August, Miles & Felix

 Three guys today, duh. 😉  August,  Miles & Felix.  August is a relative newcomer to my lists. He’s been on less than a year but I really think he’s a keeper. August is strong, manly and honors my Mother, born in August without resorting to using the name she forbade me from using. And he’s pure sunshine to me, colorwise, that blinding yellow-white of the sun.

Miles, on the other hand, honors no one. I just like his feel and his look. His sound is rather crystalline too, sharp. If Josephine had been born with boy parts, Miles Xavier George/James she would have been. I’ve found better homes from Xavier (Remus Edward Xavier) and George (Alasdair Barnaby George) but am still rather smitten with Miles, even after nearly 5 years. Miles is a deep grass green to me, he’s another green M.

And Felix, which slides on & off my lists every few weeks for the last two years. I think he’s great. Stylish, sweet, and dashingly handsome. I have a poll going with Felix combos because we made a list of a bunch that appealed to us and now we can’t whittle them down to the one we like best. A poll always helps, whether I agree with the results or not. 🙂 Felix is eggplant colored. Deep purple brown, really neat to look at for me.

 The combos for August & Miles:

August Edward Valentine
Miles George Porfirio

If you’re not inclined to follow the link, here’s Felix:

Felix Edward Finnian
Felix Edward Rohan
Felix Arthur Jolyon
Felix Edward Alasdair
Felix Edward Anselm
Felix Arthur Grey
Felix Barnaby Edward
Felix Edward Bede

 

I’ve bolded the ones we seem to gravitate back towards in discussion, but again, there’s no hope of narrowing just yet.

Feel free to tell me what you think and as always, thanks for stopping by, Company’s always welcome!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 17:18:19

    I love all three of these.

    My favorite is Miles. He’s been steadily in my top five for a while now, currently ranking right after Julius and Alasdair (for which I can never figure out the best spelling). I’m not smitten by the combo you have for him, though I’m sure you have reasons for using it. It’s not bad.

    August is a great choice as well. It sounds, so, well… grand and august. 🙂 August Henry Valentin is perfect.

    I like Felix. I actually know a cute little blond four-year-old Felix who lives in my sister’s apartment complex in Berkeley. My favorite combos you have for him are Felix Edward Alasdair and Felix Arthur Grey. I think I like those best because they use the most of my favorite names!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 19:21:37

    Thanks for stopping by Emmy Jo, Miles is starting to drift off my list longer than he’s on but I do still find him fairly appealing. I don’t know if I’m as sold on him for another as much as I was for her. I think August is a winner of a choice. he really is grand, isn’t he? And he stands so well next to Josephine without feeling the least bit girly! I think he’s firmly in the top 10.
    Felix Edward Alasdair would be the way we go, I think. He’s got enough starch for me but flies enough offtrack to appeal to him. I don’t know if I can keep him any higher than 20 for now, I don’t think anything could unseat Cosmo at this point. But hey, it’s fun trying to unseat him, hmm? 😀

    Reply

  3. Cecily
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 22:33:19

    I’m currently in a Miles vs. Milo showdown, as Miles would honor both my father, who’s middle names are John, Myles, and Patrick, and his namesake, Myles Jonathan. Milo seems to fit more with my names though, as Theo and Leo are there too!
    August’s been on my list for a couple of months, but I just love his grandness! I love August and Josephine together, they work so well!
    Felix I go back and forth on. It just sounds so much like the word ‘feline’ and then there’ Felix the cat. I love his -x ending, its cool without being trendy, and I love him with Leo in particular (I know of a twinset, Leo and Felix), but I think he, Josephine, and Simon work together as well! For you, I definitely see it as a more realistic choice for your sibset than Cosmo (unseating…beign!) BTW, I’m LOVING Felix Edward Alasdair!

    Reply

  4. Cecily
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 22:36:06

    OH! I remembered why Felix was so unusable for me, my dad constantly tells the knock knock joke “Knock knock. Who’s there? Felix. Felix who? Felix my lollipop one more time, I’ll smack him!”

    Yeah, there’s no escaping that in my family…

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 23:21:34

    Awww, that stinks for you! Puns never go over in my house. Sarcasm rules here, absolutely. That made me giggle, but is no deal breaker for me. 🙂 Your first OH! ? Did you want me to delete that?

    Reply

  6. Cecily
    Dec 22, 2008 @ 19:48:22

    Sarcasm’s my main food group as well, but my dad most definitely has the corny gene. And yes, the first “OH!” was a typo. I accidentally hit tab, then enter, posting my comment automatically. Whoopsie!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 22, 2008 @ 20:34:37

      Consider that gone then! I grew up in a goofball sort of house, the sillier, the better. Managed to hook up with a sarcasm sort of guy from a sarcasm sort of family. Still catches me off guard occasionally but I’m getting used to it. 😀 Very cool, then.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

