Winifred :D

Winifred’s been on my mind for a few days. It’s my newest Auntie’s name (well, she’s been married to Skip for 5 years now, so new is a relative term…) and I like her very much, even though I only email with her and talk on the phone about once a week (someone needs to keep tabs on flaky Skip). I really like the sound of Winifred and find the possibility of Winnie to be most enticing. 😀   I could even pop in a Freda occasionally, I would think. 🙂   So, I’ve definitely been tossing around combos and have settled with this bunch as being most pleasing but cannot narrow it any further.  I’ll be posting them in a poll later on but for now, they’re just here. And here they are:

 

Winifred Elinor Plum
Winifred Romilly Violet
Winifred Ruby Katharine
Winifred Lily Alice
Winifred Esme Ruby
Winifred Carys Irena
Winifred Esme Ghislaine
Winifred Esme Loveday
Winifred June Kathleen/Winifred Kathleen June (I like this both ways!)
Winifred Poppy Esmée

 

What do you think of Winifred? Like her, hate her, love her? Think it’s insane to be thinking of Winifred these days? Maybe she’s ready for a comeback?  And, if you’d be so kind, which of the above combos do you like best and why. I’d appreciate it very much!  Thanks!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 16:35:02

    Winifred is thoroughly charming, Winnie even more so. I just love the thought of a young Winifred, and I think Freda wears well on an adult woman should Winnie prove too juvenile.

    Of your combos, I think Elinor Plum, Romilly Violet and Lily Alice are the best. The florals/fruit name really lightens Winifred into something whimsical rather than stern. Nothing wrong with stern, but lately I’ve been liking more flighty names. Maybe it shouldn’t be so serious all the time! Lily Alice is probably my favorite at the moment because of the consonance of the Ls. It’s wonderfully melodic.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 29, 2008 @ 17:15:04

    Thanks Cat! I seem to be drawn to Elinor Plum (I just love those two together!), Ruby Esme & Romilly Violet. Especially Romilly Violet. I’ve been drawn to Romilly for a long while now and find it very sweet sounding. With Ro, Romy & Milly possible nicknames, I so want to use it up front. But won’t because she doesn’t mesh well with the rest of the sibs. So I’m really loving her in the middle here. Lily Alice is so sweet, isn’t she? I think she’d come in a close fourth. If I had to decide which one right now my head would explode! Off to stew on these over supper! It’s Chili night and it’s been slow cooking since 9 am! Mmmmm, gonna be a good night! 🙂

    Reply

  3. JNE
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 11:36:06

    My MIL is a Winifred (Winifred Doreen), but goes by Doreen… I prefer Winifred by miles to Doreen, though!!! Winnie is fabulous! (Makes me think of “The Wonder Years”. I don’t see any issues with a Winifred today. I agree with Cat, Lily Alice works so well with Winifred. Frills and lace for the buttoned-up feel of Winifred – love the contrast. Elinor Plum is also fun – I like the whimsy of Plum as a mn (aside: I went to college with a Peaches whose sisters were Cherry and another fruit – while fun, that was a bit much for my personal naming preferences, but I do like the fruity names as middles). Winifred is a definite favorite of mine! Off limits for me, given my aversion to naming-after, but I would LOVE to meet a little Winifred!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 30, 2008 @ 13:02:06

      Very cool to hear of a living Winifred, even if she hates her name. I say it was probably a case of “named in the wrong era” rather like a Shirley today. I’m rather liking Elinor Plum myself, I too find Plum a nice bit of whimsy at the end. And with a final child, whimsy suits me a bit more than before. Have you ever tried looking up Peaches, Cherry and sister #3? I wonder what profession they ended up in? (No, I was was wondering arts, business, politics, medicine, etc.. not THAT!) I too, like Winifred much more than Doreen. Let her know there’s someone out here who thinks her name is absolutely fab! 😀

      Reply

  4. JNE
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 13:45:31

    I know that Peaches is a social worker. I guess that works. Super intelligent girl. Wish I could remember sis #3’s name… but it escapes me. Dodo would probably not believe anyone could like Winifred (she basically pretends that the name doesn’t exist)… funny that!

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 17:27:47

    Does seem rather fitting! I wanna take a stab as sis # 3! If I had girls name Peaches & Cherry , #3 would be Tangerine, Strawberry or Plum, perhaps even Persimmon, Olive or Lettice (which really isn’t a vegetable name but a medieval Leticia)!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

