Maud, Mina, Edith, Clio, Zelda & Ottilie

I’m having fits. 🙂 Crazy, frothing fits. 😀 Toying with others that seem to fit more with Maud, who just may replace Cecily as my #1. Probably won’t because Cecily honors a bit more but still, the urge is very much there.
So I got to thinking, what else was like Maud?

 Digging through my  lists, I came up with  Mina, Edith, Clio/Cleo, Zelda & Ottilie. They all have the same vintage, more or less and all have that slightly musty, funky vibe I so adore.   Zelda’s combos are up in the air again: Zelda Ivy Blithe, Zelda Iris Grey or Zelda Coralie Blithe (I’m rather partial to Coralie). Today’s Poll #1

And Mina’s got a tossup: Mina Lucy Raphaela, Mina Lucy Tamerlaine, Mina Alice Clementine & Mina Alice Rosamonde.  With the Mina Alice Bluebell &  Mina Lucy Bluebell  tossed in for good measure. Today’s Poll #2.

 The others are:

Ottilie Alice Mehitabel (loving this right now)
Maud India Scarlett (My beloved)
Edith Esme Violetta – The middles honor big time)
Clio Laetitia Plum/Cleo Portia Isolde/Clio Laetitia Eleanora (I adore Cleo Portia &
 Clio Laetitia, the second middles just appeal broadly).

 Go vote in the Poll if you’re so inclined.  🙂

  Ottilie comes close to rivaling Maud’s combo for me, but only close. Nohing else really does, although I like them all  rather well. I could happily have 6 daughters named Maud, Mina, Edith, Clio/Cleo, Zelda  & Ottilie.  But I digress. Is there anything here that is better than Maud India Scarlett to anyone? Please let me know if there’s one in your eyes. I’d love for someone to try to talk me out of Maud India Scarlett!  

  

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 16:31:28

    Hi Lola. Your Mina combinations are lovely. Lucy Raphaela, Lucy Tamerlaine, Alice Clementine are all very appealing. As fro Clio/Cleo, I think Portia and Laetitia have good potential, but I still can’t bring myself around to Plum! I just hear ‘plump’. I like how Celo Portia Isolde looks written down, but I’m not sure I completely like the sound. Isolde is intriguing though. I think my vote is going to have to go with Mina Lucy Raphaela.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 17:14:21

    That’s pretty much what I did! I love her victorian feel. See, I can get beyond that, Plums are a favorite fruit around here. Cleo Portia Isolde doesn’t get me bogged down, but I say Isolde a bit differently than most: ih-sol-da. As the three syllable, the flow’s a bit better than you’d image. I just don’t know if it’s a bit too Operatic then. Maybe?

    Reply

  3. appellationmountain
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 19:01:21

    Gosh, the more I read your combos, the more I think you should have triplets. 🙂

    Still, Maud India Scarlet remains the one to beat. But your Edith and Ottilie combos are gorgeous, too – and you know I how I feel about Clio/Cleo!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 20:14:27

    Oh, thanks Verity! (where’s that blushing blinkie when you need it!) I agree, Maud’s still tops and if today’s any sort of indicator, Cecily’s moving to second place. I think Ottilie in this incarnation just may replace Ottoline. Ottilie is a bit more mainstream (I know, that’s rather an oxymoron) and is less a one woman name than Ottoline. Plus Mehitabel makes me swoon, she’s so lush.
    Maud, Clio & Ottilie would be the three, if I had to choose, not Mina, only because repeating initials drive me bananas!

    Reply

  5. Emmy Jo
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 22:06:30

    I’m still not crazy about Maud, but I LOVE Maud India Scarlett. As far as combos go, it’s tip-top.

    I like the dignity of Zelda Iris Grey, but I also like the light, airy feel of Zelda Coralie Blithe. (You really can’t get much airier than Coralie Blithe, can you?)

    Mina Alice Clementine is my favorite of your Mina combos. Interesting initials: she’d be M.A.C. Mac-.

    Edith Esme Violetta is so very musical. I just want to sing it. I’m not crazy about any of the names by themselves, though.

    What about Cleo Rosamonde Isolde?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 27, 2009 @ 09:13:03

      Thanks! I think Maud India Scarlett’s aces too. I hadn’t noticed Mina Alice Clementine’s initials at all! Funny, MAC MAC could be a nickname of sorts, if she was tomboyish. 🙂 I still think I like Mina Lucy Raphaela better. I just love that dark, gothic victorian feel of her.
      Cleo Rosamonde Isolde appelas visually but something’s off for me, flow? feel? I don’t know, gotta stew. Still loving Cleo Portia Rupinder. Awww, Edith Esme Violetta is one that really appeals, especially nnext to Josephine’s name. Edith doesn’t honor, but Esme’s for Esmeralda and Violetta can be for Violet, Esmeralda Violet’s a bit too colorful for me (even though green & purple is one of my favorite parings color wise) I don’t know if that would please her, so Esme Violetta stands and with starchy, proper Edith in front, the whole combo really comes together for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

