George

George is like my favorite middle name, ever. I like George paired with just about anything! Because I like him so much, I’ve tried to put him in first place but I’m having no success just yet. Like Maud, I think George is going to take a bit more work. I think my Pop would approve of George.

Some of my more random thoughts lately, anything strike you as keepable?

George Augustin
George Willoughby
George Cosmo (I have this flipped, as Cosmo Raphael George)
George Aloysius
George Hugo
George Valentin
George Laszlo
George Neville
George Rupert
George Casimir
George Alasdair (is also Alasdair Barnaby George)
George Luther
George Porfirio
George Lucius
George Louis (lou-ee, please)

Well, those are my first thoughts anyway. Should I keep any? or should I just leave George at he end of my combos as I’ve been doing? What do you think, folks?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ysa
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 17:07:45

    My favorites here are George Augustin, George Cosmo, George Hugo, George Valentin, George Alastair, George Porfirio, and George Louis (Gee, isn’t that most the list anyway? Ysa isn’t being too helpful today!). With George Willoughby, I think it could easily be pegged as “pansy-ish,” and George Neville gives off a very nerdy air (I’m not sure if that was what you were going for there- nerds are fine people). I like the list overall. George is a decent, friendly name. I like how versitile he is; names that mold to the person well but retain some individuality are names to keep in mind.

    Reply

  2. Ysa
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 17:09:19

    (Whoa… what is that strange creature posing as my avatar? Where did it come from?)

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 17:27:36

    They’re random, Ysa, I changed from those little abstract art things that drive me bananas to little monsters, which make me giggle when I see them, they’re so cute! I may change them yet again, if I get tired of looking at them but for now, they’re mighty entertaining in their own little way.

    It seems Neville ends up nerdy-ing whatever I pair him with, which is a shame, I firmly like Neville and am a huge Neville Bros. fan, which is why he ends up on the lists. And Matthew Lewis doen’t really hurt the name either (He who plays Neville Longbottom in HP). *sigh* I suppose I’ll have to rethink him entirely.

    Yeah, everything you listed appeals, George Porfirio particularly. But then, I’ve been trying to find a place for him since we decided to try for #4. Something I’ve loved since I was 2 is not likely to be overlooked permanently! Thanks for trying Ysa! I appreciate it very much! šŸ˜€

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 20:10:36

    My three favorites are George Augustin, George Alasdair, and George Willoughby. To me, Willougby makes George feel handsome and sexy instead of like a “pansy” name, but I suppose I can see Ysa’s point. And though George Alasdair is dashing, I think it could have the potential to sound a bit stuffy.

    That leaves George Augustin, which really does charm me. Augustin is uncommon and interesting enough to counteract any charges that George is plain or boring. Plus, both Augustus and August are on the rise, so Augustin feels stylish.

    Reply

  5. Emma
    Feb 21, 2009 @ 13:32:49

    George stales a little as an MN to me. Or it used to; I’m kind of growing out of that phase some. It has always seemed easier to put it there, and a lot more interesting to be up front. So now I’ve got a billion GeorgeFN combos and now GeorgeMN seems more interesting. šŸ˜› Anyway, I love it, it’s my #3 right now.

    I think it works well with a lot of types of names up front. From yours, really like Augustin, Willoughby, Valentin, Porfirio, and Neville (excellent! perfectly stuffy and nerdy and handsome).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

