Duking it out with the Boys

We’ve been arguing the top 3  boys for what seems like days. I really want Cosmo Valentin George (or maybe Cosmo George Valentin). He’d rather Barnaby Edward Rex, Rufus, where we’re still figuring out middles  or Remus Edward Xavier. 
 Cosmo’s got family significance for me,  as do Valentin & George. Barnaby’s just a love as is Remus. But both middles honor; one straighforward, one in a roundabout manner that would make my Mother proud.  With this last one I’d much rather go the family route that I’ve used before, whereas he’d rather break the mold and just go nuts with this last one. I think it’s as simple as he didn’t really get a whole lot of say with Leo or Simon. he was on the other side of the world when they were born and pretty much all he’d said was Nicolas or James (IIRC, anyway) and neither one have either in their names. Now, he loves their names and doesn’t say anything about being thwarted like that but it may be in the back of his head. 

I’ve been seeing Cosmo pop up in other people’s lists recently, three times in the last two weeks alone.  Right here is the most recent:   Chanel’s List

And it’s not mine, I swear, here:  Mine.  Cosmo’s not even on my list because while he was there, he got nothing but awful comments. I love him and am keeping him on the list no matter what anyone else says. Only he’s got the right to really bump him off the list. Or me. But you folks can at least say which you’d prefer overall, up front, and why or why not. I do try to take into accout popualr opinion even if it doesn’t seem that way. 😀 

 

 Just a quick word about nicknames since I’ve turned into a proliferate nicknamer with Josephine in the house!  Cosmo would probably get Coz about as often as he’d get Cosmo in full. Barnaby would get Barney, Bex or simply B while Remus would most likely be Remy  or Rex, for his initals at least once in awhile! Rufus is the only one on the list at the moment without an obvious nickname. I rather like that, it’s more like Leo & Simon, who have nicknames but none really from their names.

So, what do you think? I’d love to know! 

 

 As always, Thanks for stopping by! 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 15:04:18

    RUFUS RUFUS RUFUS! It’s awesome with the set and awesome all around and must be used! Cosmo’s my second choice but Rufus would be really spectacular. But you probably knew I’d say that. I think Rufus George Valentin works really well, just to stick it in the Cosmo combo.

    Also, you seem to be talking about naming an actual child more and more lately; got anything to tell us? 😉

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 15:10:19

    Yeah, I mentioned it over at NTB already… 8 weeks today! I can barely restrain myself long enough to type, all I wanna do is dance around!

    I’ve got Rufus combos over at BtN today, they’re more than halfway down the first page now, go pop over there, if you’re interested.

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 15:53:47

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHH! CONGRATS! *hugs* I really should start checking in on NTB more often, I’ve been sadly neglecting the board.

    Here’s hoping for a boring pregnancy!

    Reply

  4. JNE
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 17:09:57

    Congratulations!!!!

    I’m personally partial to Barnaby, but, you know, I’m a strong believer in going with what speaks to you – so if Cosmo is it (and I really like Cosmo too!), then that should be it!

    Congrats again! Yay!

    Reply

  5. appellationmountain
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 18:19:29

    Congratulations! That’s fabulous! I’ll dance with you. 🙂

    Let’s see …

    Leo, Simon, Josephine and Rufus
    Leo, Simon, Josephine and Barnaby
    Leo, Simon, Josephine and Remus
    Leo, Simon, Josephine and Cosmo

    I think that the best sibsets are either Leo, Simon, Josephine & Rufus or L, S, J and Remus/Remy.

    Then again, Leo and Simon are almost grown, right? So if you only match Josephine, I’d vote for Josephine and Barnaby.

    That doesn’t help, does it?!

    I guess I’m still liking Rufus or Remus. I think they make for a better set.

    What great news!

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 18:26:57

    Lola, congratulations! I sort of thought you were but didn’t like to ask! Anyway I can only echo JNE’s comments. Barnaby is my favourite but then again I do think Rufus would be darling with the sibling set. All things said and done though, you should go with your gut.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 19:45:51

    Verity, the boys are grown, they’ll be 23 this July and haven’t lived at home for 3 years now. So it is primarily Josephine I’m matching with (for lack of a better term). I think it’s going to come down to Cosmo, Remus/Remy & Barnaby but then, i’m just reading the lay of the land & my gut right now. It’s far too early to decide but I want to have something solid in the works before much longer.

    Thanks to all of you! We’ve been trying so long to have this one that I feel very blessed indeed and can’t wait until the end of August!

    Reply

  8. Kayt
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 01:38:05

    Congrats, Lola! I think Barnaby or Rufus are my personal favorites. They’re both spunky and cool, and sound nice with all three of your children’s names. I think Roo is a darling nickname for Rufus, BTW. I think Barnaby Edward Rex is really hip sounding, and I love Bex as a nickname. It’s really cool sounding, and sound right at home with Leo, Simon, and Josephine.

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 09:24:58

    Thanks Kayt! There’s a chalkboard in the kitchen with all these names on it and we keep erasing them and re-writing them and mking tally marks next to them. It looks crazy. Don’t know how well Roo’d go over with the bigger kids, but when he’s a baby? adorable! Hip is not what I was going for but it works anyway. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Kayt
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 19:20:30

    I mean hip in a good, way, I promise! Not like a poser hipster sort of thing. I’m not sure what I mean, but I promise, it’s good! Modern, historical, and well thought out, I guess. I would love to see a picture of this chalkboard. It sounds like a blast. My baby naming adventure consisted of me writing down my top fifty boy’s names and handing my husband a Sharpie. We’d previously agreed on Kenneth for our boy’s middle name, and Daphne Margaret for a girl (family names, you know), but we couldn’t settle on a boy’s first name. Roo would probably be a bit silly for an older child, but it would be so dang cute on a little guy. That’s how we’re looking at Jamey for a nickname for James, too.

    Reply

  11. Lola
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 19:42:27

    I know what you meant, Kayt, really. I’ll have to get him to take a picture of it some day soon! I’m surpoemely clumsy with any technology, the laptop’s on the table in the bedroom, in the charger base so I can’t move it, I’d be sure to kill it if I did!

    I think it’s darn funny that your boy’s name is my man’s name, flipped! 🙂 I mentioned it to him the other night and he was rather amazed that anyone used Kenneth, anywhere. But agreed that james is überdashing.

    I think Cosmo’s sliding to third. I’m sad but he likes Barnaby & Rufus so much more and since I pretty much named the toher boys single handedly, I feel I owe him a boys name. I have free reign with the girls name though, so of course that’s what giving me fits!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

