Medieval Boys who still Rock Today

 Just like the girls, there are boys names that were used during medieval times that are still pretty rockin’ today. Here are the ones on my lists that I would consider using:

Alaric – One of my favorites, I like his meaning “ruler of all” or “noble ruler”.
Amadeus – I’d use it yes, in the middle, he’s my other half’s favorite composer of all time.
Ambrose – Cheerfully stuffy. I did use it, in the middle.
Conrad 
Drustan – with nickname possibilities Dru or Stan, he’s pretty cool.
Erasmus
Everard
Godwin
Lazarus – I think he’s got a great sound, a decent nickname option: Laz  and he’s Biblical!
Luther – subtly sexy, somehow.
Magnus – grand. Just grand.
Milo – I like him but he’s getting a bit too popular for my liking.
Odo – for the Star Trek Geek only!
Tarek
Theobald
Urban – awesome Pope name, with a modern meaning.
Warin – at least in the middle.
Warner
Wolf
Aelfred/Alfred
Leofric
Oswald
Osbert

 

Granted, my boys list is nowhere near as extensive as my girls and I’m still on the lookout for boys names used during the middle ages. If you’ve got any, throw ’em at me, please?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 20:33:45

    From your list, I like Alaric, Amadeus, Ambrose, Everard, and Luther.

    I have the Arthurian Gareth and Gawain on my list (and Arthur, of course). I also have a few I fell in love with while reading Bede’s “Ecclesiastical History of the English People”: Caelin, Caedmon, and Alban. Since most of those are two-syllable N-enders, I think they feel quite usable today, though perhaps a little less interesting than the names you’re going for.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 08:43:35

    🙂 I just seem to prefer sounds that aren’t quite as fashionable today. I’ve said before I really dig Alban and Caedmon is lovely Caelin sounds too similar to the overdone Caitlin/Katelyn for my liking but in an ideal world, I’d use him, he sounds handsome. but Alban, I love him!

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 09:10:43

    I believe in Old English Caelin should be pronounced KAL-in, not KAY-lin (so it would sound more like Calvin than Caitlin). However, most people will automatically want to pronounce it with a long A sound, and KAY-lin does sound somewhat feminine. I love Caelin pronounced correctly, though.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 10:26:53

    You’re probably correct. Old English pronucations are dificult for me most times. KAL-in sounds better, indeed and I think you’re correct saying it’d be mistaken for KAY-lin. If you tried teaching people the proper pronuncation, it might work. Or it could backfire, making him repeat it forevermore or even worse, people may fill in Calvin! (then again, at least Cavin’s masculine!) 😀 I still love Alban! Do you think people would associate Alban with HP’s Albus too often? that might kill Alban for me. 😦

    Reply

  5. Mia
    Dec 18, 2008 @ 14:58:09

    I really dig Erasmus (and the variant, Rasmus, apparently popular in Sweden). Caedmon is on my list, though I’ve considered spelling it Cadmon instead.

    Alaric is pretty neat too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

