Henrietta

I’ve been thinking about Henrietta again. I’ve liked her since I was little, honest. She was the dainty and well mannered Hippo on New Zoo Revue when I was a tiny thing obsessed with renaming myself on a daily basis. Funny though, my favorite thing to watch then was “The Magic Garden” with Carole & Paula and I never wanted either of their names! (But I still have a soft spot for those two, they’re still friends nearly 40 years later).

Anyway, back to Henrietta. I love her grand, almost stuffy manner and adore her many nicknames, Hattie, Hettie, Harry, Harriet, Etta, Ettie, Attie. And those are just the ones that I can think of at the moment, if I’ve forgotten one or more, enlighten me, please!

So, Henrietta. She’s quite a mouthful with the three syllable surname but then, Josephine’s no slouch there either. I love saying both names in full, I sing Josie’s out more often than you’d think. Henrietta would honor his Grandpop, Henry too, without me resorting to Henry, which I like but is far too popular for my liking. I’ll admire him on everyone else’s kids and send my Barnaby to play with them all! (well, that’s the thought now, anyway).

I like her frouf and her strength, a lovely blend of the two. I had a combo for her, Henrietta Ruby Lilias or Henrietta Lilias Ruby, couldn’t decide which way I preferred the middles. 

I also had these at one point or another:

Henrietta Xanthe Violet
Henrietta Leonie Pearl
Henrietta Ruby Valentina
Henrietta Carys Rosine
Henrietta Iris Elinor
Henrietta Lucy Elspeth
Henrietta Cecilia June
Henrietta Ottilie Violet
Henrietta Lucy Kathleen
Henrietta Alice Plum

 But I definitely prefer Henrietta Ruby Lilias/Henrietta Lilias Ruby over any of those (although Ottilie Violet makes me think, hmm…)  😀  I’m not sure Henrietta fits with Josephine overmuch but I do like it and am going to be re-ordering the girls list today, I think.   Off to stew over that!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 11:37:01

    Oh, I’ve always thought Henrietta and Josephine were divine siblings.
    By the way. 😛

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 13:37:41

    Thanks Emma. I still have to sell her though. I think H is his least favorite letter!

    Reply

  3. Kayt
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 00:07:24

    I totally love Henrietta. It was on my slightly longer list, but was crossed off because of my SIL’s abusive ex, Henry. It made me really sad. I think Henrietta works very nicely with Josephine. It has the same feel. I like Leo, Simon, Josie, and Hattie as a set a lot. I think Henrietta Alice June, Henrietta Alice Juliet, and Henrietta Ruby Valentina.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 10:08:38

    Thanks Kayt, I’m really going to have to sit down and have the “Henrietta” talk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

