SuperHero Bruce!

I’ve been thinking about Bruce lately. Yes, really. Say him aloud a few times, he’s got flair. Bruce was one of his Grandpop’s names and as such, would honor nicely.

I’m beginning to really like him, geeky feel and all. I’m not generally a fan of the Br- sound but here he really doesn’t bother me, funnily enough!  Am I the only one who thinks Bruce is still usable?  With the Hulk being re-released by Marvel, I would think  he’s become a bit more familiar to folks.  Is he?  What do you think about Bruce? 

Trying to figure out what to pair him with, he’s tough to pair, for me.

 

Some preliminary thoughts:
Bruce Edward
Bruce Henry
Bruce Willem
Bruce Arthur
Bruce August (maybe August Bruce)?
Bruce Rafael
Bruce Gavriil/Gavriel/Gabriel
Bruce Hugo
Bruce Valentin
Bruce Constantin
Bruce Edgar
Bruce Milo
Bruce Oliver
Bruce  John
Bruce Stellan
Bruce Magnus
Bruce Peregrin
Bruce Xavier

 

and now I’m running dry. Anything pop out at anyone? Any other suggestions are more than welcome, feel free , throw stuff at me if you want, I’d love it! 

 

And thanks for humoring me!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 13:25:57

    I like how Bruce Xavier echoes the s-sound internally, in a way that Magnus or Constatin don’t. (I don’t know the last name this’ll go with, so it’s hard to judge the total package.). I think Bruce Casimir has a nice ring to it, as does Bruce Harvey (although perhaps that one’s a little musty.). Bruce Ulysses also comes to mind, although it perhaps crosses the line into overkill. 😉

    Reply

  2. Jim
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 13:27:27

    Bruce Oliver flows very nicely, too! 😀

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 13:35:16

    Jim, it’s a three syllable Mac- name that a lot of girls have as a first name these days. I’ll say no more there. 😀 And there will be a second middle name to boot. We all have two.

    Thanks for the thoughts, we’re really just preliminarily considering Bruce. He’s really growing on me!

    Bruce Oliver, Bruce Xavier, Bruce Gavriil & Bruce Willem seem to be the ones that rather pop to me.

    Reply

  4. Caitlin B
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 21:04:06

    Oh! I would name my kid Bruce just to honor Springsteen. I am a giant E Street fan! Springsteen’s name is Bruce Frederick Joseph – which has a nice ring!

    I have to second Bruce Xavier. But, I also like the simplicity of Bruce John.

    Reply

  5. Mia
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 23:16:41

    My dad is a Bruce William, so I have a bias in favor of Bruce Willem.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 18:10:47

    Thanks Caitlin, Mia! Caitlin, I grew up in NJ,so while I should be a Springsteen fan, I am most vehemently NOT. He’s like the pop answer to Frank Sinatra, to me. Blah.

    But I still do like Bruce!

    Bruce Xavier, Bruce Willem, Bruce Oliver and as a wildcard, Bruce Rafael are in play, at the moment. They’re the fodder for tonight’s brainstorm! 😀

    Reply

  7. Caitlin B
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 19:35:41

    Oh, Lola, that pains me! I’m also a lover of Frank’s. I’m living in Jersey right now, with my aunt’s family, but I’m from NY. It seems that all my favorite music comes from NJ: Bruce, Frank, Ted Leo, uh.. Jonas Bros? It’s all I listen to now that I’m living with two tween girls!

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 20:16:33

    Well, Franks never bothered me but Bruce seems to be a copycat of sorts. Leo’s fine, even the Jonas brothers don’t bother me. Just Springsteen. generally it’s becuase I’m not fond of the music he makes and becuase I’m a former Jersian, I seem to be expected to like Springsteen, which just aggravates me to no end. I have no problem with others liking him and I wouldn’t have a problem with others thinking I named mine Bruce because of him (although people that know me would never assume such a thing!)
    Have you ever seen this page:? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Music_of_New_Jersey

    pretty neat reading!

    Reply

  9. Caitlin B
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 10:59:52

    Oh, yes – that’s a great article. Thanks for the link!

    Reply

  10. vagueperson
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 19:56:13

    all I can think of is Bruce Wayne…

    Reply

  11. Lola
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 20:00:55

    That’s *why* he’s on the lsit, Vague! 😀

    The Mr. is a HUGE Batman freak. (come to think of it, that’s how Harvey made the list too!). Yeah, name a superhero and he can tell you anything about it, from beginnings to now. It’s kind of weird how much of his brain is devoted to comic book heroes but I’m starting to realise a lot of them have awesome names. They were early namenerds! 🙂

    And think about it, How bad a role model is Bruce Wayne really? (Or Bruce Banner, for that matter?).

