Trying out some Oddballs

I’ve  been swirling these six around again. I like all of them pretty much equally and can only put one of each at #10. Three boys, three girls. Would you be so kind as to help me pick one and tell me why that one, in particular, please? I’d appreciate the help so very much!

 

Without further ado, the six:

Edward Balthazar George
Roland August Valentin
Harvey Valentin John

 

Mathilda Esme Primrose
Romilly Alice Kathleen
Maud India Scarlett

 

The boys truly are equal, I like Edward, Roland & Harvey all and wouldn’t be able to choose just one if my life depended on it! Of the girls, I want to choose Maud, as she’s a family name, where Romilly’s a place where family lives and Primrose is a still living cousin. Maud honors the same G. Grandma Josephine’s middle does. The middles are pretty equally split for honoring/sounding good/having good imagery for me. So please, pick one of each & tell me why!  Thanks!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Birdtoes
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 16:43:18

    Roland August Valentin
    Romilly Alice Kathleen

    I like these two combos the best because they flow so beautifully 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 16:45:41

    Thank you, Birdtoes! I appreciate your thoughts. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 02:48:26

    For the girls, it’s an easier choice. I much prefer Mathilda Esme Primrose. It’s the Mathilda Esme that I particularly warm to. This combination sounds good to my ear. Mathilda is also a pretty rare name at the moment, but in some ways familiar. It has a kind of retro quality you might say. It also works with India in place of Primrose. India sounds nice in third place, so if you are inclined to go with Maud, I would suggest switching Scarlett into second place with India at the back.

    Now the gents: They are all equally interesting. Even though I like all the names in number two, the combination doesn’t work for me. Number one and number three are pretty equally matched, though I would like to suggest some rearrangements, if I may: promoting third place to first we get…

    George Edward Balthazar
    John Harvey Valentin

    To my ear, the rhythms work much better this way. The downside is that it leaves you with George and John in first place which aren’t so interesting on their own. If forced to choose I would go with Harvey Valentin because he’s so smooth.

    Reply

  4. Cat
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 13:42:28

    Romilly Alice Kathleen.

    I love Alice and Kathleen, and they just ground Romilly in an awesome way. Usually I’m not a fan on surnames up front, especially on girls, but Alice and Kathleen are divine together, and I could deal with a Romy for that. Mathilda Alice Kathleen works for me too, but you know I have a strange love of names that run together.

    Edward Balthazar George.

    Handsome, classic, while still being unusual. What more can you want? It’s awesome!

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 15:16:40

    Thanks, Cat, Lachlan! We’ve been running these around all day so far and the comments are helping! 😀

    Reply

  6. JNE
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 21:10:56

    For te boys I like Harvey in first – if you don’t mind, I’d suggest Harvey John Valentin – it flows better for my ear… I’d also like Harvey with August Valentin as the 2nd and 3rd. I absolutely adore George, but am not sure where I’d put him with Harvey… Maybe Harvey George Valentin, but it doesn’t quite work as well as I’d hope…

    For the girls Romilly Alice Kathleen gets my vote for the same reason as Cat mentioned – Alice Kathleen is lovely! Romilly is not such a common surname and doesn’t ring as a surname so much as many of the current -son names… if it hadn’t been mentioned, I would not have known it was a surname or a placename.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Jan 05, 2009 @ 10:17:20

    Thanks JNE, I’m rather stuck on Harvey myself. Love his feel! I don’t think Geroge goes well with Harvey, unless it’s as a brother to Harvey. I had Harvey as you have him: HJV. But the other kids have a one syllable second middle. And to be completely honest, Harvey Valentin John sounds suave to me, maybe a little rough around the edges? The kind of guy who could dress beautifully for a charity ball a but afterward go to the gym to box. (My head is filled with weird things like this!)

    It looks as though Romilly Alice Kathleen is the top wildcard. She’s got aye votes from me, him and just about everyone else I’ve asked. Seems like a winner to me! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Emma
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:32:05

    I can’t decide on the boys either, and all of the girls are lovely and I am tempted to vote for Romilly Alice Kathleen, which is dainty and perfect and well-rounded, but Maud India Scarlett draws me in even more. The -d and -d in Maud and India is just awesome, and the entire thing has something kind of dark red and passionate about it.

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 16:16:18

    Thanks Emma! I think Harvey Valentin John’s the boys wildcard winner, easily. Harvey’s got that wild dashing streak I find quite irresistable. I am not writing Maud India Scarlett off just yet. I find her far too appealing a sound. I’m drawn to those d’s as well, Emma. D, P, G & B are full, round, lush sounds to me and I seem to be drawn to names including them right now. If you want, search Maud ihere and you’ll see what I think of her, exactly. Especially of Maud India Scarlett. Oh, so divine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

