Winifred & Maud

My current infatuations on the girls side. I adore Maud and have for a while. She’s not so much an infatuation as a long term crush. I love her but don’t know how workable she is with the existing kids. Winfred’s a bit less long term. I’ve admired her for years but only recently have been brave enough to actually put her on the list.

I’ve been thinking of combos for Winifred and have pretty much decided on Winfred Esme as a first two. Esme for me honors Great Auntie Esmeralda, whose name I love but find a bit unwieldy with the scottish Mac- surname. So, my options are:
Winifred Esme Ruby
Winifred Esme Frances
and
Winifred Esme Valentine

 

 Maud has her combo, Maud India Scarlett. I absolutely love it. She sounds so lush.

I also had the rather Victorian/gothy Maud Coralie Alice for a while but much prefer Maud India Scarlett.

What do you think of Winifred & Maud? Their combos?  Winifred’s my #4, Maud’s my #3 right now.  Am I crazy for thinking of these two?  Tell me! 😀 

 

As always, Thanks for stopping by and speaking out!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 10:33:42

    I prefer Winifred with the sibset, but Maud works as well. I think Winifred Esme Valentine works best; 2 two syllable names don’t roll off the tongue for me. Frances would be the next choice, since it honors your Mum.

    Reply

  2. JNE
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 11:09:54

    I agree with Cat – Winifred Esme Valentine and then W E Frances. I like how they flow. Maud India Scarlett is lovely, but I do agree, it’s a little different from the rest of your children’s names… On the whole, I think Winifred works better with the siblings’ names. And it’s a great name too!

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 13:13:20

    Me too, I think she’s perfect, actually. And she honors, so it really is perfect. I love others a bit more, but Winifred’s climbing. 🙂

    I so love Maud and keep trying to fit her in somewhere. I like her best upfront, becuase she seems to drag down everything in front of her otherwise. Way back a year or so ago, I had Beatrix Allegra Maud and everyone hated her. I’ve tried Maud in a lot of places but she seems best right where I have her now. I agree she’s different from everything else on the list but I still find her most appealing, different or not.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 13:14:23

    Oh, and I think Winifred Esme Frances is definitely going to be it. She honors all the way ’round Like Josephine’s name does. I really like that! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 02:14:30

    Winifred is cute, not something I’m in love with at the time, but cute. I like Winifred Esmé Frances the best. Oh, and I just realized how much I like Maud, a lot. But, I just don’t care for India. I try to like it, but it reminds me of ink! I really do want to like it. The feel for Maud India Scarlett is very exotic to me, so while it’s not the feel I usually go for in names, it’s very appealing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

