Romilly

Short post today, I’m feeling a bit under the weather. 

  I like this moniker, quite a bit, actually. There’s something very appealing about her looks or maybe it’s her sound,  don’t know.  But she’s been on my lists, in various places for nearly two years now. I just can’t shake her off. I had her up front: Romilly Alice Kathleen and I swear, I’d love to use it, as is.  I think she’s perfect!  

Of course, she’s place namey and surnamey and only recently actually name-namey. 😛    Because of that, I’ve tried her in the middle in a host of combinations and have only recently found a combo I’m even remotely happy with: Winifred Romilly Violet.  But even then, I’d rather Romilly Alice Kathleen. *Sigh*

I’ve searched around and see it mainly as  a surname and I’ve seen it on someone else’s daughter, where it’s absolutely lovely. And think just maybe, it could stand to be on a few more girls!  I know she’s not exactly perfect next to sister Josephine but really, is Romilly all that bad? What do you think? 

ETA: Running a Romilly poll today. We discussed her last night and came up with a few, somewhat pleasing alternatives. Take a peek and vote, if you want. Otherwise, here’s what’s on the poll:

Romilly Cerys Violet
Romilly Alice Kathleen
Romilly Alice Isobel
Romilly Iris Petronel
Romilly Lilias Jane
Romilly Elspeth Pearl
Romilly Violet Pearl

 I have a favorite and a close runner up here. He has no major favorite, he just likes them all.  Can you help me?

Thanks!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 20:17:44

    I love Romilly! If we had a second daughter, she’d likely be Rosemary – after my grandmother – so we could use the nn Romy. But I’ve considered Romilly, too, especially because then we have the option of Milla or Milly as a short form.

    And then, I quite like Romilly on her own, too – and Romilly Alice Kathleen is lovely!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 20:50:20

    Thanks Verity, I think I needed to hear that today. I have a cousin named Rosemary who’s never been anything but Rose to everyone else. But I think Rosemary in full is lovely and Romy is sweet. She shows up on my lists occasionally because of that cousin, but is unusable thanks to the family rule “Dead to honor” Romilly appeals just a bit more anyway. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Smoky
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 16:18:33

    Romilly is adorable! How are you pronouncing it though? (I’ve heard it 2 different ways) Anyways, I love Romilly Cerys Violet the best.

    I can’t help but find the following switch-arounds to be lovely as well, however;

    Romilly Iris Violet
    Romilly Isobel Pearl
    Romilly Isobel Violet
    Romilly Isobel Lilias
    Romilly Elspeth Violet

    Best of luck,and I hope you feel better.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 01, 2009 @ 17:22:37

    I say ROM-ih-lee, How else is it said? Thanks for stopping by, Smoky!

    Reply

  5. Cecily
    Jan 04, 2009 @ 16:51:20

    Romilly is on my list for sure! She’s my #5, and she’s Romilly Olympia Xanthe. Any nickname would be Rami, Romy’s too offputting for some reason, but I quite like the full Romilly.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 04, 2009 @ 17:18:12

      For me, Milly is the nickname choice. I love Milly/Millie! I remember your Romilly combo, wow is that grand! 😀 She’s not even in my top 10 (she’s down in the Wildcards, if you go peek at my Girls page) but I so want to bring her up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

