Elspeth

Charming, beautiful, princessy Elspeth. Yep, she’s back!

 

I’ve been toying with her in my head again and I must admit being thoroughly charmed by her.   She feels as though she belongs in a fairytale of sorts, doesn’t she? Elspeth. I love the way she looks too.

I argued Elspeth Margery Violet out of him (he had originally preferred it Margery Elspeth Violet) but EMV is a firm favorite these days.  Went looking for other inspiration as well and came up with these few that appeal in various ways:

Elspeth Coralie Frances
Elspeth Mina Violet
Elspeth Maud Primrose
Elspeth Romilly Jane
Elspeth Poppy Caroline
Elspeth Cleo Marilyn/Cleo Violet
Elspeth Lily Irene

 

Think eh-REEN-eh  for Irene. That’s how the family says it and how I say it by default. I actually have to consciously think before saying Eye-reen. Isn’t that a hoot?!   I’m fond of all of them for various reasons but find myself most drawn to Elspeth Maud Primrose, Elspeth Romilly Jane and Elspeth Cleo Violet, as well as the original Elspeth Margery Violet.  Anything there jump out at you? What would you think if you ran into a girl named Elspeth? How about a sister set of Josephine & Elspeth?  

 

Talk to me, any thoughts at all, anything you think is more than welcome here, and, as always, thanks a million!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 17:21:36

    Hi Lola, If I had any Scottish blood Elspeth would be on my list(!), she’s such a beautiful, upstanding and throughly Scottish name. For what it’s worth, I don’t think any of your other combo suggestions can top Elspeth Margery Violet – not even close. I adore the combination of strength, prettiness and Scottish heritage she oozes and dig her almost as much as Cecily Pandora Jane.

    Cecily works a bit better with Josephine but only a bit, and really, Elspeth and Josephine are two such lovely names that certainly don’t work against each other or jarr together – so I see no reason why they shouldn’t make a smashing pair. Would you consider Elsa as a nickname for Elspeth – I’m currently going through a bit of an Elsa phase! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 07, 2009 @ 17:32:57

    Indeed, Elsa is probably the most intuitive shortening of Elspeth for us. I have to actually think a bit before coming out with Bess, which is my favorite Elisabeth form nickname. Elsie is a family nickname, one of my paternal Grandpop’s sisters was an Elsie, sweet little lady she was, too. I remember her a bit better than the younger siblings. Having a good friend named Elsa who’s quite far away is another plus for Elspeth, nn Elsa in my book. yeah, I’m going through a “loving Elsa” phase here too!

    Thanks for stopping by Kate! 😀

    Reply

  3. youcantcallitit
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 08:34:23

    Elspeth is another one I’ve loved always.

    My favorites:
    Elspeth Mina Violet
    Elspeth Maud Primrose
    Elspeth Poppy Caroline

    The Poppy Caroline combo is really unexpected. I would probably switch Primrose and Maud to make Elspeth Primrose Maud.

    I agree with Kate that Cecily Pandora Jane is one of your very most memorable and tight combinations. Didn’t you have something else with Saskia Jane that honors both your mothers? Or is it Pandora Jane that does that?

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 10:36:46

    Thanks, Elisabeth! Poppy Caroline was one of his thoughts. Just so it’s out there. He’s definitely a bit of an out-of-the-box thinker.

    I was thinking of switching Primrose & Maud anyway, thanks for suggesting it!

    No worries, Cecily Pandora Jane is staying on the list. She honors far too many to shove off! And yes, Penelope Saskia Violet/Penelope Sakia Jane is floating around, I’m not sure in which incarnation. But both honor.

    Thanks folks! I’m running off Elspeth Romilly jane (which enchants him) and Elspeth Margery Violet, the solid standard bearer.

    Reply

  5. Cat
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 13:08:01

    Elspeth is lovely, lovely. I’m late yet again, but Romilly Jane was one of my favorites. Dainty Jane with boisterous Romilly just makes me smile! Margery Violet floats my boat too; my grandmother was Margaret Elizabeth, and seeing any variants of the names together makes me happy.

    Coralie Frances is fairytale and unexpected from you for some reason. I dig it almost as much as Romilly Jane.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 13:40:04

    Thanks Cat!

    You’re making this very difficult on me, I really like all of these and am having trouble picking just one. Hmm, I’ll have to go stew over these, talk about them. That’s what’s on for this afternoon! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

