Jemima

She’s risen to #3, right behind Cecily & Ottoline and directly ahead of Lucretia. I’m really loving  Jemima and her nickname options of Jemma & Mimi.  I find her fresh, sprightly and feminine. Jemima’s really a lovely name if you can get past the pancake thing! 😀  I’ve had Jemima Frances Ruby on my list for a little over a year now and I will admit she started out as  Ruby Frances Jemima & Frances Jemima Ruby.  Both were attempts to find a home for Jemima. And after a few weeks, I figured, why not Jemima Frances Ruby? Tried it out and liked it, very much.  I don’t think Josephine & Jemima are too much of a mouthful, either. 

I know the pancake thing is a turn off and her roots are even more so. But I’m tired of people saying because it was used badly,  it’s off limits. Why? The practice was shameful, the name isn’t. She’s Biblical, for goodness  sake!  I’m tired of trying to placate one & all. From now on the only ones I really want to please are Him & I. Jemima stays at #3, for now. Who knows, by next year, she may be #1!

 

 Do you have any thoughts on Jemima? Any kid of mine is likely to be blond (or at least sandy brown) , with curly hair and eyes are up in the air (I have green, he has blue but we have a blue, a green & a brown eyed kid, one each) and about 5’10” tall for a girl,  I expect. (he’s short but I’m over tall and over tall runs predominantly on both sides of the families. Short is the aberration. (And by short, I mean 5’6″ or so for guys, 4’11 for girls, we have him, the lone short guy and I have a cousin [and had a great Aunt] that stand (stood) at 4’11”).  Do you think that description fits a Jemima? If not, what do you think a Jemima should look like?  

 

Thanks!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JNE
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 15:10:10

    Applause for moving past the name’s sad past. I think it’s a great name! I like the nicknames too. And I don’t think there’s a specific face that says Jemima, so that’s not a big deal if you ask me.

    Of course, you’ll run across people who will want to “inform” you about the name you choose, should you use it… oh well… that’s not a good enough reason to steer clear. It’s them, not you.

    For me, today, Jemima beats out Ottoline and Cecily… maybe she has what it takes to get to the top of the list?!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 15:22:11

    She just might. The only thing holding me back is the initial thing. I’m lazy and only write first initials on the calendar. Two J’s might be confusing, rather like the two L’s were (Me & Leo way back when). I did the first by accident, didn’t even think about the initial thing but am a tocuh more wary this time. She may end up at the top anyway, I really do like her cheerful sound!

    Reply

  3. Cecily
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 15:52:14

    Jemma looks like such a misspelling to me! My #1 is Gemma, and can’t seem to entertain the idea of the ‘J’ spelling. (It’s the same with Gillian and Jillian, too!)

    However, despite this, I absolutely adore Jemima. I’d love to use it, but the syrupy reference is too much for my family, which irritates me to no end.

    Mimi would be my nickname of choice, as your Josephine is the occasional Fifi. To me there’s nothing more precious than Fifi and Mimi as nicknames for the intelligent and wonderful Josephine and Jemima.

    As for the initials, we’ve had the same problem. My real first name also begins with a
    ‘C’, as does my mothers, and two of our dogs! On the calendar and in the books it’s so very complicated! Especially when we’re doing the year-end budgets (as we are now) to see what unnecessary costs can be cut out, and I end up accidentally costing myself several trips to the veterinarian and monthly grooming appointments at Fluff Cuts! That aside, I think Jemima’s WHOLLY worth it!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 04, 2009 @ 17:14:08

      That’s what I’m worried about! Have to really think about Jemima and that initial thing. I absolutely adore Jemima, too. Well, for now she sits at #3 until I figure it out.

      Reply

  4. Emma
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:36:17

    I’ve been loving Jemima a lot lately too. And I think it will be perfectly mainstream-acceptable within twenty years or whatever – it’s making inroads in England, isn’t it? I have been toying around Jemima Emma Mary a little bit; it doesn’t completely satisfy me, but I like the self-referential initials and the constant pattern of M’s. I really like Jemima Frances Ruby, it’s very bright and spunky.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 17:17:34

    Thanks Emma, I’m partial to Jemima Frances Ruby too. She’s absolutely our # 3 girls name. Yes, she’s at least familiar in England from what I hear. I have last years top 1000 kicking around in adobe somewhere, and she’s on it.

    Your Jemima Emma Mary is pretty but it’s clearly the Emma that’s off, All those M’s in Jemima blend right into Emma. Say Jemima Emma five time fast and you’ll see what I mean. Try some other short e name in there: Esme, Eliza, Eva.. you get the idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

