Cosmo, Cleo & Similar

I’ve been thinking, I love Cosmo and Cleo. So what else is like them, vibe wise. So, trolling though my lists, here;s what I’ve come up with, both boy & girl.  In the interest of “I like them but want something different” here they are:

 

Boys:
Tycho, Theophilus, Dmitri, Elias, Augustus, Romeo, Ezra, Galen, Ulysses, Philo, Titus, Alexander, Alistair, Silvio, Jethro, Clement, Leonardo, Angelo, Carmine, Bruno, Theron, Benedict, Pascal, Leander, Florian, Ignatius, Simeon.

Girls:
Isadora, Violetta, Zelda, Rosario, Alice, Ariadne, Xanthe, Danae, Valentina, Salome, Apollonia, Clementine, Tallulah, Drucilla, Portia, Beatrix, Scarlett, Sidony, Imogen, Ophelia, Oona.

 

What do you think? Agree, disagree? Want to add some? Write some off? Let me know, I’d love to hear from you all!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iolanthe
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 12:07:01

    i LOVE cosmo (and cosmas)! cleo is great, too.
    for brothers i like cosmo/cosmas and quintus, cajus, justus/justin/justinian or flora, junia and lilia for girls. middle names could be amandus, timoteus and felicitas.
    philo is great, too. isadora is one of my favourites (as a middle name), salome has a great meaning and ophelia is a lovely middle name.

    other similar names i like: corvin, rufus, vitus, aeneas, valerian, laurin, aurel, livius, floris, fidelis, agavus, alvaro, tiberius, vic(c)o, phineas or phileas, fe(o)dor, micah, alvin, ilias, gero, cajetan, silvester

    stella, vita, nova, alva, thalia, dalia, nike, leontine, iduna, florentine, rowena, liora, livia, nuria, philippa, philomena, sunniva

    great new theme, by the way 😉

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 12:43:37

    Thanks Iolanthe! Rufus is our #1 boy name right now, I keep saying I could happily name a boy James Tiberius (yes, I’m a thorough Geek). Corvin makes me think of “Underworld” 🙂 and I adore all the Fidle- names, sadly, Castro’s ruined all of them. Maybe a generation after he’s gone but not even now that he’s dying.

    I have a lot of the others you listed on other lists but not with these. Sunniva’s gorgeous! But Nike, Vita, Nova & Feo are out because they remind me of other things than people: Shoes, food & cars. (and Teo’s an Uncle of mine…).

    Thansk for stopping by, Glad you like the new theme! 😀

    Reply

  3. iolanthe
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 13:01:30

    rufus reminds me of rufus beck (a german actor) and “rufen” (to call), but besides that he’s great.
    i know nike-shoes but what are nova-cars and vita-food? never heard of them…

    i really like the theme, i have the same since several months 😉

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 13:09:50

    Glad to hear you like Rufus! I find I get a bit of resistance here; seems a lot of Yanks see Rufus as a dog name. Doesn’t bother me but it does sadden me a bit.
    Nova is an old Chevy here in the States. Vita’s a brand of creamed herring (digusting things) that my Pop loved to snack on. Gives me the willies just thinking about it!
    Nice to see a non Yank posting here, Makes me wish I spoke a bit more than ‘Hello’ & ‘Where is the train station?” in several languages. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Cleo
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 15:37:23

    Just had to comment on this aswell, Cosmo is what I want to call a son if I have one! I love italian names, but I love your style too, I hate popular names. And I’ve heard of hardly any Cleos or Cosmos over here in London. Twins called Cosmo and Cleo are most definately going to be cool when they grow up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

