Penelope?

I had thought about Penelope a good while ago but she came back late last night (I don’t know what set it off) and I thought I’d try her out bit. I came up with a double handful of combos with a bit of help, but these are my favorites.  What do you think of these?:

Penelope Frances Petronel
Penelope Saffron Blythe
Penelope Violet Fay
Penelope Oona Marigold
Penelope Sibyl Jane
Penelope Violet June
Penelope Iris Valentina

I don’t know exactly which nickname I’d choose for Penelope, Poppy? Penny? Nell? I’ve seen Lola tossed around for Penelope online, but I couldn’t use that, that’s me! Nell, most likely, or Poppy. Penny still screams 60’s, it’s all “Space Family Robinson” to me.

Penelope’s not my usual style, she’s a bit light & breezy for me. But she does intrigue me and I’m a little smitten. Might just be a crush though. *shrug* It’s still fun to play around! So, so any of those up there do anything for you,  shine in any particular way? I’d love to hear thoughts on Penelope!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. esmesqualor
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 15:49:13

    I LOVE Penelope. It’s quite disturbing just how much, actually. And Jospehine & Penelope make just about the sweetest pair of sisters I ever did see! As for nicknames, I’d probably go for Poppy, but their really is a great range of them. And I’ve seen you state on other blogs that you use a variety of nicknames for Josephine, so it could be quite acceptable for a little Penelope of yours to do the same. Whilst I yet again like pretty much all of your combinations, Penelope Violet Jane catches my eye. And I adore Blythe!

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 16:44:18

    Penelope! I freakin love Penelope. I think it’s nice and breezy while still having substance. I can’t think of a dour Penelope. I love all the nicknames, myself. I could very easily see you with a Poppy, though.

    I love Violet June and Iris Valentina; all match Penelope’s blue very beautifully. Of course, that’s just me.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 19:10:54

    Thanks guys! I love the simplicity of Penelope Violet June, He prefers Penelope Saffron Blythe. Saffron would be the only honoring name there but I have to admit I like her too. Penelope Oona Marigold absolutely thrills me, too and of course I’m still looking for a place for Frances. If Mom hadn’t made me promise not to, and if I didn’t mind repeating the family (Josephine was my Mom, Frances’ oldest sister), I’d just suck it up and use Frances as a first name. *shrug* oh well.

    Reply

  4. Eva
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 13:50:03

    I love Penelope! Very cute. It also has an interesting history.

    My favorites are Penelope Oona Marigold and Penelope Violet June. Both are fabulous!

    I love both Poppy and Nell as nicknames. Others I can come up with are: Nellie, Elle, Ellie, and Pen. I guess Pippa, Polly, Pip, Piper, and Pippi could work too.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Feb 07, 2009 @ 14:53:48

    Ooh, I love Penelope Oona Marigold! *sigh* Penelope Daisy Kathleen won for now, but I’m having issues with Penelope Daisy, as they end the same. Maybe Penelope Saffron Blythe or simple Penelope Violet June. That’s beginning to appeal quite a bit, simple over froufy, if that makes any sense.

    Reply

  6. Smoky
    Feb 15, 2009 @ 20:38:38

    Penelope Violet Fay is darling! As for a nickname, I’d use Ellie. I cannot stand Poppy!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Feb 15, 2009 @ 20:52:49

      Funny Smoky, Ellie’s all big ol’ elephant to me! I much prefer Poppy. But would most likely use Nell because I heartily dislike Penny! 🙂

      Thanks for the vote for Penelope Violet Fay! Check back tomorrow for anothe shot at Penelope!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

