Lucretia

Yes, you read that right, Lucretia. What a strong, unfussy Lucy!  She’s the only longer form of Lucy that I do like and she’s managed to stay on my working list for almost a year. that’s an amazing feat for a namefreak like me.

I’m sure 99% of the folks who see Lucretia expect Borgia to follow. But my first thought is Lucretia  Coffin Mott, abolitionist & feminist in the 19th century. next thought is former First Lady, Lucretia Rudolph Garfield. Then and only then does my brain go “oh yeah, and Lucretia Borgia”. Whom I think got a bum rap in a History written mainly by men.  There’s a book : “Lucretia Borgia”  by Ferdinand Gregorovius which has an extensive collection of her correspondence and she comes across as a gracious, charming and modest lady there. Interesting reading and if she interests you at all, I suggest reading it. It’s fascinating.

She’s, as I said, been on my working list for almost a year. She’s been on my lists, i general, for far longer. I find her strength completely appealing and totally undeniable. I love her frill, say her :Loo-CREE-sha.  She’s the loveliest shade of blue and this print hangs in my hallway:

 lucretia-by-rembrandt1

It’s by Rembrandt, so I’ll never own anything but a print but even the print is luscious; so rich & vivid. this picture really does no justice to  the actual picture. I think the original is in Minneapolis but am not sure, so if anyone’s inclined to further search on Rembrandt’s second attempt at Lucretia in 1666, and does find where she’s at these days, please let me know. If I’m able to see it in person before I’m an old lady, I would love to!

 

Anyhow, back to Lucretia as a name for a child of mine…  😀

I’ve had Lucretia Ruby Elinor on my list almost as long as she’s been on the working list. I like the flashy spunk of Ruby and the polished silken Elinor next to the elegant frill that is Lucretia. I think she shines, sapphire, ruby and white and feels nothing patriotic despite the color scheme. She’s all royal, regal and rich. No democrat, Lucretia. Not her. She’s a royal. Elegant, rich, ladylike, completely feminine and above all, steel strong. I think she’s just aces!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 17:54:36

    Well, I’ve said my piece on Lucretia and I’ll say it again: secretion. Much as I hate to say it, that’s all I think. My first association is Mott, too, though, which should give you some hope! Borgia is second for me. If you like Lucretia, I say go for it. I adore Lucy, and always thought I’d make a passable one. Hm, I might do a post on longer Lucy names myself!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 18:10:09

    That’s okay, you’re not alone there, with your thinking. She’s probably my favorite right now. Odd enough in full with the ‘fit in’ Lucy. I was to have been Alice or Lucy myself. I’d be a better Alice than Lucy but I still like them both! If you write that post, I’ll read it!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Lucy Names « Moniker Madness!
  4. Lyndsay
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 10:27:58

    My mother-in-law’s name is Lucretia, she goes by Creety. She absolutely hates her name. She pronounces it more like Loo-CRI-sha. She doesn’t want us to give our baby a “weird” name like hers because she remembers getting made fun of as a kid. I think it’s more the “Creepy Creety” that she’s referring to than anything about Lucretia. I love the nicknames Lucy and Lux, and I bet she’d like her name more if her nickname had been Lucy. Your appealing nickname ideas would make me want to use her, but my first daughter will be Lulette, and I can’t really have both, maybe a granddaughter!

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 12:29:18

    Aww, tell her you know someone online who loves her name! 🙂 I really do think it’s got a sense of style that surpasses just about everything else I come across.
    I’ve been making a “List for the Grandkids” since my boys were very small. The boys used to think it was a joke but within the last few years the’ve been actually adding to it themselves. There’s a lot of awesome names on that list, I’m hoping to have beautifully named grandbabies in a few years time. Simon’s bringing home a girl for Thanksgiving! I’m all a-fluttter.

    Reply

  6. babynamelover
    May 17, 2009 @ 20:25:25

    I like Lucretia Ruby Elinor 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

