A Handful of Oddballs

Frida/Frieda, Vashti, Adele, Rowena, Zora, Louisa & Gwendolen/Gwendolyn. All of these are names that appeal to me on some level but will never be used for one reason or another.

Frida/Frieda, Adele, Louisa & Zora because they’ve been vetoed by the other half. Vashti’s too exotic, Gwendolen/Gwendolyn is weird, I prefer the -en ending, it’s instinctively the -yn spelling. So rules it out.

Do you have names you’d admire but can’t use, for whatever reason? I’d love to see some of them!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 14:54:33

    I can’t use Eleanor because it won’t work with my 3 syllable, ends in “-ner” last name. It would be my first choice for sure!

    My husband has vetoed Rose, which would be my next favorite choice. Sigh. I’m not done trying to change his mind, however. 🙂

    I’m so happy that you like Louisa, Lola! It’s currently number one on my list. You have such terrific, sophisticated taste in names.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 16:25:56

    I’ve liked Louisa since I was 7. I wanted to be called Louisa for a time about then, too. 😉 If Louisa’s #1 on your list, I’d say your taste is pretty awesome too. Sublimely sophisticated, I’d say.

    Reply

  3. vagueperson
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 18:42:55

    I’ve liked some saints names that just seem way too weird. Thecla for a girl (or Thekla). It sounds meaty and strong, but it’s just a bit out there, I think.
    There are lots of mens names, such as Theophan or Moses that are either too Greek or too Jewish/Black.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 19:09:50

    In Moses’ case, he’s too Paltrow-Martin now, too. 😉 Thekla/Thecla would make a really awesome middle name, I think. Beats Rose in the middle, anyway!
    Nice to see a new face around here, Welcome Vagueperson!

    Reply

  5. Emmy Jo
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 20:35:44

    Gwendolen is still in my top 10. My husband has vetoed any alliterative names (and our last name starts with a G), but I refuse to take her off the list entirely.

    Let’s see… I do have a couple names I love that I probably won’t use because they’re just a bit too odd for most people’s taste. Isannah is one of them. Iolanthe and Persephone are others. I love Naomi, but I don’t feel like she belongs to me… does that make any sense? A daughter of mine could be a Miriam, I’d imagine, but never a Naomi.

    As far as boys’ names go, I wish I could still have Demetrius and Lysander on my list, but my husband has vetoed them both. Actually, he’s vetoed all boys’ names that end in “-us”, which is quite sad, because those are my favorite names. Oh, another name I love is Ashley (on a boy) — I think the reasons I can’t use it are rather obvious. I would love to use it as a middle name, though. My favorite combo is Frederick Ashley, but my last name starts with a G, and you can see how that would be rather unfortunate.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 28, 2009 @ 09:42:36

      Yes, I see what you mean. I’d love to use Vashti, thought about it with Josie but it’s just not “us” Vashti. Gorgeous, though. Aww, too bad about the -us enders. Maybe you could presuade him to put one in the middle? Frederick Ashley is handsome, awful about the last initial! On the bright side, monogrammed, he’d be FGA instead! If I could get away with Fritz for Frederick, I’d use Frederick myself, but no one would ever call him Fritz and I loathe Fred.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

