Rethinking a few things

Zelda & Eulalie mainly. Trying out a few new thoughts, even though I’m feeling singularly uninspired today. Here, tell me what you think of these:

Zelda Elinor Grey
Zelda Iris Grey
Zelda Saskia Jane

Anyone have any other ideas for Zelda?

 

And Eulalie. I am really liking her sound these days and though I like Eulalie Frances Madelief, I’m looking for something with a but more oomph (and a little less weird for the second middle), So keeping Eulalie Frances, here’s the few my brain has come up with:
Eulalie Frances Esmée
Eulalie Frances Pearl (not sure how I feel about Pearl, exactly but it works here)
Eulalie Frances Violet /Eulalie Violet Frances/ odd thought: Eulalie Alice Grey?
Eulalie Frances Vianne
Eulalie Ivy Frances/Eulalie Frances Ivy
And one that just catches my fancy despite it being as odd as Madelief: Eulalie Frances Petronella.

 

and no, I don’t know what the fascination is with Grey these days.

 So, is there anyone out there who can help me, maybe kick me out of this funk I’ve been in all day? I’d appreciate it, very much.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JNE
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 17:02:35

    Sorry about your funk! Not sure I’m going to help or kick you out of it or any of that, but my thoughts are:

    Zelda Saskia Jane – my fave of your Zeldas… I have a soft spot for Saskia and Jane works well with the zinginess of the rest of the name. (Although I love Elinor, I don’t love it following Zelda… the two “el” isn’t working for me… just my opinion though.)

    For Eulalie, my fave is actually your thought about E Alice Grey. It flows and sounds divine. The E F Pearl version works for me, too, despite feeling the same as you about Pearl – undecided. I think it’s the one-syllable that might be drawing me to it.

    Or maybe it’s the pop of the P? I also like Petronella, but as you say, it’s almost as out there as Madelief. Pulling from some of your other favored names, I also think I like E F Poppy and E F Phillipa (which has two F sounds, but seems to work… but then there are two masculines in a row).

    Hope you get a ray of sunshine in your day!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 09, 2009 @ 20:11:13

    Thanks JNE, I’m a little better now. I just got up in a funk, for some reason. After mulling these around all day, I’m thinking Zelda Iris Grey might be a keeper. I’m tripping over Zelda Saskia Jane and while I like Saskia Jane, it’s not quite right with Zelda, either. Zelda Elinor is trippy too a bit tha Ah of Zelda and the Eh of Elinor blend together. Zelda Iris Grey stands out due to her sounds and I like the imagery of Iris Grey, in particular and the way they stand out next to Zelda. I think I found my keeper. Eulalie Alice Grey might be the keepr there too, Unless I can find something better than Grey to fit at the end, but I’m really liking that particular color lately and really getting into that solemn, almost gothy feel. Ok, I’m a formr Gothchick, so I suppose it only goes to show, you can take the girl out of the Goth but you can’t take the Goth out of the girl! And I really love Eulalie & Alice next to each other. So unless he goes into huge veto mode, I think I’ve found her combo too, for now.

    Reply

  3. appellationmountain
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 09:55:10

    Funny, Gray is on our short list for a second boy! Not that we’re planning on baby #3, but, well … you know.

    I really like Zelda Iris Grey – I agree, that’s your keeper! And Eulalie Alice Grey is great, too, though I’m partial to Eulalie Frances Ivy. Or Ivy Frances.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 10:15:20

    Verity, Gray is the color to me, Grey is a name. Weird how one letter changes things sometimes, hmm? I could see Gray on a boy too, it’s warm & flannelly to me, which is a feeling that works equally well on either sex. I have Grey on the boys list too, with Roland: Roland Edward Grey. He’s #12, but you never know! He went into veto mode last night, Eulalie Ivy Frances charms him more than Eulalie Alice Grey. I’m not quite satisfied though, so I’m still looking for a more down to earth Eulalie combo.

    Reply

  5. Cat
    Jan 10, 2009 @ 13:24:42

    Well, Grey isn’t my favorite, I’ll admit (strikes me quite trendy and a tad silly), but I see no harm in it in the second middle. I love Zelda Saskia Jane, but it seems like you’ve vetoed it, so I’ll second Zelda Iris Grey. The name (and colors) are beautiful, like a red carpet dress. Just understatedly gorgeous.

    Eulalie Frances Pearl is darling, don’t let a fear of Pearl put you off! I think they work beautifully and the combo as a whole is very charming. Eulalie and Pearl, specifically, are great together.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 10, 2009 @ 16:58:10

      I see your point on Grey. Zelda Iris is grabbing me right now, so it stays together as is. So, Grey stays for now, until I potentially find something else that catches my eye. I haven’t written Eulalie Frances Pearl off entirely, I like the way it looks written down, so I just have to let it simmer for a while.

      Reply

  6. Kate
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 12:56:05

    I’m not sure how I feel about Grey but I love her understated softness in your combo’s as a middle name, as a first name I can kind of hear what Cat’s saying.

    I’m glad you decided that Zelda Iris Grey is the keeper fromt the Zelda list because she was the immediate standout for me. Eulalie Frances Pearl is darling and just seems to have that all important flow but I wouldn’t discount Eulalie Alice Grey either -she’s so quietly beautiful with Alice and Grey balancing Eulalie perfectly.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 13:13:55

    Thanks, Kate! I’m definitely keeping Zelda Iris Grey but am rethinking Eulalie still. Iv’e got a poll running at BtN for her now but maybe I should make a quick post. Maybe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

