Bruno Revisited

I mentioned Bruno yesterday as a wildcard.  Mentioned him again at supper.  I actually got an interested look. And then he said “Again”?

 Yes, “Again”   and proceeded to bring up the following:

My Stepmom. I’m not her favorite person on the planet nor is she mine but her kids and I are great friends and I figure that counts for something. And it couldn’t hurt any if she thought we were honoring, eh? 😉 

 On top of that, which is something I know made him think about it seriously, I thought I’d talk here about him this way:

He means “brown” literally, but to this synaesthetic soul he’s blue.
brunoblue

And such a gorgeous shade, too.   He’s a Saint’s name (Saint Bruno of Cologne,  founded the Carthusian Order), rather than a Pope name (which is what I seem to be drawn to overall). He sounds artistic, accomplished and overall, just awesome.  I can easily see a Bruno being an artist of some sort (photography, perhaps?), there seems to be a preponderance of photographers and chefs/ restaurants named Bruno/Bruno’s. 

He’s absolutely perfect with the sibset,  Doesn’t nickname down easily, similar to the older boys and feels supremely cheerful.

 

So what if he’s a dog in “Cinderella” and a thousand other dogs elsewhere in the world? Hasn’t stopped anyone from using Max, has it?   Not a concern, dog name, BAH!  I also like his link to Lewis Carroll: Sylvie & Bruno.  Lewis Carroll is a favorite of ours. Jabberwocky is something we read (and recite occasionally) for fun. Of course it means if it’s twins, Sylvie’s out for a girl, forevermore.

Bruno Henry Valentin honors three different family members from three different branches of the family. I count that a plus and a half.  And overall, I think he’s pretty darn snazzy!  Bruno’s aces with me!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Dec 01, 2008 @ 23:40:47

    To be very honest with you, I don’t like Bruno much at all. It may not be so much the dog thing as a general distaste for boys’ names ending in O. Leo is the only O-ending boys’ name I do like. Still, I know most others don’t share that little hang up, and Milo, Hugo, Mateo, Cosmo, Nico, etc. seem to be all the rage.

    I’m totally behind the Henry Valentin part, though. That’s lovely.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 16:51:16

    Sorry to hear that, Emmy Jo. I’m afraid you’re probably going to have to get used to hearing those “o” enders, they’re all beginning to heat up as people tire of -n. I’m thrilled you like Henry Valentin, though. That’s some consolation for me, I think he’s liking Bruno at least theoreically right now. And I won’t be telling the stepmom it’s even in the running, the honoring factor may backfire otherwise! 😀

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Dec 04, 2008 @ 23:50:28

    I am used to hearing them, and I wish I liked them — it seems all the other ‘cool’ name nerds do. I’m really picky about name endings, though. For me, S and Y are the favorite endings for boys. N and R enders are good as long as they’re three syllables instead of two.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 05, 2008 @ 08:19:40

      I see. 🙂 I’ve been loving ‘O’ enders for more than 20 years, myself. Not ‘cool’, just what my ear seems to prefer. I’m exploring Y enders myself right now, look for today’s post, a bit later! 🙂 I have to admit, -n enders, no matter what other sounds they’re attached to are really starting to bother me. I hear that -n sound far too often anymore. S enders are always awesome (Augustus, Julius, Remus & Cassius figure on my own lists, as you know)!

      Reply

  4. Trackback: Bruno Redux « Lola’s Onomastic Fits

Leave a Reply

