Beatrix, Again

I can’t seem to let go of Beatrix, but I am rethinking her combo. Beatrix Poppy Elinor charms me with her upbeat sound and her bright colors but it feels almost too “British” if that makes any sense. But Beatrix, I can’t shake her off. I keep thinking “I hear her a lot online” And that scares me off a bit. I don’t want her to have a dated name, and I’m a touch afraid that Beatrix might. But I like her so! So I’m rethinking middles for her.

Which means,  I’m running a poll at BtN, as usual, and as usual, here are those poll choices;  in case you don’t want to bother clicking.

 Beatrix Elinor Plum – Elinor honors the cousin,  Plum has a luscious sound I just want to be able to say daily!

Beatrix Esme Ruby – Esme for Esmeralda who sounds ridiculous with my surname, Ruby’s for me, my birthstone!

Beatrix Esme Valentine – Mentioned Esme above, Valentine’s for my Pop.

Beatrix Alice Rupinder– Alice should have been my name, to honor thwarted Mom, Rupinder is just a love. I love her feel, her sound and her look. Can’t ask for more!

Beatrix Malu Primrose– I love the sound of Malu (meaning’s pretty awesome too) Primrose is a cousin.

Beatrix Romilly Violet– Finally, Romilly where I would feel more comfortable, Violet for my favorite Auntie on Mom’s side.

 Beatrix Lily Alice – Lily for Grandma Lily, Alice for my Mom again.

Beatrix Oona Pearl– Oona’s a love, I like her swoop, her feel: sleek and Pearl because I like the way it looks and sounds follwing Oona.

and can’t forget to add the standard bearer: Beatrix Poppy Elinor  – Poppies are one of my favorite flowers, the color alone makes me smile. My Uncle Jim thinks Poppy’s for him, they’re apparently his favorite flowers too. And Elinor’s that cousin again.

 

So, should I even bother? Is Beatrix going to be the next to jump upwards? (this is the same problem I have with Clementine, she’s gone from being #1 two years ago, to being #10, and that’s after being #17 for a good while) Anyway, should I worry, or is Beatrix worth it? And which combo do you like best? I’d love to know. Anyone happening along, feel free to add your 2¢!  New voices are always welcome!

 

 Update: Down to three combos:
Beatrix Scarlet Jane
Beatrix Elinor Plum
Beatrix Jemima Alice

Have a favorite here? Let me know, if you’re reading!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 02:57:52

    Hi Lola! My name is Lauren, and I was introduced to your blog by Emma. I post as Laurenzia on BtN, although I was known as Rosa for a very long time. I believe you are Allegra? I will keep an eye out for your posts from now on.

    I think that Beatrix is sweet- I actually had Miss Potter out on DVD just last week- what a great namesake! I’m not sure about datedness, although Beatrice seems to have ranked on the SSA lists in the last couple of years.

    I think if you are worried about Beatrix Poppy Elinor seeming too “British”, then I might also avoid B Elinor Plum, B Esme Ruby and B Romilly Violet. Although I do think that BPE and BEP are sweet!

    I’m afraid I know a lot of Samoan people and Malu is a tattoo to me! Where did you get her from? I do think she has a very fun sound- and Beatrix Malu Primrose is great.

    I also must confess to finding neither Oona nor Pearl particularly pleasing to the ear. I also find that B Lily Alice perhaps has a few to many Ls in close proximity.

    I might just cut to the chase- My clear picks are Beatrix Poppy Elinor and Beatrix Elinor Plum, I guess the “British” feel is appealing to me today. I am interested in Malu though– Beatrix Malu Primrose is fun!

    Reply

  2. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 06:09:08

    Hey Lola! I’m curious as to how you arrive at your combinations? They are always so unique; I wonder what leads you to choose one set over another. For example, why not Beatrix Romilly Primrose? or Beatrix Alice Esme? Is it just the sounds that speak to you? or is there some other significance to these particular combinations?

