Agatha

 I  absolutely love Agatha. I have since I was a kid. I first read Agatha Christie’s “Ten Little Indians” (also known as “And Then There Were None”) when I was 7. I loved it and went on to read just about everything by her  a 7 year old could get her hands on. Thankfully, my Pop was sympathetic to the voracious reader I was then (and still am).  So Agatha not only brings back great memories of Pop, she makes me feel  good! I don’t mind Aggie as a possible nickname but am wondering if I could potentially get Thea out of Agatha as well.  Any other nickname options I’m not seeing?  Somehow, I think not.

 I’ve had her on my list before, as Agatha Esme Bluebell (She started  as Esme Agatha Bluebell, but decided I liked Agatha better up front). I’ve been rethinking the combo, especially since Josephine got a baby doll for Xmas that she named Bluebell! Since then, I’ve  come up with  5 that charm me utterly:

Agatha Esme Plum – Esme’s for G. Auntie Esmeralda (whose name I adore but find too unwieldy with the Scots surname)
Agatha Alice Violet/Agatha Violet Alice (can’t decide which way)  – Alice for me, Violet for my most favorite Auntie.
Agatha Ruby Malu (I find this so fun to say aloud!) – Ruby’s for me, Malu I just adore her light feel!
Agatha Lily Frances – my Grandma & my Mom, ‘nuf said.
Agatha Lucy Rosalie – Lucy was my Mom’s top choice for me, Rosalie I just love. I’ve tried Rosalie just about everywhere but I’m really loving her here!

I just can’t decide among them yet, but maybe with a bit of help I could?  It’s after noon and here’s the Agatha   poll!  So, What do you think of the formidable Agatha and do you like any of my combos for her? 

 

 As always, Thanks!  😀

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 10:09:41

    I love Agatha too! It wasn’t until I met a Latvian girl named Agata that I was able to fully appreciate the charms of Agatha. It’s a no-go with my husband unfortunately, but a beautiful name with some substance – my kind of name!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 11:46:35

    Thanks, Kim! I’ve kind of come out of the Agatha closet myself. 5 years ago, I never would have admitted to liking Agatha, but I don’t care who turns their nose up at Agatha, I think she’s awesome! I adore Agnes too, I just find her a bit fluffier than Agatha and i’m not a fan of fluffy, overmuch!

    Reply

  3. Emma
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:27:29

    I loove Agatha. I think I prefer it more in theory than practice, but I’m not sure, since I have never met one.

    Malu is a joy. David Byrne’s daughter is Malu Abeni Valentine and thus I have automatic affection for it. Plus it’s fun. I think my favorite combos are Agatha Violet Alice and Agatha Lily Frances; the first mainly because of the symmetrical initials and repetition of A, and the second because it is just lovely synesthetically to me (yellow, very very light yellow/white, green.)

    Bonus: those are both pronouncable initials, so you could call her Ava or Alf. (tongue in cheek, but what fun!)

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 16:10:52

    Agatha Violet Alice is probably my favorite here, next to Agatha Ruby Malu. I really like the repeated -OO- sound in Ruby Malu! But for general use, Agatha Esme Plum has got to be the most elegant of the bunch. And is his favorite. I have Malu in Edith’s newer combo, Edith Malu Violet. Where it works quite nicely for me.
    I hadn’t thought about the initial thing with the girls, Rex from Remus Edward Xavier is about as far as I got! Thanks for stopping by Emma, always nice to hear from you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

