girly Boys!

I like soft sounding names, anything with an -s ending is a favorite with Cassius, Remus, Linus & Julius being my favorite favorites.  I like boy names that could possibly get girly sounding nicknames, like Magnus: Mags/Maggie.

I started thinking about the names I grew up with that were used for both and then slid feminine (do any slide masculine? I don’t think so) and came up with these name that I would much rather see on a boy than a girl :

Dana
Sidney
Kelly
Francis
Shannon
Ashley
Aubrey
Leslie
Whitney
Lindsay
Courtney
Stacy
Robin
Jamie
Julian
Terry
Kim
Jesse
Cameron
Morgan
Alex
Reese
Peyton
Loren
Hayden
Adrian
Ariel

I know there are loads more, what names do you prefer on a boy over a girl? Which of these do you think is still workable for a boy?  All thoughts welcome!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 12:47:58

    I’ve discussed this before on my own blog, but you definitely have some different examples up there. I prefer all of these on boys except for Dana and Kim. Kim’s my mum’s name and I’ve known too any female Danas. Also, isn’t Adrienne a separate name than Adrian? Wait, have you seen Adrian on a girl? The horror! Why not just use the feminization?

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 12:58:31

    I don’t get Adrian on a girl either. Yes, I have. I also know a female Kyle but I won’t go there! Check out the original “Rocky” the girl in question? yeah, Adrian. Really. (captioning is fun)It’s a huge pet peeve of mine. Adrienne is the girl, Adrian the boy,. Doesn’t anyone think of Adrien Brody? I see a fair amount of people online who don’t know the difference too. oh, the horror, indeed!

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 17:24:36

    Adrien Brody…*drools* Oh, shoot, sorry, what were we talking about?

    That man is teh hot that outhots all hotness.

    Reply

  4. Smoky
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 19:13:05

    I agree with Sidney[Although I like it for girls too],Robin, Jamie, Jesse,Alex, Morgan, & Loren. Handsome little names for boys. I’m afraid Loren isn’t usable in today’s sea of Lauren’s, however.

    Reply

  5. Smoky
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 19:27:52

    Ah, also the lovely Skyler/Schuyler. I hate it on a girl, but it’s adorable on a boy.

    And I love Bailey for either gender.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 19:33:54

    Cat, I agree with you 1000% My goodness, he’s awesome! 😉

    Smoky, by all rights, Sidney should stay boy. Sydney can go girly for all I care. Put Sidney/Sydney in the Francis/Frances camp. I can live with that! Skyler/Schuyler is ugly on either for me. And sadly, I do know two now teenage boys with this name, one Skyler, one Schuyler. It’s still not very nice. Bailey yells liquor to me and hence, not usable on a girl (no more than Sherry or Brandy, anyway). ‘WKRP in Cincinatti” had a Bailey character on it and I have a feeling that’s where it got it’s kickstart. Still, I don’t find it attractive in any sense, which is why it wasn’t on any of my lists. If it’s alcohol, it’s out (hence, no Morgan too for me, he’s rum!)
    Yeah, Loren’s going to vanish because of Lauren. Why that can’t go the Francis/Frances rule too is beyond me. If my name wasn’t what it is, I’d use Loren on a boy and nn him Ren/Rennie. but then, I’ve said it before: I’m odd. 😀

    Reply

  7. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 14:49:39

    Of these, the only ones I find distinctly feminine are: Shannon, Ashley, Whitney, Courtney, Stacy and Morgan. I think I may have run in to one or two male Shannons in my time, but it’s very much on the feminine end of things for mine. I can’t fathom a man called Whitney. That’s worse than Adrian on a girl.

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Dec 16, 2008 @ 15:24:47

    I know a Whitney guy, He’s a wasp-y dude in the Philly area (or was two years ago) Whit seems very mannish to me and since *I’ve* never run into a Whitney girl (nevermind Whitney Houston), it still skews masculine in my head. I have a good guy friend named Kelly and his brothers: Stacy, Morgan & Shannon! Assocations do tend to slant outlook, I think. Hence boyish for me! Sadly, Morgan only makes me think of pirates & rum, so it’s the one that makes me weep when I see it on a girl. I’ll concede Ashley, Ariel, Courtney & Kim, but that’s it. Everything else still seems very manly to me. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

