Lucy

I’ve been loving Lucy (pardon the pun) most of my life. My Mother wanted to name me Lucy but was shot down by Pop. So she called me Lucy as an affectionate nickname. Is it any wonder I turned into the name-freak I did? Let’s see, Laura, Lola, Lucy, Lily.. those are the names I was called as a kid. Confusing to say the least, and that’s not counting all the names I insisted they call me!  If the name starts with an L, I’m rather likely to answer to it thanks to my family!  😀

I’ve been putting Lucy in the middle because she almost vanishes when I put her next to Josephine, in full. While she’s sweet, I think for me, she’s better there although I am toying with the idea of her in front.

Lucy Raphaela is my favorite two name pairing of Lucy to date, although Lucy Primrose appeals too.

 

I’ve had her in the middle loads of times, but wonder if I flipped some of them around… maybe they’d appeal to me more? Here’s a handful or so of Lucy-in-the-middles/flipped arounds:

Euphemia Lucy Jane/Lucy Euphemia Jane
Edith Lucy Valentina/Lucy Edith Valentina
Mathilda Lucy Imogen/Lucy Mathilda Imogen
Mathilda Lucy Elspeth/Lucy Mathilda Elspeth
Ottoline Lucy Maud/Lucy Ottoline Maud
Winifred Lucy Adele/Lucy Winifred Adele

 

and now some Lucy up front, playing around:

Lucy Clementine Pearl
Lucy Raphaela Elinor
Lucy Mina Raphaela
Lucy Elspeth Primrose 
Lucy Romilly Primrose
Lucy Ottoline Viola
Lucy Violet Adeline
Lucy Kathleen Grey

 

 

 

While  I can close my eyes and see my Mother’s glee over this one,   I don’t know, maybe Lucy up front isn’t for me. What do you all think? 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chaneltara
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 19:39:59

    I love Lucy too, very sweet. But it’s so grand how some gorgeous names can be shortened to the sweet Lucy, it’s almost a crime not to use them!
    Lucretia, Lucille, and Lucinda are my favorites (in order).

    Lucy Raphaela/Raffaela is gorgeous. Lucy Primrose just makes my heart skip a beat! Lucy makes a great middle name, and out of your switched around combos, I prefer the original-Lucy-in-the-middle combos.

    I love your other list of Lucy combos!
    My favorites are:
    Lucy Clementine Pearl-Aww, so innocent and sweet!
    Lucy Mina Raphaela-Lucy Mina! Sweet!
    Lucy Elspeth Primrose -I really like this, Elspeth Primrose is a common middle name for me to play with.
    Lucy Violet Adeline-Lucy Violet is so cute.
    Lucy Kathleen Grey-my favorite, Lucy Kathleen is delightfully fun, and Grey really makes this combo end in a lady-like manner.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 22:17:41

    Just popping in before I watch Monty Python all night, gods, I adore Netflix & Xbox! 😀
    Thanks for stopping by Chanel!

    Lucy Kathleen Grey is probably the “Lucy in front” that’ll stick, Kathleen’s my sister and I am just loving the soothing Grey in there. I had originally thought Lucy Kathleen Elinor, but think Elinor throws the whole thing off somehow.

    I do have Lucretia (my favorite Lucy form) on my lists still. I just adore Lucretia and am loathe to just drop her because Tallulah’s also on my list. Of the two, Tallulah’s the family name, one of the few left on Pop’s side that I like. Most of my favorites are from Mom’s side, or are literary or Hero favorites. Lucretia’s a hero favorite, Lucretia Mott is a hero of mine. What a brave woman! I can wish a daughter of mine would be as outspoken about what she feels passionate about as well.

    Funny you though Lucy Mina Raphaela was sweet, I originally had Mina Lucy Raphaela. I’m loving Raphael in all shades lately, male, female and the ethnic varities as well. I think I’ll be stewing on Rafael tonight, as he’s the family spelling. Funny how I prefer the “ph” version on the girls, but the “f” on the guys, hmm?

    Again, thanks Chanel!

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 23:41:05

    I have to agree with Chanel here; I think most of the switched Lucy combos are better in their original incarnations.

    My love for Lucy is well documented, so I don’t have to tell you how much I adore the name. In my dream world, I’d have Lucy, Alice, and Daphne, my 3 lovely daughters. Rufus and Niles would round out the set. 😀

    Anyway, I love Mina Raphaela and Raphaela Elinor the most, even though the latter does run together a bit. I think Lucy and Mina are really matched in sweetness and brevity. Dracula, too, no? Lucy Westerna and Mina…something? Harker, ah yes. I haven’t read the book (oh the shame!) but the names match beautifully! Raphaela adds a richness that might be lacking without it. And I just love Elinor. It grounds wonderfully!

    Clementine Pearl is third, just because it’s so sweet.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Feb 20, 2009 @ 11:39:09

    You got it, Cat, Mina Lucy are the girls from Dracula. Lucy, in particular, ends quite badly. Have you seen the version with Gary Oldman as Dracula? “Bram Stoker’s Dracula” is visually the lovliest interpretation I’ve ever seen. Sadie Frost played Lucy, so perfectly I’m still haunted by her.
    If you cant get time to read it, try watching that version. And if you want a real scare, Try “Nosferatu”. That one still creeps me out!

    Thanks for the votes for Lucy Raphaela, Raphaela Elinor, Mina Lucy & Clementine Pearl!

    Reply

  5. lucykrueger25
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 16:41:05

    My full name is Lucinda, so at different points in my life I’ve been called Lucy, Cindy, and Cinda. I’d have to say Lucy is not really a hard name to live with, so if you’re really considering it, then I’d go for it.

    my blog:
    http://lucykrueger25.wordpress.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

