Ottoline & Ottilie

Sorry for the lull, I got surprised with a short vacation. It’s been so long since the last one and I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Just got back this afternoon!

 

She’s alternately my #1 or #2 name. I love her sound: ah-TEE-lee or ah-toe-LEEN. So delicate & sweet but not the slightest bit soft.

Ottilie’s an old name too. Her height was in 1882, at #416. Ottoline, on the other hand, has never ranked and is more or less, a one person name: Ottoline Morrell (Ottoline Violet Anne Cavendish-Bentinck Morrell) a 19th century society hostess. A very open minded one. A personal heroine of mine. Her daughter had Ottoline as a middle name, herself. (I have no clue if she used it often or not, though)

She’s also a character in a children’s mystery series, “Ottoline Brown” is her name. I found a stuffed bear named Ottoline online but have no clue where she comes from. She’s so cute! Here:

 

ottoline_ger

 

Ottoline’s got a lovely sound, a beautiful look and will definitely stand out in the sea of Emily/Emma/Isabella/Madison/Ava/Sophias out there.  I think she’s absolutely aces and I love her combo: Ottoline Alice Marigold. I adore sunny Marigold next to refined Alice. They’re just perfect with the gorgeous Ottoline.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 17:36:55

    Good to see you back, Lola! I was starting to wonder where you had gotten yourself off to. Hope you had a good time! I didn’t post over my break, either; too busy!

    I don’t love Ottoline for myself, but for you it’s so perfect, and Ottoline Alice Marigold is just so warm I can’t help but like it.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 02, 2008 @ 20:05:04

    Thanks Cat, and thanks for thinking she’s perfect at least for me! I agree. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

