Penelope Redux

I’m still enamored with Penelope and trying on a few different thoughts on her. Here’s are the lovely ladies, all:

Ā 

Penelope Violet Jane – simple, sweet and leaves the focus on Penelope. Violet for Auntie, Jane for Mom. But I’m not sure, in the end, if this simple will pass him, who loves pomp, circumstance and blustery stuff. šŸ™‚Ā 

Penelope Marilyn Jane – Marilyn’s another Aunt, still a love but one of my very favorites since she gave me my favorite cousins & ones closest to my age. She was the only one to really comfort me after my Mom died and I’ve been looking for a way to honor her. I think Marilyn’s got a nice modern sound but feels very retro, and I like that her sound goes well with Penelope and is still lightened up with Mom’s Jane. Her initials would mimic those of my cousin Pam, too (one of Marilyn’s daughters), which is a nice tie in with the family.

Penelope Saskia Violet– I’ve mentioned this one before in passing but I’ve found her growing on me. Saskia’s his mom’s middle name and Violet’s that lovely, long gone Aunt who treated me as if I were hers. I like this one a whole lot but wonder how weird it may come across to anyone else. This one would definitely pass his judgment, Saskia’s odd enough for him and family enough for me.

Penelope Saskia Jane –Ā  Again with his Mom’s middle, but this time paired with Mom’s middle, Jane.

Penelope Zoya Jane
– Zoya’s Russian Zoe, and while I like Zoe, find Zoya more in line with the family group. I think she’ simply gorgeous! And honors my ancestry while giving him his Z!Ā  Jane is, as always, for Mom.

Anything up there grab anyone, in particular? I do like them all but for different reasons. And I don’t think I could narrow them down much beyond these, they all mean something to me. As usual, he’s the “Whatever you want” for a girl, which is rather liberating in general but feels weird considering the push/shove we do over boys. He wasn’t this laid back last time! šŸ˜€

So, anyone have a favorite up there? Which one? šŸ™‚

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 10:48:01

    Penelope is adorable, but I’m not sure any of these are perfect. I think Saskia’s the right choice, though!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 11:40:45

    Thanks Caitlin. Not really helpful but at least I know Penelope’s liked a bit more than I would have thought! šŸ˜€

    Penelope Saskia appeals to me too. But which one of them?

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 15:34:11

    Penelope is darling! I love the galloping yet dignified sound and the nicknames. Of these, I like Saskia Violet especially, it’s visually appealing to me, and I love Saskia. Didn’t SophieGray have something similar? Ah, she had Viola Saskia Blythe. PSV appeals to me in much the same way. I also like Saskia Jane here.

    I think Saskia matches Penelope step for step. The names are gorgeous together.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 16:18:03

    Indeed, SophieGray & I are on a similar vibe, it seems. Add Elisabeth of YCCII and we’re all on the same wavelength, it seems. šŸ˜€

    I think you’ve got it pegged, Cat, Penelope Saskia Violet is really stunning. I like the simplicity of PSJ too but am more drawn to the happy, sunshiny vibe of PSV!

    Reply

  5. appellationmountain
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 17:48:54

    Penelope Saskia Violet has my vote, too!

    I didn’t know that ’bout Zoe/Zoya. I’ve been thinking about Zara/Zora/Zola lately.

    On my “what I’d name my octuplets” list – compiled on a very, very long metro trip the other day – I have Penelope Linden … something, nickname Polly.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 18:55:18

    Ah, Polly! If I didn’t have a cousin or three using Polly/Molly, she’s be grabbed in a heartbeat. As is, Nell & Poppy are free. Penny is too “Lost in Space” for me. (I loved that show as a kid!) Will & John are th only two names from that show I’ve ever liked. but hey, she may gravitate to Polly just like Josephine gravitated into Posie/Josie/Fifi. Some kids just fit their nicknames, you know. šŸ™‚

    Tomorrow’s something completely different, for me, I hope you all come peek!

    Reply

  7. Lydia May
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 23:33:48

    I love Penelope. I too, like Penelope Saskia Violet, but I also like Penelope Marilyn Jane. I really like Marilyn with Penelope; it helps ground it a bit. Penelope Saskia is almost too fanciful and flighty, but Marilyn is the epitomy of strong, and practical to me. Not everyone agrees; there is, of course, the Marilyn Monroe association. It simply sounds like a very down-to-earth woman to me. All of these are lovely, though.

    Have you thought of Penelope Marilyn Saskia or Penelope Saskia Marilyn? A bit sing songy, I guess, but I still think it sounds nice.

    Reply

  8. Tamara
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 13:11:29

    I was wondering since Saskia is a Dutch name, is the person who’s middle name it is Dutch too? In that case I don’t think I’d go for Penelope Saskia Violet myself, all three of the names are beautiful and they sound great together but PSV is a Dutch football club. If the ‘original Saskia’ isn’t Dutch then it’s okay heh šŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • Lola
      Feb 18, 2009 @ 14:41:31

      Lydia May, Thanks! Marilyn’s a favorite Aunt, and I’ve been looking for a place for her! Tamara, yep, she’s half Dutch. It’s his Mom’s middle and she’s the Half Dutch one. This one would be 1/16th, but mostly it’s to honor her. I had no clue OSV was a Dutch football club, how cool is that?!

      Reply

  9. Tamara
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 15:17:24

    Haha yeah it it’s pretty cool, you obviously choose great initials šŸ˜‰ But you know, it still wouldn’t be a problem to give your daughter a name with those initials -especially since I’m guessing she won’t be called by her initials only ;)- I just thought you might wanted to know that now instead of after you actually name her. Especially since you have Dutch family šŸ™‚ (How cool! I’m Dutch too haha)

    I must say that you have an excellent choice in names! I love almost every one of them!

    (ps. I just realised that the picture next to my previous comment is an old picture of mine šŸ˜ I have no idea how that one ended up online, do you know how that happened or how I can get it offline haha?)

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 16:42:58

    šŸ˜€ Thanks!

    To change the gravatar (that’s what that picture’s called), you have to go to your profile, on your global dashboard and change it there. Other than that, I don’t know how to get it off that particular comment. It seems the comments asociated with the old gravatar stay attached, even when it changes. Some of my old posts have Aurora, you know, Sleeping Beauty as the picture. (She’s my favorite Disney Princess, she’s got a Mom, a real name and a Prince with a name! Namenerd, forever, that’s me)!

    Funny, My other half is part Dutch, but I’m an Eastern European mutt, Russian, Latvian, Polish, German, Austrian, & French, and that’s just my Mom’s side. I add Scottish, Irish, Greek, Spanish, English & Cherokee. Huge mutt, that’s me!

    Reply

  11. Emmy Jo
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 19:36:23

    My vote goes for Penelope Saskia Violet as well. The first two seem a bit too tame for you.

    Reply

  12. Lola
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 20:30:47

    Well, for us, anyway. Tame is me, outrageous is him. šŸ˜€ I think you’re right though, Penelope Saskia Violet is very ‘us” and is going on the list, if I didn’t already!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

