My Ee – girls

I’ve been trying to figure out how to narrow my girls list and thought, well, I have three girls on my lists that begin with E. I think they’re all awesome but figure I really need to narrow it to one. It’s a start anyway.  Here they are:

Edith – My charmingly strong and regal one. I’ve mentioned my love for medieval names before and here’s one example. I love her history. Her sound is simple and crisp and like all E names, she’s yellow to me.
I have two combos for her I utterly adore and cannot decide between:

Edith Alice Bertille
Edith Lucy Valentina

Euphemia – She looks heavy, yes, but say her: u-FEE-me-ah; so light and fluffy, like an angel cake, her yellow is deeper, definitely very cakelike. I like that her strength is in her look but not her sound,very, very much.  I only have one combo for her that charms me completely:

Euphemia Elinor Glory

Eulalie – Another light as air baby, u-LAL-ee. She doesn’t look as heavy as the other two Ee girls but she’s got the same ending as my surname and I waffle on whether she’s usable at all. I really love her sound though. And her yellow is the most delicate next to Elinor’s. (the sunbaby on the left is Eulalie’s shade).

 

This picture just makes me think of her:treby-moondance-eulalie

And her lovely combo is: Eulalie Frances Madelief.

Would you help me decide? 

Thanks!

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 12:59:09

    Eulalie Frances Madelief gets my vote – she just sounds like Josephine’s sister! And the combo is perfection. I even like it with your last name – they shouldn’t fit together, but I find the pattern pleasing.

    I like the others, but this is easily my #1!

    Reply

  2. Emmy Jo
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 14:12:10

    For me, it’s a tie between Euphemia Elinor Glory (love this combo) and Eulalie Frances Madelief. I prefer Eulalie’s look but Euphemia’s sound, and I like the combination for Euphemia better. The “Glory” part is lovely. Choosing an unusual but feminine-sounding word name for a very antique-sounding first really can help make the name sound at home in this century. I’m charmed as well.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 15:32:47

    Aww, thanks you two! I’ve been fond of Eulalie for a good while now and I think she’s going to end up “the” E name on the list. Euphemia’s been a love since I was a kid (and finding an 18 month old one online sort of sealed the love) but I’m going to toss Eulalie out at him tonight and see whether he agrees or not. I’m sure you’ll be hearing about her more in the future! (Glory’s been a favorite since I was 8, those “Ivy Hall” books by Ruth Alberta Brown were really well done for the time [1910-1913] they should be checked out, they can still be bought secondhand at Amazon).

    Thanks!

    Reply

  4. Katharine
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 15:48:21

    Hi Lola, great blog by the way… just to throw a spanner in the works I have to say that my favourite of the bunch is Edith ALice Bertille – she has just the right mixture of antique gutsy girlishness.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 16:23:04

    Thanks Katharine! My mother would approve of Edith. She liked her Clunky, hippy feel. But then, my mother was a ‘sort of” Hippy way back when anyway. I came thisclose to being Freedom. It was the only other thing the ‘rents could agree on for the girlchild they weren’t exactly expecting. (they were both convinced I was a boy!) I think her feel reminds me of Mom and that’s why she seems to never leave my lists. I do have a feeling an Edith of mine would feel a touch slighted next to Josephine though. But yeah, Edith feels warm & fuzzy and reminds me of home. She’s a tough one to shake. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Cat
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 18:50:53

    I’m feeling Eulalie for you. She matches Josephine step for step with her elegance and dignity. I love Eulalie Frances Madelief. Out of the two Edith combos, I prefer Edith Lucy Valentina. Edith and Bertille together is just too much clunk for me to handle. And you know how I feel about those pesky Gl- names, including Glory.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Nov 24, 2008 @ 19:41:36

    Thanks, Cat. I’m rather attached to Eulalie too and her combo came so easily to me, too. Seems almost fated to be. I know how you feel for them but I adore that Gl- sound (the feel too, so soft and heavy). And I must admit, Glory, above all, is so very mouth-wateringly appealing to me. I don’t think she’s elegant enough to be up front but tucked away nicely in third, she pretty much takes my breath away. I’m off to check out your space!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

