Ottilie, again

I’m still loving Ottilie. Ottoline’s still hanging around in my head, but not on the list anymore. Ottilie’s a touch more mainstream in that searches will pull up  a good number of Ottilies, Ottoline mostly pulls up Morrell.

 

Ottilie Alice Mehitabel has been my lushest  Tillie combo to date but I wanted to try out a few others that also appeal, humor me, please? 🙂  Here:

Ottilie Alice Valentine – Valentine for Pop.

Ottilie Alice Godeleve – I just adore medieval Godeleve.

Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – was G.Grandma’s first middle, Maud followed.

Ottilie Alice Celandine – Celandine’s just so pretty!

Ottilie Alice Gwendolen – I like Gwendolen’s lush but familiar feel. Not as much as the previous ones  but enough to include her.

Ottilie Alice Celestine – not sure about the repeating sounds but I love Celestine’s meaning  “of the sky, heavenly”. Beautiful, no?

and the last, but not least,

Ottilie Alice Lavender – Pretty, pretty, pretty!     😀

 

Anything there appeal more than Ottilie Alice Mehitabel?  Feel like selling it to me? 😉  I’ll take anything!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 20:34:23

    I like Ottilie Alice Ghislaine. Ghislaine really appeals here — it sounds great and I like that it honors your great-grandmother.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:26:31

    Thanks, Emmy Jo! You know, I really do like the family link. But I wonder, should I really honor the same great grandmother by using one of her more obscure names on each of my girls? I mean, how weird is that? Maud just feels more mainstream to me (yeah, I know that sounds a bit odd…) 😀

    Reply

  3. JNE
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:29:20

    I second Emmy Jo’s pick of Ghislaine, but really like Mehitabel still. Lavender is pretty, as you say, but it’s a lot of lacy, flowery, frilly for my tastes in this case.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Feb 08, 2009 @ 21:54:21

      Thanks Jade! You guys might be onto something. If neither of you think using the same woman to honor two different girls, then maybe I shouldn’t either? I have to go stew on this awhile. Hmmm.

      Reply

  4. chaneltara
    Feb 08, 2009 @ 22:54:20

    I really like your original combo the best, Mehitabel goes great with Ottilie Alice, very quaint. But I also really like the Celandine and Ghislaine combos. Celandine is really fantastical in this combo! I see nothing wrong with using the same namesake for two children, if she was worth having two namesakes it’s all great. I’ve thought about doing that too. My grandmother was Leona Anne, I’ve thought about using both names.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 09:16:06

    She was a pretty awesome lady. It just feels weird to me, honoring is usually singular in my family. One person per, you know? I suppose I’ll have to really roll both Ottilie Alice Mehitabel & Ottilie Alice Ghislaine around in my head for a while, see which one rises to the top. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Cat
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 16:08:46

    GHISLAINE MAKES HER TRIUMPHANT RETURN!

    Ghislaine Ghislaine Ghislaine.

    If you couldn’t tell…Alice Ghislaine all the way.

    I also love Lavender and Celestine. Lavender has a namesake from Matilda, and Celestine is just so pretty!

    But…Ghislaine.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 16:43:55

    Yep, she won, all right. Family interested him more than lush sound. I miss Mehitabel but am happy with Ghislaine, and then some! Time to go update the girls again. 😀

    Reply

  8. appellationmountain
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 20:39:34

    I was going to vote for Ghislaine, too! I’m glad she won. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 13:47:25

    😀 Thanks Verity!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

