Gloriana & Glory

Talking today about Gloriana. She’s old, been around since at least the 1500’s. Edmund Spenser used Gloriana in his epic poem “The Faerie Queen” as allegory for Queen Elizabeth I. She’s was a a character in a trio of books I read at (probably around) 8. “Her Ivy Hall” series by Ruth Alberta Brown between 1910 & 1913. Comprised of “Tabitha at Ivy Hall”,  “Tabitha’s Glory” (my favorite of the 3) and “Tabitha’s Vacation” She was Tabitha Catt and her redheaded orphan friend was Gloriana Holliday.  (The covers were orange and the most glorious shade of turquoise, which is why I think they appealed, originally).

Anyway;

As far as virtue names go, Glory is the one I love best. I know a lot of folks dislike her for her Gl- sound, it’s harsh to them. But that’s what I like about her, that sound is plummy rich truffle pudding to me. She’s also the most glorious shade of burgundy and gold.

I think Gloriana’s awesome; strong, beautiful and euphonious. I have a hard time pairing her though, and I mean really tough. here’s some that have passed already:

Gloriana Ivy Caroline
Gloriana Lily Maud
Gloriana Elspeth Jane
Gloriana  Iris Ophelia
Gloriana Cerys Ruby
Gloriana Iris Lenore 
Gloriana Matilda Elinor
Gloriana Cecily Ruth 
Gloriana Isobel Plum
Gloriana Romilly Violet 
Gloriana Iris Matilda 
Gloriana Ivy Mathilda
Gloriana Ivy Rosalba
Gloriana Lucy Violet

While Gloriana Lucy Violet comes close to the feel I like, I feel like she’s still missing something. Which is why I started concentrating on Glory. I like simple Glory almost more than Gloriana (almost!) and I have her in a spot where I think she’s utterly perfect: Euphemia Elinor Glory.  There’s something about that combo that makes me swoon.  She feels old time-y in a good way, like lemonade on a porch under a huge oak with a tire swing.

Okay, that’s another tick in the “Lola is weird” folder. 😀

But she does feel fresh, sweet & I really like her quite a lot. Despite the similarity to Josephine in sound, despite her slight clunk. Euphemia Elinor Glory gets quite a bit of love from me.

 

But now that she’s settled,  I’m thinking about Gloriana again. Do you like any othe ones above?  Any suggestions for her, otherwise? I’m rather at a loss at the moment, but have a few ideas floating around. I’ll be working on them at luch (which it is now) and be back with them in an update after!

 Thanks!

 

Update: 10 more Gloriana combos, poll.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emmy Jo
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 12:26:09

    I like Gloriana. Then again, I’m one who briefly considered using Una, Belphoebe, and Amoretta for future daughters. Gloriana does feel a bit overblown sometimes, but she’s pretty.

    Of your combinations, I like Gloriana Lucy Violet, Gloriana Ivy Caroline, and Gloriana Iris Lenore. I don’t think I like it with any middle names that also end in an -a. Gloriana’s flouncy enough, and she needs something a bit more straightforward to anchor her.

    I didn’t notice this one before, but I’m strangely drawn to Gloriana Isobel Plum. She sounds delicious, but she also sounds very much like a storybook character. I’d probably avoid this one on a daughter, but I think you’ve come up with the perfect name if you ever decide to write a children’s book, especially one set around Christmastime. I can just picture little Gloriana Plum getting into all the Christmas cookies her mother baked.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 13:20:01

    Storybook is the general term I use for the problem I have with Gloriana! I agree Gloriana Isobel Plum is the most storybookish of the bunch there. I do like Gloriana & Plum together, they seem well suited to each other.

    I don’t mind the -a, -a endings together. Could be all the time I spent in Europe but it definitely doesn’t bother me. It does sometimes bother the Mr. but even he’s not anyed by it often. It shows up somewhat frequently in our girly combos. I’m just not drawn to that many names ending in a for it to be a problem. (there’s only 11 -a enders on our girls list, total, that’s out of 54 names)!

    Yeah, Lucy Violet is just about perfect. But she’s still not “it” in my head. I can’t explain it. It just is. Funnily enough, as I was putting that Gloriana poll together over lunch, Ruby Cleome (clay-OH-may)struk me as perfect. And she’s leading in the polls right now too (I just checked). I like the mix of elegant/hippy with Esme Blossom too. Has me thinking Esme Laetitia Blossom for some reason.
    Anyway, back to lush Gloriana, thanks for the votes and the idea for GIP (which is why she was written off in the first place)!

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 21:14:47

    I love Gloriana with Ruby. I was actually thinking about it at lunch, but I couldn’t think of a good third name. I can’t say I like Cleome, but I think it’s definitely a step in the right direction. Gloriana Ruby Cleophee sounds nice to me, as does Gloriana Ruby Ophelie. Gloriana Ruby Plum works in my world, too colorful in real life, though, probably.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Nov 26, 2008 @ 10:16:30

    I think She needs something more ‘down to earth” as a second middle, Gloriana’s quite a frilly thing. Cleome works beautifully for me: clay-OH-may or even more French- clay-oh-MAY said quickly. It’s fresh and crisp (a plant name, actually). Plum’s a tough sell with any combo. It takes the right tough to sit well with her.
    Gloriana Ruby Cleome makes me think of Oz, for some reason. I quite like her, actually. I’ll keep loooking but am not really going to sweat it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

