Tallulah

Yep, Tallulah. I’ve toyed with her before, she was my Grandpop’s mom. And I love her loose and funky sound. I never knew her, but I have cousins who did and would remember her for my kids, which is kind of nice.  She came up yesterday as an alternative to Tullia by the lovely Melissa2 on the Nameberry boards. And I was immediately intrigued.  Intrigued to the point that I was coming up with combos last night while watching re-runs of Star Trek (yeah, we have the whole run on DVD) ! I’m quite happy with a few of these, wanna see? 🙂

 

Tallulah Poppy Frances
Tallulah Daisy Kathleen
Tallulah Viola June
Tallulah Alice Marigold
Tallulah Sophie Plum
Tallulah Katharine Violet
Tallulah Margery Violet
Tallulah Ivy Isobel
Tallulah Violet Irene
Tallulah Catherine Plum

Like I said, I’m fond of a few of these. I’m not saying which few now. maybe later!

What do you think of Tallulah? Like her or not? Too weird with Josephine? Tell me!  😀

 

 As always, Thanks!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 11:08:08

    I’m a big Tallulah fan – and I love all the Lu- nicknames.

    I usually love your combos, but these are especially appealing. I think I’d put Tallulah Ivy Isobel #1 and Tallulah Catherine Plum #2.

    As for Josephine/Tallulah as a sibset? Hmmm … it’s not the most obvious pair that you’ve suggested. But I don’t think it is unworkable. What would use as a nn?

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 11:18:02

    Thanks Verity! Probably Lulu, because that’s where my head goes first ta-LU-La. Maybe Lula even. She was on my lists ages ago but somehow she slid off. I’m liking Tallulah Poppy Frances, Tallulah Ivy Isobel, Tallulah Daisy Kathleen & Tallulah Margery Violet, most myself. He’s a “whatever” wth Tallulah right now. Lulu might make him warm up. The Fifi potential of Josephine is what won him over to her name, so maybe Lulu will help.

    Reply

  3. esmesqualor
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 13:43:52

    For a while, I considered Tallulah a pushy stage-mum name- much too flouncy. But, gradually, I have been coming round to the idea, and really seeing the beauty of her. I like her even more now my sister has informed me she was a Native American name meaning ‘leaping water’. Supposedly, they often gave names based on things they saw before, during or after the birth, so I suppose little Tallulah’s mum spotted a waterfall on her way to deliver!
    Anyhow, I love all of your combinations, as always, but if someone held a gun to my head and ordered me to choose a favourite (unlikely, but not impossible) I would have to say Poppy Frances. Love the juxtaposition of quirky Poppy next to old lady cool Frances.
    Oh, and by the way, I have commented here before under my own name, but now I have my own blog I’m using a pseudonym. Sorry for the confusion, but at least it will clear up the confusion between the other girl who sometimes comments here and I, since I go by a different name now!
    Whew, that was rather long. Sorry about that!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 13:52:28

    s’ok, You’re the first Emma, right? Give me your blog, I’ll add it to my blogroll! Tallulah Poppy Frances is easily my favorite of the bunch too. Poppies mean something to me and Frances was my Mom. I’ve been looking for a place for Frances again. Not up front, she forbade me that but I figure, middle can’t hurt. Right? 🙂

    Reply

  5. Eva
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 15:27:16

    Hi, I found your blog through Emmy Jo!

    I was actually just thinking about Tallulah last night too. She’s soft and flowing, and spunky at the same time. Very melodious.

    I love some of the combos you came up with. My favorites are:
    Tallulah Viola June
    Tallulah Alice Marigold
    Tallulah Katharine Violet
    Tallulah Ivy Isobel.

    I think Tallulah Alice Marigold is absolutely amazing. I actually have the combo Alice Marigold/Alice Magnolia on my own list! I love how flower names can freshen an old fashioned name. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 15:38:45

    🙂 Welcome Eva, Emmy Jo’s a doll, always sending people my way! Funny, Alice Marigold is an old pairing for me, she used to be in Ottoline Alice Marigold. But I’ve given up on Ottoline. I just love Alice Marigold and would be thrilled to see someone use that!

    Reply

  7. esmesqualor
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:13:08

    Oh, thank you so much! I would do the same, but I don’t know how! Perhaps you could leave a message here explaining? Anyhow, this is it; http://namingacrossthepond.wordpress.com/
    And please excuse the fact it is littered with spelling and grammatical mistakes. I did plan to proof-read, but that was so tiresome I just gave up!

