Cleo/Clio again

It’s down to figuring out which way to spell Cleo/Clio.

Cleo Portia Rupinder or Clio Portia Rupinder?

Yep, Cleo/Clio Portia is staying as is (I love them together!)Β  and I am completely enamoured of Rupinder here and refuse to consider anything else. πŸ™‚ But which way is more appealing: Cleo or Clio? What do you say?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vagueperson
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 18:39:49

    is Portia pronounced like Porche or is each vowel enunciated separately?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 27, 2009 @ 19:07:03

      Portia is like Porche, indeed. But this way, it’s Shakesperean, not automotive. now you see why it’s in the middle! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Emma
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 19:57:27

    Myself, I much prefer Clio; I think it looks a lot cleaner and love the connection to the muse, where Cleo feels kind of clunky and almost ditzy. But then again, I don’t feel like family members or friends using names makes them unusable, and I know a lot of people do.

    FWIW my favorite combo of yours was Clio Laetitia Plum, I’m almost tempted to steal it πŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 20:39:26

    I prefer the Clio spelling (like the Muse). She was on my list for a while. Actually, it was my “cool names for twins” list, and she appeared alongside Thalia. Two little-heard Greek Muse names that sound totally workable today.

    I can see why you would hesitate to use the same spelling as Verity/Abby (which are we supposed to call her?). But when it comes down to it, you should pick the spelling you like best.

    Reply

  4. appellationmountain
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 20:48:18

    LOL, Emmy Jo! I don’t know which to answer to these days. πŸ™‚

    Funny, Portia was on my short list before we settled on The Great Naming Compromise. Octavia, too, but only if she was born in August – or an octuplet. :0

    After 3.5 months of having a Clio, I’ll say this – most people want to spell it Cleo. You have to have a serious liberal arts background to rattle off the nine muses. Unfortunately, those are in short supply!

    Still, everyone that I polled always agreed with Emma and Emmy Jo – Clio seems more like a formal name.

    Do you remember you once suggested Cleo as a nickname for Clementine? That idea has stayed with me … I think it is a lovely thought!

    Reply

  5. Cat
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 23:28:22

    Clio, definitely. More of a full name and more refined looking.

    Reply

  6. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 05:33:03

    I’ll have to be the odd one out here. My inclination was towards Cleo since it is strongly reminiscent of Cleopatra. There’s also the magazine connection of course which isn’t necessarily a bad thing: it sounds chic. I wouldn’t have thought ditzy. When I see Clio with an β€œi”, I want to sort of rush through it. With Cleo, the enunciation is obvious, but in Clio, the li kind of gets blended together (visually) for me.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 09:38:09

    Thanks all! Emma, feel free to swipe Clio Laetitia Plum, I difintely won’t be using her! She’s all yours!
    Emmy Jo, Clio & Thalia would be stunning twins and no one but us completel freaks would get the link! πŸ˜† Love that! I just call her Verity, since I only know her online and that’s how she is in my head. πŸ™‚
    Verity, I do recall that, I think I will stick with Clementine. She’s more of a match with Josephine and I could get my beloved Cleo (I really do prefer the ‘e’ version for me) from that. Look for more Clementine soon!

    Cat, you’re absolutely right, Clio is more of a full name than Cleo. More refined too. πŸ™‚ I think Clio Portia Rupinder is staying on the wildcard list and will refocus on Clementine, nn Cleo.

    How’s that sit with you, Lachlan? πŸ˜‰ Clio as a full name, Cleo as a nickname for Clementine?

    Reply

  8. vagueperson
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 16:59:34

    The reason I asked about Portia is because I have encountered multiple children where I work (Southside Chicago) who have the name Porsche, and I don’t think it’s very Shakespearean.

    As far as Cleo/Clio, I definitely of think Cleo as short for Cleopatra, but Clio makes me think of PDA’s or Cars – it seems very new, whereas Cleo has an older feel (or at least older connection for me).

    Reply

  9. vagueperson
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 17:06:36

    Maybe this isn’t the right place to ask this, but I’m curious about seeing three-name combinations on some of these naming blogs. I can only assume that you’re finding the best all around match instead of working within the confines of a fixed last name.
    I am simply a Papa to be, so it seems strange to see three-name combinations floating without that confine.

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 17:35:29

    You’re right, Porche isn’t Shakesperean, it’s the car. Portia is Shakespear: “Merchant of Venice” and “Julius Caesar” both. This is definitely why Portia’s in the middle!

    It’s okay, Vague. I work mine with the surname, offline and post them without it for privacy, to a degree. I’ve mentioned it before here and will give these clues: it’s a three syllabel Scottish Mac- name that most recently has been all vogue for girls. When I had my daughter, she didn’t have a name for the first about 24 hours and they put our surname on the bassinet. Every third person said “Oh, how cute!” and there was me, with gritted teeth “that’s her last name!”. It’s funny now but was rather frustrating then.
    So yes, the surname is worked in, just not posted. All of these so far, sound pretty awesome with mine. πŸ™‚ Nice to see a guy out and about, names seem to be the province of the female of the species. When’s your sprog due? And, feel free to email me (address at right) if you’ve got a question you feel funny asking again, I swear, I don’t bite.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