    Reply

  12. Sarah
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 23:51:51

    Did you happen to start considering Bruce when I compared him to Gavin on Appelation Mountain?

    Reply

  13. Lola
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 09:03:39

    Sarah, I don’t think so. I suggested Bruce as a NotD a good while ago, and she did him in August:
    http://appellationmountain.net/2008/08/20/name-of-the-day-bruce/
    And I don’t mind Gavin, but he’s not for me.

    So I’ve been toying with him for a good while. Like I’ve said, Bruce was the name of one of his Uncles and He’s a huge Batman freak. While I’m more a Hulk/Spiderman gal. Yeah, so Bruce carries three associations for us.

    He’s not exactly hot here either, at 438, he’s about the least popular he’s ever been. But with the honoring, I don’t care. Really. I’d much rather have a Bruce than a Henry. Henry whines a bit to my ears and I’ll consider him as middle material because I loathe Harry. I am not an enforcer, so if a name has nicknames possibilities I dislike, I stick the name in the middle. If a Henry/Hal of mine came home from 4th grade and said “I wanna be Harry, Mama” I’d faint. I hate Harry and Hank but love Hal and I can’t risk it. But Bruce, I think he’s aces and don’t care if he’s dated elsewhere. I have an Auusie friend, married to a Yank GF of mine and if it makes you feel any better, he’s pretty appalled that we’re considering Bruce pretty heavily right now. So, you’re not alone. 🙂 Doesn’t change my mind any, but there you have it!

    Thanks so much for swinng by, Sarah! It’s always lovely to see you!

    Edited to fix the gandpop/uncle thing.

    Reply

  14. Sarah
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 09:53:22

    I didn’t realise Bruce had family meaning for you! That changes it.

    And I do prefer him to Henry/Harry. These guys just feel a bit…sleazy to me. Reminds me of the Hugh/Jude sorta group. So I agree with you there.

    Still not a big fan of Bruce though. But everyone seems to hate one of our favourites for my baby due in May: Banjo. Its disappointing that people don’t like it – probably similar to you using Bruce. So we will probably use it as a nickname for Benjamin, if at all.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 12, 2009 @ 10:05:00

      It’s okay, Sarah. 🙂 Funny, Banjo doesn’t bother me a bit. Although I always wonder why Aussie’s don’t name their boys Andrew and nn him Banjo, like the original. But I have cousins that go by Jojo and I like a fair number of -o enders myself, so what’s Banjo to me? I’ll admit, Benjamin, nn Banjo is pretty stunning.

      Knowing it’s a family name really does change a lot of people’s opinions, it’s interesting to see. I figure Bruce has an uphill climb yet, like Leo did 23 years ago. Still like Leo… and Bruce!

      You’ve pegged it, exactly, hardly anyone is enthusiastic about Bruce here in the States. he’s a 40’s sort of name and as such, not fresh enough to make a full fledged comeback and not stale enough to be hated outright. Bruce is kind of gray, like Leo & Simon were nearly 30 years ago. Another “old man” name but not a “dead man” name. “old Men” are boringly named. We all know a handful and the name is just blah. A “dead Man” name, OTOH, is fresh again, a “Wow! Haven’t heard that in a while” “Very cool” sort of thing. I have “dead men” names on my lists, but a few “old man” names too: Harvey, Sidney, Clarence, Francis & Arthur. I’ve got a fondness for “old man” but not ‘dead man” names! 🙂 Consider me the oddball Yank.

      Reply

  15. Sarah
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 20:28:40

    I’m glad you like Banjo. People seem to think it screams lower class for some reason.

    And I wouldn’t worry about old man vs. dead man names. The old man names will become the dead man names in a generation or so. So you will be one step ahead.

    Its kind of like how I think Jackson is so…fresh on boys from 17 to 25. On 2 to 3 year olds it feels so…uninspired. Perhaps a similar thing might happen to Bruce.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 13, 2009 @ 08:28:03

      I think you’ve hit the nail on the head, Sarah. I clearly remeber hearing my first Jackson. Funny there too, I was visiting his sister in Jackson township, NJ and he was her brand new neighbor’s baby. It was kind of “wow, that’s odd” then, now it “oh, another”? *yawn*

      I think Bruce is going on the list: Bruce Willem Taliesin.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

