Willoughby

I am a reader of massive proportions. there is always a book near me, and my nose is frequently buried inside an open one. I’m used to reading while I eat, even. So if I’m not online, I’m reading. Even through movies, sometimes. Which drives him bananas. πŸ˜›

Which brings me back to Willoughby. I first stumbled upon Willoughby in Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series. Mr. Willoughby was a Chinaman who was an unwilling compatriot of Jamie’s when Claire goes back to find him after Bree is grown. Yeah, told you I was a voracious reader! And I recall more than 90% of what I read. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve picked up an interesting looking book, turned to the first page, read it and said” Oh, I remember how this one ends”! It stinks but means my library is huge. Between us we probably have close to 10,000 books. Everything from children’s stories to the most recent stuff.

Back to Willoughby, again. I just can’t keep focussed today easily. Sorry. I think Willoughby’s pretty snazzy. three syllable, bouncy and happy, like Barnaby and shortens to Will so very nicely. I like saying Willoughby in full too. I dig that happy feel. I like that you can only get Will out of Willoughby too, unless you go the Bee route (which feels rather feminine to me). I don’t like Liam much. I mean, not for my kid, it’s okay on other kids. Only Will. I like Will best and with little to no other option, Willoughby’s perfect!

I have no combos yet, still a Β bit down to be making things right now. But I will soon. What does everyone else think of Willoughby? Like him, Hate him, indifferent? Anything?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 16:29:17

    Lola, I’m really sorry about your baby. I know how much you want to have another. *hugs*

    As for Willoughby, it’s first and foremostly a surname, and then Willoughby from Sense and Sensibility, such a scoundrel! That doesn’t make it too appealing to me, personally, but you could do a lot worse as far as surnames go. There’s a nice intuitive nickname built in and the sound is pleasant.

    *hugs*

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 16:59:50

    Thanks Cat. This isn’t the first time this has happened. Happened last year too. I can still try again. πŸ™‚ (Says my brave face)
    I think Willoughby’s neat but Probably won’t use him myself, he is a bit too surnamey and would be middle name only if I did use him. That’s where they go, for me.

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 17:20:34

    Lola, I am seriously in love with Willoughby. It has a similar feel to me as Barnaby and Clarence/Clancy. With a very wearable Will to fall back on. It’s just so fun to say!!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 18:32:25

    Isn’t it? I think Willoughby’s grand! Not for me, but wow do I like him! I’d love to meet one. Hope somebody I know uses Willoughby!

    Reply

  5. Emmy Jo
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 19:55:00

    (Swoons)

    I love Willoughby. I immediately think “Sense and Sensibility” when I hear him, and though he is a scoundrel, he’s such a handsome, literary scoundrel!

    I discovered this weekend that my husband likes three-syllable Y-enders. (His two favorites are Jeremy and Timothy, which I think are rather bland.) I just asked him what he thinks of Willoughby and he made a face. Oh, well. Let’s hope we have all girls.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 09:07:06

    Oh, I like Timothy, it was my Grandpop’s middle name. I find it dashing and not bland but crystal clear. Show him my list of Y enders, see of anything else jumps out at him!

    Reply

  7. chaneltara
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 11:26:02

    Willoughby is really cute, very fun to say and very sweet sounding to me. I know this is horrible, but I kind of (a teeeeny bit) like Willoughby with the nickname Willow. And I usually hate Willow, especially on a girl. Will or Wills is cute too. I think it would make a dashing middle name…
    I’m also very sorry about your loss, I experienced the same thing about a year and a half ago now. It was very hard. I named her, it helped me. I have a little plaque with her name…”Leah Faith”.

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 11:36:00

    Willoughby as a middle, interesting thought. I’ll have to stew on that a while!

    I haven’t named yet, still thinking about that. I didn’t last time either. It’s just not me, I suppose. But thanks, I needed that. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

