Edith, revisited

I’ve spent the last two days thinking about Edith. I’m completely charmed by her right now. I’ve also been rethinking our standing combo: Edith Alice Bertille. I mean, I really like the light, airy feel of Edith Alice and the solid thump of Bertille at the end. But maybe Edith needs light all the way around? I can’t decide.  Must be too much eggnog!  😉

So I’ve come up with a few more possible combos:

Edith Violet Belrose – Belrose is yet another family surname, fits the “theme” I’ve got going. But not sure about flow.

Edith Malu Violet – I just like the sound of Malu and Violet honors. I like that Malu also feels really airy and lightens up the whole combo very nicely.

Edith Lily Angelina – Lily honors and Josie suggested Angelina, so I figured, why not? (She’s so into the mouse ballerina!)

Edith Ruby Elinor – Ruby’s for me! and Elinor honors.

 

How do these stack up against Edith Alice Bertille? Which do you like best (and why, if I may inquire)?   Or should I just give up on Edith as a possible sister to Josephine?  C’mon, talk to me! 😀 

 

 Updated to add Poll link. Right now, EABM,  EMV & ELA are tied, ERE is leading EVB by 1, as of right now. 

 

As always, Thanks!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Dec 26, 2008 @ 22:37:50

    Hmmm … I love Edith, especially with the nn Edie.

    I’m torn – Edith Malu Violet strikes me as the coolest of the combos, but you do have a great pattern going for your kids’ names – which makes me think Edith Violet Belrose is the best. And then again, Edith Alice Bertille is charming.

    I’d rank them as follows: Edith Violet Belrose #1; Edith Malu Violet #2; Edith Alice Bertille #3. But they’re all so close!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 27, 2008 @ 09:55:11

    Thanks Verity. 🙂 You’re as waffly as I am, which is why I posted these to begin with! 😀

    I’m going to have to run off those three, we went ’round & round with those three last night and neither of us can decide. I really like Edith (with yes, nickname Edie) and think despite her length, she’d make an admirable sister for Josie. Time to go poll!

    Reply

  3. JNE
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 12:59:08

    I’m struggling with Edith, honestly… it immediately says “All in the Family” to me. Maybe that’s why the “thud” of Bertille is just too much for my ear (I hear Bunker just as easily). But I do love Alice with it. My number one pick would be Edith Violet Belrose (I like Belrose a lot too). But I would probably chose Edith Alice Belrose if it were offered up… it takes away the “thud” as you say, and sticks with the same first sound, but is lighter and airier (and less clunky Bunker-y). I do like the nn Edie, but will have to roll Edith around in my head a while longer to see if I can get it to separate from the strains of that high-nasal voice I keep hearing with it 🙂

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 30, 2008 @ 13:42:04

      Funny, I grew up watching “All in the Family” but still love Edith (just not Gloria). I think Wharton, Cavell & Piaf (and then Brickell, for Edie!) more often. Edith Violet Belrose feels a bit too flowery but I’m warming up to it. Edith Malu Violet is easily my favorite. Funky, fresh and sweet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