    Of the set, I think I like Beatrix Esme Valentine the best. Valentine is such a good middle name, it makes just about anything sound stylish. Please no Beatrix Elinor Plum. I can’t help but think there must be some rotund grandmother figure in a children’s book somewhere baring the moniker; making magic cookies and fairy bread that stops time or transports you to a land of adventure and daydreams. It just sounds like a name it would take about 70 years to grow into.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 09:52:43

    Hi Lauren and Welcome! Emma’s a doll, spreading me around like this!Yes, I’m Allegra there. I poll far more than I post but I do post. Malu is a tattoo? Wow, I didn’t know that. I first heard it on David Bryne’s girl: Malu Abeni Valentine. It’s reported to be Hawaiian, meaning “peacefulness” But honestly, I just love the sound. I like the repeated L’s of Lily Alice, but admit it’s not a sound that appeals to many. No one but me is going to like Oona Pearl, I must confess. I don’t think I’ll even be able to sell her to the other half. Maybe if a few others liked her round sound, yes, but not on it’s own.
    Thanks for the votes, Lauren and again, thanks for coming by!

    Lachlan, it more a matter of what appeals visually and synesthetically (I think I spelled that right!) mostly the colors, though. I know, it seems odd but when everything written down is in color, it’s lovely to re-arrange them when I can. It’s why I talk as I do too, it looks prettier this way. Weird, maybe, but all me.

    Aww, I liked the fairytale image from Beatrix Elinor Plum. For me, it’s the luscious Plum that does it. Beatrix Elinor on her own is rather upright & proper, which I like. And I just love Plum, the color & the sound. (funnily enough, He likes the fruit, I don’t). Funny too that you mention the rotund grnadmother, it’s rather the thing I got frequently when figuring out my Josephine’s full name. Her Rosamel middle gets “fairytale” a lot too. because that’s a surname! I’m fond of the grandmotherly image on a little girl. I love the juxtaposition of tiny, fresh girl and wizened old Grandmother. I keep telling people, I want them to BE Grandmothers someday… So there you go on my logic, anyway! Thanks for the vote for Beatrix Esme Valentine, every vote helps!

    Reply

  4. Kayt
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 23:54:29

    I like Beatrix Poppy Elinor because of it’s British feel, actually. I also adore Beatrix Lily Alice, but none of them are bad. In the spirit of being annoying, I also like the sound of Beatrix Alice Elinor and Beatrix Elinor Valentine.

    Reply

  5. Kayt
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 23:57:10

    And I forgot, I have both a soft spot and a great hatred for Beatrice/Beatrix. Beatrice Marie is my grandmother’s name, and she’s an awful excuse for a human being. I can’t help but like the sound and feel of it, especially because my grandmother went by Beebee as a child, and Marie as an adult. I’ve never liked the -trix ending, simply because of the word dominatrix. It’s petty, but it doesn’t slip my mind.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 10:05:09

    Sorry to hear about you sad excuse of a grandmother. Beatrix has always been a like, if not a love. I’m an old Trixie Belden fan, if you’ve ever read those books. if not, Google her. I’d defintitely call a Beatrix of mine Trixie at least occasionally!

    Reply

  7. Kayt
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 17:40:33

    OMG I love Trixie Belden! I loved The Happy Hollisters and Cherry Ames series too. I stole those from my mother and read them all the time. Great stuff.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 17, 2009 @ 19:08:09

      I loved The Happy Hollisters too and “the Five Little Peppers” and “Kay Tracey” too. I hated “the Bobbsey Twins” though, they were so goody-goody they made my teeth ache, even as a 7 year old! I’m in the process of collecting all the Kay Tracey’s again and am looking for my Ruth Alberta Brown series “Tabitha at Ivy Hall” (there were two more to the set, Tabitha’s Glory” was my favorite (book 2) had Gloriana, nn Glory in it! I’m going to have to post about the “Literary” names I love!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

