Araminta & Jemima – the battling girls

I don’t think I’ve brought her up much recently but she’s climbing my list rather quickly, I am completely charmed by her sound and her color, which is silvery-white.   I like that she’s a literary name; she fits in the group with Zuleika for me. I’m also charmed by her multiple nicknames. No Minty here (She’s a “My Little Pony“!) but rather Minna or Mina, or like Josephine, Araminta in full.  I think she sounds awesome next to Josephine too, just look at them together:

                         Josephine & Araminta

 

How lovely they are!

I’m also quite enchanted with her combo: Araminta Alice Green. It’s warm, friendly and the Green actually makes me love the combo. The color of them together is awesome, Silvery-whitewhite-gold and pale spring green. They’re beautiful!  The combo of Araminta & Green  is linked in my head to some degree. Methinks  I read far too much sometimes!  😀  I don’t think Green does any harm in third like that either, so don’t bother complaining about it. 😛 It’s rather like Maud India or Elinor Glory, they just belong together in my head.  🙂

 

Now for Jemima. I live in the good ‘ol USA (despite the way I sound when I type) and have all my life. I’ve loved Jemima since I was a kid, yes I was raised by a mix of Roman Catholic (Mom)  and Protestant (Pop). Between the two of them, I went to church every Sunday and also read the Bible regularly. Dad was big on “read it and act, don’t just lip-worship” And while I do come across as snooty, I’m quite far from it, for real.  I only within the last 10 years realised it was a pancake/breakfast food brand here (I do not eat pancakes, ever and utterly loathe maple syrup).  I still love Jemima despite that and really don’t think it’s that big a deal. I mean, people name girls after Diseases: Alexia & Addison and Minivans: Sienna & Sedona (I know one, really!), what’s a pancake mix?  I know about her earlier advertising (I worked in the field for a number of years) and while I find it distasteful, I see no reason why it should keep anyone from using the name now. Using it, rather than keeping it off limits, to me, is showing that I disagree with the origins and find it lovely enough to use.  Not using it isn’t respecting it, it’s like I’m ashamed and want to hide that we were awful. I won’t do that.

 

I am also charmed by her combo: Jemima Frances Ruby. it’s all warm violets & reds to me.  Jemima’s the loveliest violet shade, Frances is a dusty red And I’ve described Ruby  before, suffice to say, the deep gemstone color of her sets off both Jemima & Frances most beautifully (I think I’m channelling “Bill & Ted” tonight).

 

I cannot decide which one to put in my #10 spot, Silvery-gold-green Araminta Alice Green or Violetty-red Jemima Frances Ruby, so I’d like to ask you, my readers to tell me which one you’d rather see in my #10 spot (or possibly higher) and, if you don’t mind, why? I’d appreciate it most mightily!

 

 Thanks!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 14:50:45

    The sound is rather different but how do you feel about Jemima’s Hebrew form, Yonina? I’m touch and go with it. In an a vacuum it is lovely, I love its soft sound. But then I come back to the real world and realize it sounds like someone calling “Yo! Nina!”

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 15:38:13

    Hi Zoe, Welcome! I like her Hebrew form, in theory. I’m about as far from Hebrew as you can get. Maybe 7 or 8 generations back but not since. So it’s not for me but I’ve heard it said by a Orthodox Jew and it really sounds pretty. yo-nina, the yo part’s very soft and really doesn’t sound like a call out loud. But I always thought Yonina was the feminine Hebrew for what is essentially Jonah in English? Yemima (yeh-mee-mah) is Jemima in Hebrew, as far as I know. I could be wrong, like I said, I’m not Hebrew at all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

