Ronan

Something that just slipped past my radar the other day. Actually, the whole medieval name thing started again (although I’m still working on Opera names). Thanks Emmy Jo! 😀

Off her Medieval list my brain stuck Ronan Alaric Bede together. What do you think?  Haven’t mentioned anything to him, having a bad day here, am losing the baby. Only 9 weeks so it’s not seriously debilitating but it is sad. I’ve spent most of today in bed, just laying around watching movies. 

And thinking about Ronan. I think he’s pretty sharp and it makes me think of Ronan Hardiman & Ronan Keating. So it strikes me as creative but far from made up and still unusual.  Can I get any thoughts on Ronan? I really need to distract myself and since I love names, pregnant or not, I’m sticking with them. 

So, Ronan?  Anyone?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 19:51:15

    Lola — I’m so sorry to hear that!

    I commented on Ronan Alaric Bede on my blog, but I’ll comment on it here, too. It’s a great-sounding combo. The only concern is that all three names are relatively obscure. None of them are strange, though — they all sound like names that *could* be popular. And Ronan (the first name) is in the U.S. top 1000, so if little Ronan ends up wanting a more usual name, he really doesn’t have to reveal his middles.

    Of course, it also doesn’t use any of your family’s names, which is probably another drawback for you since you’ve established that precedent with your first three.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 09:10:50

    There’s the kicker… no family names. I could say Ronana’s for Richard, Alaric for the other Richard and Bede just because I like him, but that’s a bit too far to stretch even for me. (we do Katrina for Katharine, Xanthe for Golda, that kid of stretch all the time, but not usually me) So he’ll stay in wildcards, never know!

    Reply

  3. Lydia
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 22:59:04

    So sorry to hear about the baby, Lola! That’s really too bad! 😦

    I like Ronan, but wouldn’t use him. I wouldn’t want my son to blend in with the “two-syllable, ends in n” crowd. Most parents are afraid of their kid standing out; I’m deathly afraid of having him fit in! I do love his medieval feel, though. He’s more of a handsome minstrel than knight in shining armor to me, but hey, who doesn’t love a musician?

    I like Ronan Alaric Bede, but maybe he’s a bit overkill on the medieval thing, and, like you said, doesn’t honor anyone. I think it’s important to honor family members, especially if you’ve already done so with the other children. Just my two cents. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 09:26:32

    Thanks, Lydia. I’m dealing well, I think.
    I get the same feel, musician; from Ronan and I think that’s why I like him! it might be overkill but how many people know your middle name(s)? Maybe 30 people know mine. It’s definitely the honoring thing that has me thinking about leaving him on the wildcard list. Yeah, that’s where he’ll be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

