Bruno Redux

Reinspired by Verity’s cousin,   Bruno has resurfaced on my lists. I had discussed him more in depth earlier: Bruno Revisited.

And confessed my favorite combo was Bruno Henry Valentin. Well, I still like it but am rethinking the combo. I have a dozen  or more combos that I’m polling today. But here are the ones  that appeal to us most:

 

Bruno Edward Rafael
Bruno Xavier John
Bruno August Edward
Bruno Arthur George
Bruno Neville John
Bruno Francis John
Bruno Magnus Rafael
Bruno Rohan James
Bruno Arthur Jude

Anything there stand out more than Bruno Henry Valentin?  

 

I really like his warm, fuzzy feel. And do think he fits in the family. Not only is he a related family surname ( My Stepmom), but he gives off a “big” vibe. My boys are 6’2″ and 6’1 respectively and probably weigh between 175 and 200.  (probably: I haven’t weighed them myself since they were 12 and haven’t accompanied them to the doctors since they were 19).  So yes, Bruno fits. He’d even fit when little, Bruno feels solid, doesn’t he? All my kids are solid. The sort that knock you down at 2 if you’re not braced when they run at you for a hug. Josie knocked me over twice before I remembered that little gem!  The boys used to do it all the time, and that was a bit worse, because they’d hit me together for a hug.  Double whammy! 😀 

I know there’s folks out there who just don’t like Bruno but I like that, actually. Means a lot of people won’t be using him! I just checked his rankings, and found Bruno’s charted between 900 & 700 since 2000. Before that, he bounced on & off the charts between 1968 and 1999, but mostly off. Prior to 1968, the only year he wasn’t on was 1883! So I’m more than comfortable with Bruno.  

So, anything there that strikes you right or jumps out at you? We each have a favorite or two up there but wonder which one others might like?  As always, Thanks!  😀

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 21:08:28

    I think it’s really nice to include your stepmother’s name; it strikes me as akin to giving an adopted child family names. It says “Doesn’t matter how you got here, you’re part of the family now.”

    That said, I don’t care for Bruno too much, too brawny for my taste, but of your combos, I like Bruno Francis John (been digging Francis (Assisi) and John lately) and Bruno Edward Rafael. I feel the middles are a bit more delicate/soft, which balances the aggressive masculinity of Bruno.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 10:16:08

    Thanks Cat! That was sort of my intention. It might draw the family a bit closer. Her & Pop were only married four years before he died and it’s been a bit of an uphill struggle to keep her in the family loop. I think she feels lonely. I’m also thinking something like this may help. And he agrees, it’s a great way to tuck her into the tree. She may or may not approve but yeah, I think it’s worth trying, anyway. Bruno Edward Rafael is my favorite, Bruno Rohan James is his. I feel Bruno Edward Rafael is going to end up on top, he’s just so respectable and smoothly charming!

    Bruno is brawny, wothout a doubt but that suits me just fine, he’ll fit right in with Leo & Simon! They’re both “big” boys! Tower over Pop & I. They got bigger than him in the 7th grade and bigger than me at 14. They’re still not bigger than my kid brother (6’7″) but they’re definitely up there, over 6′!

    Reply

  3. esmesqualor
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 14:51:02

    I love Bruno, especially as it’s the name of the protagonist in The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. I must admit I haven’t read it or seen the film adaption yet, but I must get round to that! Have you heard of it at all?
    I think I’d go with your favourite, Edward Rafael. He feels handsome!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 15:26:49

    I’ve heard of it, but not read or seen, yet. Must look into that before the new Sasha Baron Cohen lousy movie comes out. Very cool, must remember “The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas”

    Yep, must update the boys list now, Bruno Edward Rafael is definitely going on!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

