C names

And my seeming fascination thereof.  😛

I do appear to be stuck on the letter C this time around. I mean I have 4 C boy names and 2 girls on my working list, at the moment. Cosmo, Cassius, Clarence & Casimir, Cecily & Clementine.

There are more that I like:

Camilla/Camellia/Camille
Carmelite
Carolie
Caroline
Cassia
Calla
Calliope
Calypso
Carmel/Carmela/Carmella
Carys/Cerys
Catherine
Catarina
Catrin
Cecily/Cicely/Cecile/Cecilia
Celandine   Celeste/Celestine
Charlotte
Clara/Claire/Clare
Clarice
Clarimonde
Clarissa
Cléophée
Clemence
Clementine
Clio/Cleo
Constance
Cora/Coral/Coralie/Coretta
Cordelia
Cornelia
Cosima
Cressida
Cymbeline (yes, I know it’s a boy in Shakespeare’s play, it still sound feminine to me)
Cyprilla
Cyriana (I just like the sound of this one)
Calvin
Carmine
Casimir/Casmir
Caspar
Cassiel/Cassian/Cassius
Cecil
Cedric
Celestin
Cesar
Charles/Charlot
Chaucer
Christophe/Christopher
Clancy
Clarence 
Claud/Claude
Clement
Coe
Colin
Conal
Conan
Constantin/Constantine
Cormac
Corwin
Cosmo/Cosimo
Crispin
Cyrus
Cyprian (yes, I just like the crisp sound, I doubt I’d ever consider it for anything more than the next goldfish)

 And there’s the collected favorites list (that’s about 5 years old now).  

my C combos:
Cosmo Valentin George
Cassius Barnaby Rex
Clarence Arthur Finlay
Casimir Amadeus John  (he’s the ‘why not?” here) 🙂
Cecily Pandora Jane
Clementine Lily Elinor

 

 So, what C names do you like? Do I strike you as seemingly obsessed with the letter C or is it just that it looks so appealing written down?   What is it about the letter C?  What do you think?  😀

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 12:34:45

    I think C does have a pleasing sound — well, four of them, actually, and I think that might be part of its appeal. There’s the hard K sound of Clara, Caroline, and Calvin. There’s the soft S sound of Cecilia, Celeste, Cecil, and Cyrus. Then there’s the “ch” sound of Charles and Chaucer and the “sh” sound of Charlotte.

    Of course, the majority of C names on your list have the hard K sound. I think its so appealing because it’s bright, fresh, and crisp. It’s a good way to start a name (sort of like how a brisk walk on a cold morning is a good way to start the day).

    My favorites from your list (there are so many) are Catherine, Caroline, Cecily, Cecilia, Carys, Charlotte, Clara, Clerimond, Clementine, Clio, Cora, Coralie, Cordelia, Cressida, Calvin, Casimir, Charles, Colin, Chaucer, and Cyrus (and I’m very drawn to Cyprian).

    Other C names on my long list (other than the ones you’ve listed) are the British-trendy Callum (love “Cal” as a nickname, and husband has rejected Calvin), the simple Celia, the straightforward-but-exotic Carmen, and the literary Cosette.

    I’ve thought before that if I were into matchy names for multiples and I ever had triplet girls, I’d name them Clara, Charlotte, and Cecily. They’d all have C names, but they wouldn’t sound the same.

    My kitten George is sitting on my lap while I type and batting at your snow! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 15:07:26

    I like all the sounds C can make. Funny because Catherine/Catharine is one I would prefer as Katherine/Katharine. The one instance I actually prefer the K over the C.

    Carmen isn’t on my list, I prefer Carmine on a guy and the softer Carmel on a girl, But I agree, she’s exotic! Cosette bugs me somehow and I do like Callum, consider him added to the long list! Celia’s a cousin, I could never reuse it while she’s aline (family rule in Mom’s side: Honoree must be dead 10 years before honoring. That way the honoree can’t screw up the name anymore!) 😀

    I’m glad George is enjoying the snow. I’m planning on turning it off after Xmas, It’ll probably be real here by then and I won’t need it vicariously. 😛

    Clara, Charlotte & Cecily are lovely sisters, matchy but not. I like that! I’d still rather pick three different letters, Lazy me, I initial using one letter! Easier on me to use diferent names. Triplet girls for me? Cecily, Beatrix & Mathilda, I think. At least, today.

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 17:14:26

    I love C names, and if a name can be spelled with either a C or a K, I’ll usually go for the C spelling. I think it’s softer and more refined than a K, which seems trendoid to me anymore. Of course, I’m biased. My favorite Cs are Cecilia, Cecily, Celia, Clara, Corinne, Corinna, Calvin and Clarence. I love most of the Clara name family. The sound is so lovely, bright and clear.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 19:22:46

    oh, another Clarence lover! I think he’s absolutely aces! He feels like the Clare’s do, bright, crisp & clean. Thanks for stopping by, Cat!

    Reply

  5. Smoky
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 19:58:13

    Wow, another Cosmo lover! It’s a huge guilty pleasure for me. 🙂 I also love C names in general, Charlotte being my #1 for girls. From your list, I’m particularly fond of the following:

    Caroline
    Cassia
    Carys/Cerys
    Catherine
    Catrin
    Celeste/Celestine
    Charlotte
    Clara/Claire/Clare
    Clarimonde
    Constance
    Cora/Coral/Coralie
    Cressida

    Casimir/Casmir
    Caspar
    Cassiel/Cassian/Cassius [I prefer Cassiel on a girl, however]
    Cedric
    Cesar
    Charles
    Clarence
    Claud/Claude
    Constantin/Constantine
    Cosmo
    Cyrus

    Cosmo Valentin
    Cassius Rex
    Casimir Amadeus John [This is perfection. <3]

    Other ‘C’ names I love:

    Cassidy
    Ceres
    Ceridwen
    Cézanne
    Charlélie [Technically a boy’s name, but very rare and it sounds feminine to me]
    Chloe
    Chrysanthe/Chrysantha
    Chryseis
    Claudette
    Claudia

    Cairo [Guilty of loving a few place names..]
    Casper / Caspian
    Cesário
    Cruz

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 14, 2008 @ 20:52:44

      Yeah! Cosmo’s awesome, isn’t he? He’s a family name for me, so I can actually consider using him this time around. *sigh* Cosmo hasn’t ever come off my top 10. This year allone, he dropped to #2 in June but was on top in July and thereafter. he’s absolutely tops for me.
      Hadn’t thought of Ceres, Ceridwen, Claudia & Cruz, consider them added but Caspian’s all “World’s Largest Inland Sea” to me. I’m a sucker for Cass – on a guy though. But then, I like girly sounds on my guys. But then, I end up with 6′ or more, so it’s easy. I’d name a boy Magnus just so I could call him Mags or Maggie once in a while. 🙂 maybe I should think about blogging on those “girly boys” hmmm….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