    Reply

  8. esmesqualor
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 18:30:10

    Aha! No need for an explanation now, I’ve figured it out!

    Reply

  9. Emma
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 01:23:06

    Actually I am the first Emma! I was wondering about the name confusion. I should introduce myself. I am Emma, a freshman college student in Nashville. I was blaaarg/Octavia/Tippins on BTN for ages and then I left in a bored huff. Now I mostly satiate myself with the more interesting name blogs I find, and my own (which is very personal and not exactly reader-friendly; you can check it out if you like but I will not be at all offended if you do not blogroll it; namerubbish.livejournal.com) (it is a little wordy lately)

    anyway. I go on and off Tallulah; I thought it was a “freaking stupid” name for ages, and then it was brought up that I was quasi-related to a sibset of young children called Jasper, Colin, and Tallulah. All 3 names started growing on me after that because I thought they complemented each other so well, and Tallie and Lulu became two of my favorite sounds.

    It is very new, though. And it’s strange in the sibset, next to Josephine; it makes you look at Josephine differently, I suppose. Fifi and Lulu are – I really like them. “Poodle names,” proclaims the general public! I think they’re the best, and especially together. Of course we are not necessarily discussing usability, but that is a srsly fun sisterset.

    Tallulah Poppy Frances seems a little hyper to me; every name is kind of overflowing with spunk. Some people get a quiet, reserved vibe from Frances; I get *spunk!*. Tallulah Daisy Kathleen is IMO the most successful. New-quirky Tallulah, old-quirky Daisy, sweet but brisk clean 50’s Kathleen. I also really like Tallulah Katharine Violet and Tallulah Catherine Plum, though maybe something about the cath/kath names dissatisfies me next to T.? Alice Marigold is fine, too, very golden and joyful and complementary of celebratory Tallulah. And I like the initials.

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 08:56:33

    My goodness, I get all the icons confused (that’s how I visually seperate everyone, by icon color)!I’ve got you straight now, you’re orange, she’s green! 🙂

    I think I’ve seen your blog, the link showed up in my incoming and I followed it out. You blather (in a good way!) even more than I do, but it’s a most fun read. I won’t blogroll you unless you want me to, I think you’re quite entertaining, myself and not nearly as nasty as some can be.

    I agree TPF is a bit hyper, but that suits my monkey kids perfectly. Tallulah Daisy Kathleen is definitely my backup combo. Daisies were both my Grandmom’s & Mom’s favorite wildflower (the whole family’s flower mad) and Kathleen’s my sister. Catherine’s a cousin, Katharine I just love but she’s a bit off with Tallulah, too classic or something odd like that, can’t put my finger n it exactly.

    Lulu as a nickname (or Lula) fits with Fifi (dog names don’t bother me any, it’s diseases that give me fits), Josie, Posie or even the Poppy that I’m slowly phasing out, I think Poppy would make a fine nickname for Pomeline which would go with Josephine too.

    Reply

  11. chaneltara
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 23:47:24

    Ooh, Tallulah! An old fav of mine. I love your combos, you balance them out so well! My favorites are Tallulah Poppy Frances, Tallulah Daisy Kathleen, and Tallulah Alice Marigold. I love how happy Tallulah Poppy Frances is, I love the sweetness of Tallulah Alice Marigold (I’m in love with Marigold), and my favorite is Tallulah Daisy Kathleen. I adore the Irish sweetness if Kathleen (so much I named my little niece that!), and Daisy is just so great at balancing the bubbly Tallulah and the sweet Kathleen. Lulu is adorable, and the nickname I would use, though I think Lola is adorable and not too much of a stretch.

    Reply

  12. Lola
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 13:37:18

    Yes, but Chanel, *I’m* Lola! I couldn’t in good conscience use Lola on a daughter. It’s been mine for far too long. Tallulah Poppy Frances, Tallulah Daisy Kathleen or Tallulah Oona Marigold are what have made the cut. Now I have to figure out which one I like best! 🙂

    Reply

  13. chaneltara
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 13:43:45

    I love all three Tallulah combos, and I meant Lola would work for *me* to use as a nickname, I know you’re Lola! I love Lola as a nickname, and couldn’t find my fav. Lola name! You have a cute name…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

