Oscar

Yep, I’m thinking about Oscar again.  I’ve been thinking how awesome he is and like him despite his popularity. At least, I do right now. His popularity is what killed him for me before. The most comfortable spot for me, rank wise in the low 200’s to mid 500’s. More or less popular usually makes me pause.  Oscar’s actually in the top 200 but fell a teensy bit between 2006 and 2007 : 118 to 121. If he had climbed into the top 100, he’d be off my lists but as is, the fall allows me to still toy with Oscar.  

Oscar Valentin George was my combo of choice.  I had also liked  Oscar Gabriel Edward & Oscar Taliesin John.  But Oscar Valentin George is the one I keep coming back to.

 

 I think he sounds pretty awesome with the boys and is pretty snazzy looking with Josie as well. My brother would just love a nephew he could call “Ozzy”, too. Me, I’m more prone to simply Oz, which delights my Aussie bud Jason to no end.  So Oscar’s looking like a winner for a few reasons. I don’t love him like I do Rufus or even Cosmo but think he makes a more mainstream option.  He feels a bit too mainstream to me, whose used to old people names on her kids (remember, Leo & Simon are going on 23!) but I do like him enough to consider him.  Now, The other half doesn’t mind Oscar but prefers Rufus, Cosmo & Remy (which is one I utterly love). Arthur is my ‘normal” dude on the list, among the oddballs, and I like him a bit more than Oscar. So, should I bother putting Oscar on the official list or no? What do you think?  Oscar or Arthur?  Or both?

 

Any thoughts at all would be appreciated! All he says in response to Oscar is “yeah, he’s okay”, which is about as “yeah, whatever” as he’s ever given. I need some input on Oscar! Help!  😀

 

Arthur

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kayt
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 11:57:40

    I love Oscar! I think he’s only as high on the charts as it is because of his popularity in the Hispanic community. He’s really rare in English speaking households as far as I know. It’s funny to me, because I have a Great-Uncle Oscar. He was six-two, and super sweet and gentle. Oscar is always going to be a old guy in Clark Kent glasses and a bunny suit for Halloween to me. I love the name, and actually pushed for it for James’ name, but my husband shot it down. It sounded too Hispanic to him. So yeah, point being, I love it, and think he sounds dashing with your other kids. Oscar Valentin George sounds lovely to me. Mine would be Oscar Augustine, but you know, family names and all.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 14:18:50

    Yeah, family names! It’s definitely where Valentin comes from. Great Uncle # 7, I think.

    I live in a community with a fairly large Brasilian group and I do hear Oscar a fair amount downtown. He’d definitely fit in, that way! I think I’m really going to have to weigh the pros & cons myself, which stinks. I really like him with Leo & Simon (Leo, Simon & Oscar) and Josephine & Oscar works too. Just have to decide if it’s worth him being one of maybe 5 or more at school…..

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 15:29:32

    Oscar sounds great with your other kids’ names. However, I’ve never been a fan of it. I know I’m in the minority on this one, but it just doesn’t appeal to me. It’s not the “grouch” associations either — I’m really not sure what it is. I personally prefer Arthur, by a lot. Of course, it’s not my taste that matters here.

    I just thought I’d mention that my husband, picky boy namer that he is, really likes the names of your sons. I’ve been asking him about a lot of boys’ names this weekend, since he isn’t crazy about any on my list. When I asked him about Leo, he said he liked it, and when I asked about Simeon, he said, “It’s okay, but I like Simon better.” I should show him your whole boys’ list and see if anything inspires him!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 15:52:12

    Go ahead & show him, Emmy Jo! I’m still not sold on Oscar, by any means and Arthur’s a family name (G. Uncle) and is not leaving the list, at least, not anytime soon.

    Reply

  5. chaneltara
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 10:50:16

    Ooh, I love Oscar! I actually prefer the spelling Oskar, it just looks so much nicer to me, the K seems to add a spice. I prefer Oskar over Oliver, another favorite, any day, plus Erik likes it so win-win!

    Arthur is a handsome gentleman in a buttoned-up smoking jacket. Just screams cool. Unfortunately for me, it is my father’s name, someone I don’t really want to honor with namesake. I just don’t like Art, would be more inclined with Artie, but I know that EVERYONE tries to use Art for an Arthur (my dad always introduces himself as Arthur, but everyone still tries calling him Art).

    Oskar is my winner, unfortunately same as Kayt, everyone if my family says it’s too hispanic…I personally only known one little Oscar, and he’s not hispanic, so whatever. Oskar Darcy is my combo, but I’m loving your Oscar Valentin George!

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 15:45:12

    Oskar is too Hispanic? My goodness, Oskar screams German to me, not Spanish! 😀 I’d kill to be able to consider Oskar but around here, Oscar is the default, I see it everytime we go somewhere where there are other kids. (First names on things seems to be all the rage up here) So if I did use Oskar, he’d be at the mercy of everyone around here who seem to default to Oscar. I th
    ink I’m going to put Oscar Valentin George on the Wildcard list and stew for awhile. See if I can decide whether to move him up or out.

    Reply

  7. Smoky
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 20:11:09

    Oskar/Oscar is precious. Such an underappreciated beauty!! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

