Barnaby again!

Funny, I’ve been liking Barnaby enough to move him into 2nd. place for about 3 months now and then we finally get Wall-E, where Barnaby’s mentioned within the first 5 minutes of the movie, twice! 

I’ve got a soft spot for Barnaby for a few reasons. It’s my favorite character in my second favorite musical of all time, and it’s one of the characters the other half played when we were in HS. He was quite the HS thespian and ‘Hello Dolly’ was the spring musical his senior year. He was Barnaby. Still think it fits him really well, which is where my head’s going at the moment. If it fit him really well, why wouldn’t it fit one of his kids? 😀
So Barnaby sits at #2. 

Barnaby’s warm, friendly, happy and masculine. He feels strong but not overbearingly so and I like that. His combo came pretty easily too, Barnaby Edward Rex. Which fits the pattern the other kids have, with multiple syllables in front, single syllable at the end.  I really don’t mind Barney and think it’d get shortened even further to Barn/Barnes or even B.  Barney is overwhelmingly Rubble to me, and I always did like him far better than Flintstone as a kid. Even now he’s a favorite character. And character is exactly the world I’ve been looking for!  🙂  Barnaby’s a character. A little quirky, a lot happy and full of character. I thoroughly like him and even he’s rather satisfied with Barnaby. Cosmo was a struggle to get an okay to, Barnaby was pie!

So, I’ve been thinking, at this moment, my top 3 boys looks like this:
Cosmo Henry Dashiell
Barnaby Edward Rex
Rufus George Porfirio

And wondering, should I re-arrange them any? If you could order them1,2,3; which would you put where? Why?  What do you think of my top 3? I’d love to hear it all!

 

 Thanks!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:07:05

    I’d go Rufus, Cosmo, than Barnaby. Even though it’s Babar, Barnaby still feels elephantine to me. I love Rufus and think it would be the easiest to wear nowadays. Cosmo sounds great with Henry, and while I like Edward, Rex leaves me cold. I would really like Barnaby in the middle, somewhere, though.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 13:34:33

    Yeah, I know Rex isn’t everyone’s cup of cookies. I think he’s way spiffier than Max. I think you may be right about Rufus being the easiest to live with today, he does seem rather current. I do have Barnaby in the middle, Cassius Barnaby & Alasdair Barnaby. I just dig him up front too. Well, final boy is up to him, unless I pull a “I just pushed this kid out and what I say goes!” thing. This will be a discussion tonight, I’m sure!

    Reply

  3. JNE
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 14:36:04

    My 2 cents: I like Barnaby right now then Cosmo then Rufus. Barbaby is fun to say and also has the nice nns you mentioned. I think Cosmo is great, as you know… But then I started thinking about a woman in my birthing class a couple years back – everyone was sharing their baby names (if they wanted and had one) and she said her child would be “Tia Maria.” I had to squelch a giggle. And for some reason when I read Cosmo a moment ago I had a SATC flash and thought, would someone think this is a drink? (I had wondered if she were naming her baby Tia Maria because that’s what got her into that position in the first place.) I doubt that would be the general reaction, but it did flash through my mind. Rufus was my grandparents dog… I can’t help but picture a big, happy, moppy haired gray/white, slightly smelly dog… though he was the sweetest dog in the world. In any case, that’s just my memory, and my reason for putting it #3.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 12, 2009 @ 16:25:35

    You know, it’s funny. I went looking for the top 100 dog & cat names for whatever recent time period I could and found a good one at babynames.com: http://www.babynames.com/Names/Pets/

    Leo, Simon, Rufus & Cosmo are on those lists. So are Cleo, Trixie, Ben, Barney, Lucy, Ellie, Hannah & Jasper. So I refuse to worry about the dog/cat thing It’s just not worth it! I realyl have to think about these three, they are, as of right now the top 3 on my list. One of them’s going to have to shake loose to rise to the top! Thanks JNE, I really appreciate the thoughts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

