Matilda/Mathilda

Am re-thinking Matilda And Mathilda lately. I generally prefer Mathilda, looks less “Waltzing Matilda” to me but I am warming up to the spelling. 

I’ve had Mathilda Lucy Elanor for a good few months now and I’m still quite taken with her. Lucy for Mom & me, Elanor for da Man. Yeah, if it was good enough for Sam’s girl, it’s good enough for one of mine. 😀  So I’m not looking for anything new there, but Matilda? Yeah, I’ll play with her for a bit, see if anything jumps out at me, maybe you’d like to give me your two cents on these few?:

 

Matilda Violet Kathleen
Matilda Elspeth Violet
Matilda Esme Violet
Matilda Katharine Violet
Matilda Rosemary Violet
Matilda Saskia Violet
Matilda Violet Llanfaire
Matilda Flora Violet
Matilda Lucy Violet
Matilda Violet Winifred
Matilda Cerys Violet
Matilda Lily Violet
Matilda Sibyl Violet

Like I said, I’m just playing around. There’s a couple there that interest me but I’ll leave that ’til later and see what everyone else thinks first. I’m more interested in your opinions thatn mine, anyway! 

 

 So, anything there grab ya? Let me know!   And, as always, thanks a million for stopping by!  😀

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esme
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 08:21:33

    I too prefer Mathilda, although I suppose Matilda is easier, phonetics wise. Americans are pretty fortunate in that she is fairly uncommon, I believe- there are a lot more of them in England! Out of these, I really love Esme Violet, but flow-wise, I think Violet Kathleen.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 11:36:10

    Thanks, Esme. 🙂 I was thinking simple with Matilda. Matilda Lucy Violet or the honoring, Matilda Saskia Violet and Matilda Elspeth Violet. Matilda Violet Kathleen is pretty neat too, and it honors, so there are my choices, for now. Mathilda Lucy Elanor continues to stand, as well.

    Reply

  3. chaneltara
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 00:20:32

    I like Matilda/Mathilda. I used to be in love with it, but I’ve grown a little cold over the years because of the popularity spike it has gotten in real life and on name boards. I prefer the spelling Mathilda, it looks more old-fashioned to me, and I’m not usually one who goes by the simplest spelling, just the most visually appealing to me. I don’t think I’d enjoy writing cursive Matilda as much as cursive Mathilda, it just looks prettier. My favorite is your original Mathilda Lucy Elanor, the whole name is just pretty and just clicks for me. The other combos are great, but MLE is stunning.

    My other favorite combo though is Matilda Violet Llanfaire…this is quite amazing actually. I love Llanfaire, it actually made me squeal to see it. I don’t know anything about it though, except it was a character in a book I love…do you have any info on it? It’s on my guilty pleasure list….

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 11:04:50

    Thanks, Chanel! Mathilda Lucy Elanor is standing still, and will continue for now. I just toy with Matilda, as a spelling, I really can’t get behind it. Far too kangaroo-y for me.

    Reply

  5. chaneltara
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 13:55:59

    I agree, Mathilda reminds me of vintage toys and lace, Matilda reminds me of a kangaroo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

