Barnaby – the underappreciated

Today’s Barnaby’s day. I’m besotted with him.   I love his sound in full enough that I’m starting to consider him as a first name. He’s a snazzy dude, say him aloud. All that fun in a sound but colored such a starchy burgundy!

I wish I could think of another possible nickname for him besides Barney, that is. It’s the only reason I keep him in the middle. But I digress. Barnaby. He’s happy, cheerful; heck, sprightly!  He’s suave, snappy, he’s fantastic!  I could happily live with a  boy child named Barnaby.

Thinking of combos last night. I seem to like Edward with Barnaby. Barnaby Edward, Barnaby ___ Edward. I must entertain other ideas!  Edward does honor Mom’s eldest brother, though. 

 

Now to complete:
Barnaby Edward Maxfield – for my favorite Artist, ever:  Maxfield Parrish.
Barnaby Milo Edward – is Milo too jaunty next to Barnaby?
Barnaby Edward Jasper – Just diggin’  Jasper, man.
Barnaby Edward Maxim – Maxim’s another of the 12 G. Uncles.
Barnaby Edward Arthur – Arthur’s another G. Uncle, but on Pop’s side, not Mom’s.
Barnaby Edward Finbar – too much -bar sound here or okay?
Barnaby Edward John – To honor the other half.
Barnaby Oscar Edward – Jazzy Oscar’s got the right vibe for me here.
Barnaby Edward Rex – ’cause Rex is just awesome and by association… 🙂

 

Wow, that was just a haf hour’s worth of brainstorming!  So do you see anything you like up there? There’s a poll   already going, if you care to click & vote. Or just post here, c0omments are always welcome!

 

And, if you can think of any other nicknames for Barnaby, please tell me! All I’ve got is Bee, B and Barney. How bad is Barney, really? 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 12:49:58

    I wouldn’t put him in the front, but Barnaby is rather jaunty, isn’t he? Barney and the cartoon elephant keep me from loving him entirely, but he does mesh quite beautifully with Edward, I agree. My favorite of yours is Barnaby Edward John. I think Barnaby is in serious need of grounding, and Edward John does it beautifully. It’s a very handsome combo.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 13:30:52

    I’m unfamiliar with the cartoon Elephant, would you point me in his direction, please? Thanks for the vote, Barnaby Edward John is a favorite of my own. He switches with Barnaby Milo Edward about once an hour (so far today, anyway!) and Barnaby Edward Jasper, there’s something about Edward Jasper that makes Barnaby even more dapper to my ears. I like all three about equally!

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:27:17

    Now that I think about it, I meant Babar. Oops. Barnaby still sounds a little elephanty to me though.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:48:14

      He is a little large sounding but that doesn’t bother me much at all! I’ll run them past him again and see what he thinks, I’m not adverse to keeping him in the middle. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 17:56:12

    Cartoon Elephant! LoL 🙂 Barnaby gives me cartoon associations too, but of a different kind. I’m not sure why but for me he conjures up Sponge Bob Square Pants! Maybe because he sounds like ‘barnacle’. (is there a nickname in there?) The Brainstormer also suggested Aby, Abbie, Abe and Baby. Barnaby is certainly fun, for me a little too jocular to be a serious candidate for real life offspring.

    I liked your couplings Barnaby Edward Maxfield and Barnaby Edward Maxim. They seem to temper the joviality with a more mature, ‘man of the world’ feeling.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 18:21:18

    Barnacle!?! 😀 Didn’t even cross my mind! I really dig Spongebob, though so it doesn’t do much more than make me smile. Abe works as a possible nickname, and maybe Baby, when he’s little but my boys are 6’2″ and 6′ even, Baby they aint! Another one would probably end up about the same. That “man of the world” feeling is what I keep aiming for but fall woefully short at times. Thanks for the input, Lachlan, it’s much appreciated.

    Reply

  6. Emmy Jo
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 20:52:57

    I’m liking Barnaby a lot, though I think I prefer him in second position rather than first. I realized a few days ago that your “______ Barnaby George” and “_______ Barnaby Rex” combos I’ve seen are very reminiscent of Dickens’ “Barnaby Rudge.”

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 21:14:36

    Hah! Goes to show I haven’t read Dicken’s in a dog’s age! I’ll have to dig that out, it’s probably in the box in the closet. I know we’ve got all of his works somewhere. Seems likely anyway. I’m really liking ___ Barnaby Rex, he sounds so strong & lordly, especially following Cassius as they do.

    I had a feeling you might like Barnaby, he’s a y ender, after all. I only like a few of them, Malachy, Timothy, Barnaby, Arkadiy, Quincy, Dmitriy, Findlay, Geoffrey, Jonty, Perry, Ptolemy, Sidney, Willoughby & Wesley/Westley. You think any f those should be somewhere on my lists? Maybe I should gather them up and make a post about them? What do you think, Emmy Jo?

    Reply

  8. appellationmountain
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 08:09:43

    I love Barnaby, and I really couldn’t even choose a favorite combo at first. But then it struck me that two of them …

    Barnaby Oscar Edward
    Barnaby Edward Rex

    … could give you two nickname options – Bo and Bex. Neither are intuitive nicknames, but they’re options. And so I’d put those two at the top of the list, even though I like Barnaby and Barney just fine. And Barney really isn’t such a leap from Henry, is he?

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 09:05:57

    I just pointed that out last night, Verity! Two syllable ends in y, just like Henry. Bex is awesome, I hadn’t even looked t him like that. You’ve sold me, just because of that. Well. and I really do think Rex is awesome, wherever he ends up.

    Reply

  10. Emmy Jo
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 20:34:35

    Ooh, Willoughby! *swoons*

    My favorites on your Y-enders list are Wesley, Willougby, and Perry. I think I’d like Quincy if I didn’t already adore Quentin. I love Dmitriy, though I usually spell it without a Y.

    How do you pronounced Malachy? It’s not the same way as Malachi, is it?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 06, 2008 @ 21:03:54

      You’ve got it: Malachy is mal-ah-kee not mal-a-kye. It’s Irish. 🙂 Quincy makes me happy, Willoughby makes me smile, I like it from Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series. He’s not the nicest character but he’s got his reasons. And he ends rather badly, makes me cry. Perry’s one I’ve loved since I was a kid, Simon came really close to being Perry too. I think Perry White (Superman), Perry Como and then Perry Mason. He is one Y ender that feels all grown up to me. Dmitriy is the way my G. Uncle used to spell it, I think it’s a Russian variant. (I mean I’d have to look it up to be totally sure).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

