Agatha Violet

Still really liking Agatha and toying with more combos. Agatha Violet Alice is the standard bearer, for now. But still thinking:

Agatha Violet Jane
Agatha Violet Isabel
Agatha Cecily Violet
Agatha Violet Frances/Agatha Frances Violet (Can’t decide which way I like this one, AFV so far)
and
Agatha Violet Maud – I love the colors but maybe Maud is too heavy with only Violet to lighten this combo up?

 

Obviously I’m not entirely settled on Agatha Violet Alice. I mean I could live with her but she doesn’t sing, you know? Sometimes it just doesn’t happen.  Anyone else have any thoughts on Agatha? I’d love to hear them!

 

Cat prompted me to finally do it. I’d been thinking of changing my theme, what do you think?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 15:33:24

    I was going to say: Whoa, new theme! I like it, especially the name of the blog on the right, don’t ask me why. Looks professional.

    Agatha Violet is stunning together, really. Very Victorian/literary feeling. They’re both purple, too, but complimentary shades.

    My favorite is A. V. Jane, just because it keeps up the bustle and prim feeling. Thing is, it’s playful, not prim, because we’re in modern times. It’s fantastic, really. Second would be Agatha Cecily Violet, because it is light and fluffy with a good bit of backbone. I also like Frances, but the clay red-orange color is messing with my head. It’s fine, sound-wise. Isabel sounds very medieval in there, I think. There’s not really a loser in the bunch!

    Unfortunately, I think Maud is too heavy here. Agatha and Maud can’t go together too much, I think.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 15:39:12

    I thought so (about Maud, that is). Thanks, Cat! Yeah, I think Agatha Violet Jane is probably the keeper here, unless my brain turns around and finds something spectacular.

    Reply

  3. Lydia
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 17:24:15

    I like the theme–although I normally hate change, this is a good one. It’s so BRIGHT though! Guess I’m ust used to the black. 😛

    I absolutely love the name Agatha and I don’t care if no one else seems to. Glad to have found out that you like her too! She reminds me of Agatha Christie, one of my favorite authors. The nickname Aggie is pure cuteness for a little girl.

    My favorite is Agatha Cecily Violet. Sounds very sophisticated and vaguely British to me. I like Agatha Violet Jane too. Have you considered Agatha Violet Cecily?

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 17:39:34

    Lydia, Thanks! it is bright, but I thought it was a) time for a change, I’ve had thesame theme for 3 months asn b) the font is a bit bigger and it’s easier to actually read now. Which is a grand thing.

    I did consider Agatha Violet Cecily but the flow is off for me, So I flipped it, and sure enough, the flow improved. Hence the way it is. I do think I’m going to stick with Agatha Violet Jane, it’s simple enough to not detract form Agatha and very pretty. Honors too, Jane was my Mom’s middle name (well, the first one anyway).

    Reply

  5. chaneltara
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 01:11:21

    It’s not a popular choice, but I love Agatha. It’s like Martha for me, completely sweet and fresh, just can’t see what people are talking about when they say old or fusty.
    I love Agatha Violet Jane, it just seems so regal and literary. My other favorite is Agatha Cecily Violet, Cecily really complements Agatha, adds some youthfulness to the combo. I actually flirted with the combo Agatha Clementine Esmé for a while, which is funny since your previous post was a Clementine one.
    I really like Maud, though the Agatha Violet Maud is too heavy. I think Agatha Clementine Maud be nice though. Clementine really seems to lighten up the combo in a way that Violet doesn’t.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 08:44:30

    Thanks Chanel. 🙂 He’s decided he’d rather Cecily up front, so it’s either Cecily Pandora Jane or Cecily Agatha Violet right now, and I’m still leaning heavily for CPJ, for his mom. Agatha Violet Jane is it, I’m fairly certain. Her upright solidness and pretty feel are winners for me!

    Reply

  7. Channelle
    Jan 30, 2009 @ 12:40:48

    Both Cecily Pandora Jane and Cecily Agatha Violet are wonderful, I love them both, I really love what Cecily does to Agatha, and Pandora Jane is cute as a button.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

