Harvey, Francis & Arthur

 These are the three that have been stewing in my brain for a while now. Well, Arthur’s been there for a bit longer  but he’s resurfacing.

I am drawn to the  jazz laden, knightly image of these three gents. They’re strong, handsome and really quite dashing if you give them a chance.

 I have tentative combos for each of them:
Arthur William Bede
Arthur Finlay Rhys
Arthur Barnaby John
Arthur Henry Llewellyn

Francis Henry Porfirio
Francis Henry Aloysius
Francis Barnaby Finn
Francis Barnaby Jack

Harvey Francis Porfirio
Harvey Finbar Jude
Harvey Milo Valentine
Harvey Jasper Graham
Harvey Edward Augustin 

What do you think of my three knightly gents and which combos do you prefer? I’m going to poll them too, Here: Arthur/Francis   &   Harvey  !  Thanks!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 16:59:31

    I find Harvey stands apart from the other two. Jazzy, yes; but If he’s a knight, it’s not the kind in shining armour—maybe the kind with a badge. Harvey Valentine sounds like the protagonist in a detective story. Like a Dick Tracy character. Smokey. A strong, silent hero figure. Or maybe he’s a crooner. Arthur and Francis certainly speak of nobility. I’m drawn to Arthur Henry Llewellyn. Llewellyn is a lovely Welsh name: “Luminescent”. I also like the Edward Augustin pair. I think it works with any of these first names.

    Reply

  2. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 19:14:49

    I thought of an interesting connection here. Harvey is found in Harvey Dent—a heroic public defender type figure who falls from grace in The Dark Knight (knightly) and who I always mix up with Arthur Dent—the hapless protagonist of The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (Arthur). Arthur of course is also knightly thanks to the legend of King Arthur etc. Harvey Dent, Arthur Dent, Dark Knight, Knights of the round table. Interesting that they showed up together here as well.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Dec 19, 2008 @ 19:36:26

    Thanks for stopping by, twice! 🙂 Harvey Dent never occurs to me, despite the other half being a huge Batman fan! I suppose he does work for us, in that sense. Funny, too, Bruce was his Uncle’s name and he won’t even let me consider it for the same reason he likes Harvey. Weird. I’ll have to ask about that, I like Bruce and would use it in a heartbeat if he’d let me. And Aaron Eckhart? *swoooon* Can’t help myself, at all. 😉 And well, Dick Tracy was a cool comic strip (stupid movie, though) and that clean-cut, really good guy feel does nothing to deter me or turn me away from Harvey in that sense

    Arthur Dent, conversely reminds me of the other half, bumbling, sweet guy he can be. So yeah, Dent there does nothing to ruin the name either. In fact, it makes me like Arthur that little bit more! Francis is one I’ve always had a soft spot for, thanks to an Uncle of my own and Frank is just all sorts of awesome.

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 17:23:57

    My favorite on your list is Arthur. Second favorite, Harvey. Least favorite (but still okay), Francis.

    I love the medieval literary/historical feel of Arthur William Bede and Arthur Henry Llewellyn. Arthur Finlay Rhys has a modern, updated appeal — Finlay and Rhys provide a nice modern contrast to Arthur. I don’t like Arthur Barnaby John. Nothing sparkly at all for me there.

    I don’t care for any of the Francis combos.

    I like Harvey Edward Augustin and Harvey Jasper Graham, though Harvey and Jasper sound more like a sibset to me than a first and middle name.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 19:30:20

    Harvey Edward Augustin makes my heart melt. I absolutely love it. Arthur Henry Llewellyn has been on my list before and vanished after awhile for some unknown reason. He’s firmly back in the top 20. Francis is not one that appeals to a lot of people. Frances gets a warmer reception but I love Francis more on a boy. Frankie & Frank are fantastic nickname options for me. Frances Henry Porfirio is my favorite, he prefer Francis Henry Aloysius. I admit, Aloysius appeals to me but in a more goofall way. I prefer the polished feel of Porfirio more. They’re both 4 syllable names and I seem to like the rhythm of both very much indeed. Leo, Simon & Francis fit for me too. Leo feels more like Frank and Simon feels more like Francis. *sigh* Harvey’s clearly my favorite though!

    Reply

Leave a comment