Rupinder

Quick post right now.

This is an Indian name meaning “greatest beauty” that greatly appeals to me. I love her sound and her soft, red coloring too. I found something her shade of red and  wanted to know the general concensus on Rupinder’s usablity on a non-Indian. I don’t mean up-front, just deep in the middle, almost buried in third place deep. I know it’s a bit weird but I have Indian friends who think it’s a neat idea, and while I have no ties to the culture myself, I am comfortable within it and as mentioned, have friends who think it’s a neat idea. I’m just not sure how the non Indian community would look at it. So tell me, what do you think?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JNE
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 17:16:15

    Personally I don’t see why not… I have a family friend named Sunindiya and I absolutely love the name… it means sleep well or something along those lines… and while I hadn’t considered using that name, I could see it on a non-Indian baby. So, why not Rupinder?

    Reply

  2. appellationmountain
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 18:14:32

    In the middle spot, go for it. But I think it is very confusing to have a strongly ethnic first name that doesn’t match your background. Some Indian names – Priya, for example – might translate better.

    Still, I know what you mean. I love Jesminder – from Bend it Like Beckham. (Though I’m not sure how authentic it is – I’ve never found it in a baby name book!)

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 19:32:26

    Thanks JNE! nice to see I’m not alone with the Indian/Sikh name thing. I have loads of friends with names like these, maybe it’s just hearing them all the time that’s been rubbing off. I’d never use one as a first name, but in the middle, I figure why not?

    I have unofficial neices named Priya, Rani & Anjali! So the pretty simple ones are taken. 😦 Jesminder looks legit I wonder if they made it up for the movie? Jaswinder is the closest I’ve ever seen. I actually love her real name: Parminder. There’s something about the sound of Rupinder that makes me want to melt.

    I found Jesminder on a list od Sikh baby names for you: http://www.babynames.org.uk/sikh-baby-names-list.htm So maybe it is legit?

    Well, it’s either Cecily Pandora Jane or Cecily Frances Rupinder. Yes, it’s still floating between those two. Can’t decide for good one way or the other just yet.

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 00:33:39

    I completely understand. I’m mesmerized by the sound of Jaswinder, even though it’s completely different from any other girls’ name on my list.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 09:44:31

    Mesmerised is a grand word for it, Emmy Jo. I really need to think about how I’d feel if I couldn’t use it. I’m not getting another chance after this, It’s settled already. As is, I’ll be 60 when this one graduates from HS and that’s old enough for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

