have been Josie’s nickname had she been a boy) and Jasper’s just a neat nature name And I’m digging the possibility of an MJ boy!

Maxfield Hamish John – which roundabout honors Pop all around, his middles are James John!

Maxfield Alasdair John – just looking for alternate homes for my lovely Alasdair, which he dislikes up front for spelling issues.

Maxfield August John – Augie for Mom, she’d be tickled, John’s for him again.

Maxfield August Sinclair – Sinclair’s yet another family surname that was randomly suggested to me, I dragged it to him & He pointed it out. It suits me fine and I like the somewhat girlie feel of Sinclair on a guy.

Maxfield Taliesin John – for both Parrish & Wright, two ‘artists’ we admire a lot, both for their way with light & nature.

If I had to choose, Maxfield Taliesin John or Maxfield August Sinclair would get my vote, because neither is exactly expected and as such, makes me smile. But I’d love to know which you like best!

 

And for Lettie, We’ve talked it down to four combos, two of Lettice & two of Laetitia, I have my favorites, he’s got his. What I’d love is for you all to pick your favorite of each and tell me why. Let’s see who’s favorites rise to the top! Just a note: Lettice bothers neither of us and if we ended up with laetitia, she’d probably be Lettice at least occasionally.

Here they are:

Lettice Romilly Pearl
Lettice Penelope Jane
Laetitia India Rosamund
Laetitia Amabel Violet

 

And there you have it, the arguments are mostly over at least for now. Wanna finish us off?  We’d appreciate it!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 11:53:03

    I’m lukewarm on Maxfield, just because Max is so common in name-nerd-land, and also because of the surnamey feel. However, I get why you would want to use it! (My favorite artist is Titian (Born Tiziano); try using that!) My favorites are the August combinations, with Sinclair winning out by a hair. I love it on a boy, so if it’s family, go for it!

    Laetitia Amabel Violet is to. die. for. So pretty.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 12:38:41

    I love Titian too, maybe on a girl? Tiziana? It’s on my favorites lists but can’t find anything I like paired with it.

    Thanks Cat, Laetitia Amabel Violet is actually the Great Aunt’s name (sisters Elisabeth Lula Alice & Elvira Cora May)! [look in the previous Lettie post]. It’s definitely in the running for us although he’s stuck on Lettice as a standalone right now. I still love it too but am willing to consider Lettice as a nickname.

    As for Maxfield, yeah, I know Max is popular but he sounds so awesome with the sibset, I think. And Maxfield as a full, floats both our boats. It’s probably the one popular name we both like. It’s definitely a toss up between Maxfield August Sinclair and Maxfield Taliesin John. Consider your vote counted! 😀

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 00:05:49

    I really like Maxwell have you thought about that? Though Maxfield isnt bad it reminds a bit of an uperclass sort of surname. The type who have a butler. I like the name Max though and especially in Australia I wouldnt say its widely used probably more an english sort of name. i dont know though about America. Jasper also is cute for a middle name. And also I have to ask not commonly used in Australia why are you opting for three names?

    Reply

  4. Davena
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 05:54:48

    Maxfield August John would be my favourite, am I the odd one out?

    I’m also loving Laetitia Amabel Violet. India to me seems to be the odd name out. For me it doesn’t seem to ‘fit’. My 2nd choice would be Lettice Penelope Jane.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 08:45:30

    Laura, Max is HOT here, ranking in the top 200 (141 in 2007 and poised to jump higher still). Yes, I paused over Maxwell, it’s a Beatles name and has been attached to the yummy Joe Anderson. But ultimately, Maxwell is just coffee to me, big brand here and I don’t like it. Maxfield fits for us, Surnames turned first name of our favorite artist. I mentioned him before: https://lolamac.wordpress.com/2008/12/20/maxfield/
    As for the two middle thing? It’s family tradition for both of us. And with the world population headed for 7 billion, it’s another way to seperate us from the crowd.

    Davena, You’re not odd man out, no, He’s still the simple possibility. He appeals because he’s simple, strong and honors. We’re in the middle of discussing MAS & MAJ today, in fact!

    Lettice Romilly Pearl came out the winner, there, In the Lettices and Laetitia Amabel Violet. I’m kind of excited about LAV, She’s exactly my Great Aunt’s name and I’m a bit jazzed to find the family’s alright with us potentially using it again.

    Penelope’s one I like up front, anyway & we have her in a combo that both pleases us & honors. I don’t think Penelope’s going to skyrocket anytime soon. Her big chart spot? 1946, at 272. She’s only in the 400’s now and because of her wildly galloping, 4 syllable sound, really don’t see her as an Ava type appealler (or Jennifer, Jessica or Emily type either). I really think Penelope’s one of those that will be familiar but not super common to most.
    I did finally get to see “Penelope” the movie, with Crhistina Ricci. (I really like her!) and was pleasantly surprised. It’s a keeper, for when Josie gets bigger.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

