Clarence, expanded

 I like warm & fuzzy things.  Clarence is one of them. Yes, he’s warm, fuzzy,  friendly,  happy, strong and handsome.  I’ve liked him for a good while now, a year and a half, maybe a bit more. I think he’s pretty awesome, actually.  I only have one small problem,  I’m still looking for his perfect combo.  Here’s what I’ve gone through already:

Clarence Henry Rafael
Clarence Henry Xavier 
Clarence Dashiell Henry
Clarence Henry Valentin 
Clarence Gavriel George
Clarence Gabriel Arthur
Clarence Alastair George
Clarence Rohan George
Clarence Edward Fionn
Clarence Henry Gavriil 
Clarence Gavriil Finn 
Clarence Gavriel George
Clarence Henry Rafael 
Clarence Arthur Gabriel 
Clarence Henry Neville
Clarence Edward Rafael
Clarence Edward Jude 
Clarence Edward Bruce 
Clarence Edward Reuel 
Clarence Henry Reuel

My goodness, that’s a lot of Clarences!  And worse, there’s more:

Clarence Fintan Hugh
Clarence John Reuel
Clarence Hugo James
Clarence Edward Jude
Clarence Arthur Jude
Clarence Arthur Finlay
Clarence William Alasdair
Clarence Julien Edward

I’ve tentatively settled with Clarence Henry Rafael but am also liking Clarence Henry Reuel (The best way to honor Tolkien!),  Clarence Rohan George, Clarence Edward Fionn & Clarence Dashiell Henry (or maybe Clarence Henry Dashiell?).  Clarence Fintan Hugh’s pretty awesome and I really dig Clarence Arthur Finlay. Worse yet, he doesn’t have a preference, he just likes Clarence, and says he honestly doesn’t care what he’s paired with. Clarence is his #1 choice, Cosmo’s mine. We’ve come to an agreement on Cosmo (Cosmo Henry Gavriil) but nothing even close with Clarence. I really do like him but am having such trouble!

Something still feels missing, though. Clarence almost sparkles with Henry Reuel & Edward Fionn but almost isn’t good enough. Clarence Arthur Finlay is probably the sparkliest one for me. What do you think? 😀

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 11:26:12

    Clarence is sunny. My favorites of your list are Clarence Henry Rafael (even with the similarity to Sally Jesse Raphael, that old talkshow host), Clarence Alasdair George, and Clarence Henry Reul. In all honesty, the Reul is probably my fav because of the Tolkien honoring, major dork here. I also think that Clarence and Henry are very handsome together in an old-fashioned sort of way. Yellow and blue, reminds me of faded blue jeans in the sun and baling hay. Weird, I know, but it’s an oddly appealing mental image. I think CAG is rather nice as well, and more upper classy handsome than baling hay handsome, but overall I’m so taken with Clarence Henry Reul that I don’t think much can misplace it.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 12:55:48

    I really dig Reuel too but find Henry Reuel a bit tough to say. Maybe it’s just me, though.

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 18:35:09

    I don’t find it too difficult. The repeated r gives me a little trouble but it’s such a beautiful name as a whole.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Dec 03, 2008 @ 20:29:11

    I’ll ask him what he thinks of him. I’m still quite taken with Clarence Arthur Finlay and will probably try to sell him. I could live with Arthur Findlay easily! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

