Florence/Flora once again

  Yes, I’m stuck on Florence again. Florence Lila Ghislaine has been the standing combo for a few weeks now, before that, I don’t think I had a standard bearer. I adore Ghislaine. I don’t care if she’s positively decrepit in France, she sounds beautiful and she’s got family significance. Works for me. It’s Lila that bothers me. She’s pretty, undeniably, but I fear trendy. And Lila’s getting hot, fast. She’s already at 259 (2007) from not being on the charts 10 years before that.  That bothers me. I don’t want trendy. I don’t mind popular, as long as it won’t date horribly in the future.  if it had family significance it might be okay too, but she lacks there. Lily, Laura, Leslie/Lesley yes; but not Lila. 

 So, that whole train of thought made me go digging for combos all over again. And I think I found a real winner or two:  

Florence Mina Ophélie  &  Florence Esmée Plum and of course the standard, Florence Lila Ghislaine

 I like both for various reasons. The former’s got Mina in it. I just lurve Mina. Absolutely. Have Araminta on my list because I could nickname her Mina. (Yes, Wilhelmina’s still on there somewhere too!) And the overall color of  Esmée Plum is divine. Pastel purple and deep plum. They go beautifully with the sunset hues of Florence.   Mina Ophélie is darker, more dusky grayish lavender and blue which is balanced by the rich sunset of Florence.  I would have to flip a coin.

 

Which would you pick? Why? (if you don’t mind)

Any voice is appreciated! 

 

Thanks

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:49:03

    I like Florence Esmee Plum. It’s lively but a lot less storybookish than Gloriana Isobel Plum. There’s something wonderfully round and happy about the name Plum. It’s a pleased-sounding sort of name.

    I love Ophelie, but Mina feels too nicknamey to me.

    Since we’re on the subject, can you say anything that would persuade me to fall in love with Flora? I’ve been trying to for the past week or so but I haven’t been successful. My husband’s favorite grandmother is named Floris, and I just recently learned (as you know) that Flora is an old family name on my side. I love botanical names and I love names with Scottish associations (Flora is both), but I just don’t love this name yet. What’s wrong?

    Reply

  2. Emmy Jo
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 23:51:01

    I like Florence Esmee Plum. It’s lively but a lot less storybookish than Gloriana Isobel Plum. There’s something wonderfully round and happy about the name Plum. It’s a pleased-sounding sort of name.

    I love Ophelie, but Mina feels too nicknamey to me.

    Since we’re on the subject, can you say anything that would persuade me to fall in love with Flora? I’ve been trying to for the past week or so but I haven’t been successful. My husband’s favorite grandmother is named Floris, and I just recently learned (as you know) that Flora is an old family name on my side. I love botanical names and I love names with Scottish associations (Flora is both), but I just don’t love this name yet. What’s wrong?

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 08:31:21

    I can try by telling you what appeals to me about Flora. That might help.

    Flora’s light, breathy and almost wispy by sound but she’s also equally grounded by her letters. Write Flora out a dozen times; her FL is solid. I know you’re not synesthetic but she’s the lovliest shade of reddish orange. Picture a deep summer sunset, the oranges, reds & golds all swirled together in the sky. There’s Flora. I like that she’s ancient Roman mythology. Doesn’t feel so ponderous though. I love her, through & through. If I had your family background I’d be using Flora in a heartbeat, she can easily stand on her own. Alas, hefty Florence is in the tree. I like Florence fine, her weight and heft but I adore sweet, light Flora.

    That’s why I keep copming back to Flora & Florence. They’re hugh summer in my head and I live for that time of year. With Florence, I get it all year ’round! 🙂

    Hope that helps, some Emmy Jo!

    Reply

  4. Cat
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 09:52:24

    I still love love LOVE Florence Lila Ghislane. Ghislane is too cool not to use, and I wouldn’t worry about the trendiness factor in the middle; it’s not Madison, you know? The other two are nice, but c’mon! Ghislane stomps all in her path, truly. It is a beastly name with a pretty sound. You can’t beat it. See, if you found another Florence-Ghislane combo I might be able to be moved, but for now I sit stubbornly in the Florence Lila Ghislane camp.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 10:07:18

    Thanks, Cat. I knew I could count on that vote from you! I’m still trying to sell her to the other half. He just doesn’t get it yet. Not that I really have to, He’s really not too concerned with girl names, there’s only a few he really loves (Zuleika & Zelda come to mind right away) and he generally concentrates on the guys. Which is where we clash, I prefer my boys names to my girls, generally. And I feel more strongly for boy names than girls too. So that’s where we clash worst. 😛 Could be worse, he could want Jacob! (thank goodness he doesn’t!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

