“Y” ending Boys Names

This one’s for Emmy Jo. We were talking about boys names that end in ‘y’ and I listed a few that were on my lists for her. I got to thinking about all of my lists (I have @ 33 documents with names of various types in them).  So late last night, I went mining for “y” ending boys names. Was an interesting look see too. Emmy Jo, feel free to swipe these for yourself, you could easily name a dozen boys off this list!

Y enders (in no special order):
Henry
Godfrey
Geoffrey/Jeffrey
Wesley/Westley
Barnaby/Barney
Grey/Gray
Rafferty
Quincy
Remy
Timothy
Willoughby
Stanley
Arkadiy
Vasiliy – although Basil makes more sense in English as a first, Vasiliy looks awesome and stands well in the middle.
Aubrey – although it’s going to the girls, I still think he’s handsome enough to rescue.
Barry
Benny
Cary – suave & handsome, I think the world needs a few more Cary’s!
Chauncey/Chauncy  -A longer way to Chance  as a nickname.
Clancy – which is on my lists as a nickname for Clarence
Darcy -  Mr.!  This should never have gone to the girls!
Davey/Davy
Denny
Dewey – if you’re a library fan, anyway. :P
Donny
Dudley – although HP  rather ruined this one.
Ellery – another should never have gone to the girls!
Elroy – if Judith & George can come back, why not?
Findlay/Finlay/Finley
Guy
Harvey
Humphrey – Pegs you as a Bogart fan, but still, is that really all that bad? ;)
Murray
Perry
Waverly – third installment of “should never have gone to the girls”
Grady
Malachy
Ray
Roy
Sidney

 

See anything you like?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 11:10:59

    I have a niece named Chauncey. It suits her to a tee.

    Reply

  2. Emmy Jo
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 20:18:08

    I love Wesley, Aubrey, Geoffrey, Perry, Henry, Quincy, Darcy, Waverly, Willoughby, Barnaby, and surprisingly enough Wassily/Vasiliy.

    My absolute favorite Y-ender is Ashley. Years ago, I decided I’d use Aubrey as a more masculine substitute, so I was very dismayed to learn that Aubrey, too, is now seen as almost exclusively a girls’ name.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 23:36:59

    I know. I just like some odd sounds, round O’s for example, I love big, round, open O sounds. S’s & C’s, I love those short, hissy sounds too. I can see the appeal of Aubrey and even Ashley on a guy. Between the two, Aubrey sill feels really masculine to me. Ashley’s a bit prim & tight sounding these days. I don’t even try to include Ashley on a boys list anymore. He just isn’t manly enough. Even Ashley Wilkes is a bit of a sop. But I’d name a boy Aubrey before I named him Jeremy, which is a -y ender I truly dislike.

    Thanks for stopping by, Emmy Jo!

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 00:17:13

    Funny, when I asked my husband what names he’d like to use for a son someday, the first one he suggested was Jeremy. I can’t get over the “germy” sound or the 80′s feel. The only other suggestion he made was Diego, which is just a bit too Spanish to fit with any of our other names (despite the fact that I am part Mexican). We’d better have all girls.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 08:37:26

    :D That is funny! I do like Diego, though. I don’t think there’s a form of James out there I don’t like! I couldn’t use Diego myself but it’s one I love hearing on everyone else’s kids. So dashing. Too bad you can’t use him.

    Reply

  6. Emma
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 01:18:06

    I love -y. I love loads of these. Amaury, which is not on your lists, charms me as both a -y name and an old medieval name. It is old French of Amalric. Associated with the Montfort family, along with Simon, which is why Simon Amaury is my combo for it – comfortable by association.

    I am really into Humphrey lately too – not shortlisting, but lots of fun making combos with it.

    Also I know two male Aubreys who don’t have difficult times. I don’t like it very much just soundwise (Br is usually a huge turnoff for me) but I don’t think it’s a total girl loss yet.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Dec 14, 2008 @ 11:49:55

    Funny, I’m no fan of br- either. The only name with that sound in my lists is Bronwen, I think. Bryony used to be on the collected favorites but I too her off a while ago. I agree, Aubrey’s not lost to the girls yet and just so it’s out there, I’d happily name a boy Aubrey myself. Aubrey, Kelly, Cameron, Quincy; they’re all names I’d rather use on a boy than a girl (but know of girls with each of these names). Thanks for stopping by, Emma!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

