Zelda Redux!

I’ve been playing around with Zelda again. I wasn’t quite happy with Zelda Rosalie Violet, there’s something a bit too relentlessly cheerful about her for me.  So I went digging  again and came up with these:

 

Zelda Violet Elinor
Zelda Violet Esmée
Zelda Violet Pearl
Zelda Lucy Violet
Zelda Violet Imogen
Zelda Cerys Violet
Zelda Esme Frances

So far, Zelda Violet Esmée, Zelda Lucy Violet & Zelda Esme Frances are all tied in the poll I’ve got going and honestly I couldn’t decide which one right now if I had to! 

So I need to ask again, which would you pick, if you had to use one of these?

I’ll be running off for the wildcard spot too, since I have 5 girls:

Henrietta Ruby Lilias
Florence Lila Ghislaine
Romilly Alice Kathleen
Imogen Violet Jane (although he keeps shooting her down, I keep trying!)|
Eulalie Frances Madelief

 

and 5 boys:

Harvey Edward Augustin
Roland Edward Grey
Felix Edward Alasdair
Rufus John Porfirio
Francis Henry Porfirio

That I can’t decide between. I have room for 1 of each from each list on the big list. Wanna help me decide there too?  😀

 Thanks!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JNE
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 20:35:04

    Zelda names: I’m liking Violet Pearl and Violet Elinor. This is partly because my pronunciation of Violet is sort of half way between 2 and 3 syllables (I know that’s technically not possible, but the io kind of becomes a drawn-out dipthong for me)… so a lot of the other options are all 2 syllables and it almost sounds too even. However, if one says vi-o-let, then that goes away… For my ears though, it’s Violet Pearl and Violet Elinor that work best (Also, I like that Zelda is zippy and fun and Elinor is more buttoned up… and Pearl is very subdued too).

    For the girl list, of course I love Imogen Violet Jane, but since that’s a major hurdle, I also really like Romilly Alice Kathleen.

    For the boy list it’s harder for me – I like them all. Maybe Harvey first.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 21:03:44

    Thanks JNE! Happy New Year to you too! Yeah, we’ll be hashing out Zelda combos tonight, Violet Elinor & Lucy Violet are my faves, he prefers Violet Pearl & Esme Frances.
    Yes, Violet is three syllables for me. I’ll have to ask him to dissect how he says it, in order to be sure we agree! (I know, isn’t Imogen Violet Jane just divine? *sigh* Tonight he came out with “Imogen, we clone your life” in a robotic sort of voice. *sigh* At least he’s not into Emily! 🙂

    Reply

  3. JNE
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 15:17:06

    Yeah, I had someone say, “Imogen? Isn’t that a biotech company? Did you google that before you named her?” While I understand why, boy I wanted to thud him upside the head (husband of a coworker, so not an OK thing to do, right?) who says that sort of thing?… Still, I get it and that’s just all part of using an unfamiliar name.

    Living in the south, after I had her, that very day in the hospital, one of the nurses said, very kindly “ooh, that’s very unique and pretty… say it again so I get it right, please” and then… “Oh, kind of like the way I say imaging, like an MRI: imagin'” What could I say?…. “Uh, yeah, like that.” Gotta be ready for that if you ever use Imogen.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 15:26:28

    I keep trying. I’m two weeks late, but have been before (I am 41, after all) so am tenatively optomistic right now. Won’t even test until I’ve skipped two this time. So I’m being a bit more insistent when talking names right now. I still think Imogen’s a fantastic sister for Josephine. As strong and as pretty but nothing alike! *sigh* That bio company thing is going to be hard to kick. With luck, I may succeed. Otherwise, I can only hope to see it on other people’s well named children (like yours!) 😀

    Reply

  5. JNE
    Jan 02, 2009 @ 17:23:07

    Fingers crossed for you!

    Reply

  6. Emma
    Jan 06, 2009 @ 15:40:08

    I love Zelda. I have given out my name as Zelda in circumstances where it doesn’t matter what my name is in more than one occasion, and I’ve always been asked to repeat it. I like it as a nickname for Griselda, whom I find irresistable. I think Violet belongs with it from your combos, Zelda and Violet are both very striking and angular and bold. I think I prefer Pearl to the others; there is something alternately calming and defiant about Pearl, which I think is just what that combo needs.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 06, 2009 @ 16:41:14

      Thanks Emma! Zelda’s been a love for so long, I can’t imagine her not being on the list. But when push comes to shove, she may end up on the next cat, rather than girl (if indeed we have a girl). Because there are other things that I love more (not longer, just more). Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

